Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Sonic Debris

Progressive Metal

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Sonic Debris Velvet Thorns  album cover
3.92 | 6 ratings | 1 reviews | 0% 5 stars

Write a review
from partners
Studio Album, released in 2000

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Kiss & kill (5:07)
2. Snowflake (5:30)
3. Dead man (5:13)
4. Velvet thorns (4:49)
5. Virtual steps (3:17)
6. Bustale (4:12)
7. New horizon (3:35)
8. New angel (3:25)
9. New narrow needle groove (3:44)
10. My aching pain (7:19)

Total Time: 46:22


Search SONIC DEBRIS Velvet Thorns lyrics

Music tabs (tablatures)

Search SONIC DEBRIS Velvet Thorns tabs

Line-up / Musicians

- Knut Bergaust / bass
- Per Morten Bergseth / drums
- Tommy Nilssen / guitars
- Jan Peter Ringvold / Hammond organ, synths
- Rune Sørheim / lead vocals

Releases information


Thanks to ProgLucky for the addition
Edit this entry

SONIC DEBRIS MP3, Free Download (music stream)

Open extended player in a new pop-up window | Random Playlist (50) | How to submit new MP3s

Buy SONIC DEBRIS Velvet Thorns Music

Right Now on Ebay (logo)

More places to buy SONIC DEBRIS music online Buy SONIC DEBRIS & Prog Rock Digital Music online:
  • AmazonMP3: Search for SONIC DEBRIS DRM-Free MP3 Downloads @ AmazonMP3 (USA Only) | AmazonMP3 (UK Only)

SONIC DEBRIS Velvet Thorns ratings distribution

(6 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(0%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(80%)
Good, but non-essential (20%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

SONIC DEBRIS Velvet Thorns reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Greger
4 stars The Norwegian progressive metal band SONIC DEBRIS debut CD is also the first album to be released on the Dutch DVS label. SONIC DEBRIS was founded in 1995 and they have released three demos before this CD, two under the name Blindfold and one as SONIC DEBRIS. Some of SONIC DEBRIS influences are David BOWIE, DREAM THEATER, EAGLES, EARTH WIND & FIRE, FAITH NO MORE, KING CRIMSON, KING'S X, MAHAVISHNU ORCHESTRA, RUSH, SIMPLE MINDS, STING and U2. SONIC DEBRIS music is aggressive and heavy with lots of attitude, and some of the influences have coloured their music. The final result is a unique mix between DREAM THEATER, FAITH NO MORE, RADIOHEAD, SIMPLE MINDS and U2 while Rune Sørheim's vocals is a mix between Bono (U2), Jim Kerr (SIMPLE MINDS) and James LaBrie (DREAM THEATER). The musicians are very skilled and the songs are well played with lots of good melodies and memorable choruses. The CD has a very beautiful cover and sleeve artwork by Mattias Norén ( Mattias are simply one of the best and his artworks can be seen on covers by ARENA, FORGOTTEN SUNS, MAYADOME, MIND'S EYE, MOURNINGSTAR, TRIANGLE and WOLVERINE to mention a few. This is a very impressive debut CD, probably one of the best debut albums in the progressive metal genre this year, although I have a feeling that they can develop even further. Highly recommended!

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of SONIC DEBRIS "Velvet Thorns "

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives