Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Prog Related

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Buckethead Giant Robot album cover
4.12 | 22 ratings | 1 reviews | 41% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 1994

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Doomride (0:57)
2. Welcome to Bucketheadland (3:42)
3. I Come in Peace (6:03)
4. Buckethead's Toy Store (8:02)
5. Want Some Slaw? (4:30)
6. Warweb (3:06)
7. Aquabot (5:57)
8. Binge and Grab (instrumental version) (5:17)
9. Pure Imagination (1:49)
10. Buckethead's Chamber of Horrors (4:49)
11. Onions Unleashed (2:20)
12. Chicken (1:07)
13. I Love My Parents (4:13)
14. Buckethead's TV Show (3:18)
15. Robot Transmission (2:59)
16. Pirate's Life for Me (1:01)
17. Post Office Buddy (6:40)
18. Star Wars (1:54)
19. Last Train to Bucketheadland (5:47)

Total Time 73:31

Line-up / Musicians

- Buckethead / guitar, bass
- Bill Laswell / sounds
- Bootsy Collins / bass, vocals
- Jerome (Bigfoot) Brailey / drums
- Pinchface / drums
- Ted Parsons / drums
- The Material Strings / strings
- Sly Dunbar / drum loops
- Bill Mosley / vocals
- Iggy Pop / vocals
- Throatrake / vocals
- Stella Schnabel / vocals
- Onions / vocals
- Julian / vocals
- Vito Schnabel / vocals
- Kristen Gray / vocals

Releases information

Sony Japan CD

Thanks to historian9 for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy BUCKETHEAD Giant Robot Music

More places to buy BUCKETHEAD music online

BUCKETHEAD Giant Robot ratings distribution

(22 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of rock music(41%)
Excellent addition to any rock music collection(41%)
Good, but non-essential (18%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

BUCKETHEAD Giant Robot reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by siLLy puPPy
COLLABORATOR PSIKE, JR/F/Canterbury & Eclectic Teams
4 stars We start off with a short intro that explains the origin of BUCKETHEAD. A kid simply asks "Who is BUCKETHEAD?" The father (i presume) explains that he is a guy who was raised in a chicken coop and that without the BUCKET on his head he is totally helpless. Welcome to another chapter of the strange world of BUCKETHEAD and on the second solo album GIANT ROBOT we get one of his better early releases. After the short intro we get a frenetic "Welcome To Bucketheadland" sizzling guitar solo which leads into a hard rocker remnant of an 80s metal throwback that sounds like it would fit nicely on an Ozzy Osbourne album. Randy Rhoads has been cited as a major influence.

On "I Come In Peace" we get a sampling intro followed by an AOR sounding bit before it changes into exciting power chord metal with a narration about a 50 ft man with a chicken bucket on his head who is attacking Tokyo with an enormous guitar that purportedly when a note is played, the sonic waves topple entire buildings. The chorus is a reassuring response "I Come In Peace." This is an awesome track that exemplifies the fantasy amusement park world that BUCKETHEAD has built up over the years. The bit about his liberating all the enslaved chickens and leading them to Mt. Fuji is hilarious!

As with many BUCKETHEAD releases we get lots of guest musicians on board. Bootsy Collins from his Praxis days is here but there are no less than 15 guest musicians including Iggy Pop, Sly Dunbar (of Sly & Robbie), Jerome Brailey (Parliament, Funkadelic) and actor Bill Moseley. There are as many styles on board here as there are guests. The heavy metal element is only one style making its way into the mix. There is a strong emphasis on funk, jazz fusion, progressive rock, ambient and just plain weird experimental elements. There is first and foremost an emphasis on humor and of course chickens! "Want Some Slaw" is a avant-metal piece that dishes out some serious proggy time sigs and a constant narrative teasing that emphatically declares "BUCKETHEAD's a psycho."

There are plenty of short little ditties as well as fully developed constructed songs. They mix and mingle creating a collage effect of different and seemingly unrelated styles and ideas with his virtuosic guitar playing being used fairly sparingly in unexpected places. "Warweb" is a strange guitarless symphonic string track with a kid semi-singing like Laurie Anderson where he rants on about being lost with BUCKETHEAD. Other notable tracks include: "Buckethead's Chamber Of Horrors" which is a bombastic industrial metal vs symphonic classical piece where the styles alternate, the strange electronically altered vocal track "Chicken," the tender acoustic "I Love My Parents" (a style that would find whole albums like "Electric Tears" and "Colma"), the super funky "Robot Transmission," which displays his unique robot funk guitar soloing, the electronic reworking of "Pirate's Life For Me" from the Disneyland ride and the metal version of the "Star Wars" theme!

This album is one of BUCKETHEAD's more eclectic releases and it is simultaneously accessible and plain weird for most of this wild ride. There are just too many things going on to mention. While the creativity is turned up to 11 on this one and is clearly a major step up from "Bucketheadland" there are still some parts that wear out their welcome and perhaps a few tracks could have either been trimmed down a bit or nixed altogether and some of the dialogue is a little lame at times, however this is a solid BUCKETHEAD release that anybody even remotely interested in him at his most untamed should check out. There is plenty of really, really cool and strange music to be had on GIANT ROBOT, making it a very solid and weeeiiirrrd release.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of BUCKETHEAD "Giant Robot"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.