Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Crossover Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Jono Silence album cover
3.98 | 48 ratings | 3 reviews | 25% 5 stars

Excellent addition to any
prog rock music collection

Write a review

Buy JONO Music
from partners
Studio Album, released in 2015

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Man of Misery (3:02)
2. Wasting Time (2:49)
3. Can We Make It (4:17)
4. Turn Around (4:56)
5. Your Bread (3:38)
6. In My Life (5:00)
7. Clear (4:58)
8. The One to Blame (3:03)
9. Opus (7:09)
10. Josefina (1:17)

Total Time 40:09

Line-up / Musicians

- Johan Norrby \ lead vocals, guitars, keyboards, backing vocals, composer
- Stefan Helleblad \ guitars, backing vocals, mixing
- Johan Carlgren \ pianos, keyboards, backing vocals
- Janne Henriksson \ bass, backing vocals
- Nicka Hellenberg \ drums, percussion

- Magnus Appelholm / euphonium & trumpet (9)

Releases information

Artwork: Johan Carlgren

CD Self-released ‎- JONOCD01 (2015, Sweden)

Thanks to mbzr48 for the addition
and to Quinino for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy JONO Silence Music

JONO Silence ratings distribution

(48 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(25%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(40%)
Good, but non-essential (25%)
Collectors/fans only (8%)
Poor. Only for completionists (2%)

JONO Silence reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Rune2000
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator
4 stars After showing the world just what Jono were capable of with Requiem, the band went on to expand on the same principles while adding more depth and grandiosity to their performance!

While Requiem was an excellent album, I felt that there was too much of a contrast between the faster melodically inclined material, the ballads and symphonic compositions that felt like they were performed by a completely different band. Even though I highly enjoy all sides of the band's repertoire, there was a lack of coherency between them. I am happy to announce that this is not the case with Silence where every single composition feels like it has been performed by the same collective. The album features a clear ambition to unify the many sides of the band, in some cases within one and the same performance.

I have been mesmerized by this band's ability to constantly create high quality melodically driven compositions boosted by equally skilled musicianship. Silence has quite a few of these moments scattered all throughout the album with Wasting Time, Your Bread and The One To Blame being the most obvious examples of instantly recognizable tracks that one just can't stop listening to. But even though these shorter and quirkier compositions manage to build the groundwork for an excellent album, it's actually some of the quiet moments that make this album a true gem for fans of progressively inclined rock music. I'm talking about tracks like magnificent Clear and the seven minute Opus which is a multi-suite in the great tradition of Bohemian Rhapsody. It took me quite a few spins in order to uncover the magic behind these two compositions so don't be impatient if you don't happen to enjoy them at first.

Jono manages to keep their unique sound throughout Silence but there are a few moments that sound as if their influences get the limelight, especially on Turn Around which sounds very influenced by ABBA while In My Life picks at Supertramp and Queen. Overall, these influences don't take away from my experience since the material and the performance make these compositions sound very original in their own right.

I highly recommend Silence to fans of art rock bands like Supertramp, 10cc, A.C.T and Queen. It will be interesting to see if Jono will be able to top this album in the future, especially considering that they have so far never managed to disappoint me with their material!

***** star songs: Wasting Time (2:49) Your Bread (3:38) In My Life (5:00) Clear (4:58) The One To Blame (3:03)

**** star songs: Man Of Misery (3:02) Can We Make It (4:17) Turn Around (4:56) Opus (7:09) Josefina (1:17)

Latest members reviews

5 stars Jono is a lightly prog flavored hard rock band from Sweden with an irresistible and infectious sound. The first association you might draw would be that they share some characteristics with Queen. Theatrical vocals with emphasis on melody while rocking the house with a display of great musical sk ... (read more)

Report this review (#1475735) | Posted by KingBarbarossa | Tuesday, October 13, 2015 | Review Permanlink

4 stars 77/100 for Jono's Silence. These guys live on Sweden's largest island, Gotland. I can't help conjuring film footage of Ingmar Berman's Island and all the art going on. Midnight sun, fun, and half my 2000's progressive rock collection comes from Sweden. What's in the water? Johan Norrby is ... (read more)

Report this review (#1466129) | Posted by omphaloskepsis | Saturday, September 19, 2015 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of JONO "Silence"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.