Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


The Gourishankar

Eclectic Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

The Gourishankar The World Unreal album cover
3.50 | 23 ratings | 1 reviews | 32% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 2016

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Intro-Fate (2:03)
2. Order and Chaos (5:30)
3. First Rush (5:01)
4. Let It Go (4:11)
5. Place for Everything (4:45)
6. Heartland (5:53)
7. Truth Stays Silent (12:00)
8. World Unreal (4:40)
9. Time Follows (5:48)
10. Pleasure and Suffering, Pt. 1 (5:43)
11. Pleasure and Suffering, Pt. 2 (5:22)

Total Time 60:56

Line-up / Musicians

- Jason Offen / lead & backing vocals, co-producer
- Alexandr "Nomy" Agranson / electric & acoustic guitars, mandolin, fretted & fretless basses, keyboards, synths, programming, co-producer
- Svetoslav Bogdanov / drums, percussion

- Evgeniy Ryabashev / violins (7,8)
- Leonid Nesterov / trumpets (3,7,10,11)
- Alena Sergeeva / Classical vocals (7,10,11)
- Darina Popova / atmospheric female voice (1)
- Maria Domashenko / space backing vocals (2)
- Anna Popova / ethnic komi vocals (2)
- Sergey Fedorov / backing vocals (2)
- Ivan Tropnikov / backing vocals (9)
- Arseniy Kadanev / childrens voices (10,11)

Releases information

CD ArtBeat Music (2016, Russia)

Thanks to mbzr48 for the addition
and to Quinino for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy THE GOURISHANKAR The World Unreal Music

More places to buy THE GOURISHANKAR music online

THE GOURISHANKAR The World Unreal ratings distribution

(23 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(32%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(27%)
Good, but non-essential (36%)
Collectors/fans only (5%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

THE GOURISHANKAR The World Unreal reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by BrufordFreak
COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator
3 stars At this point in the evolution of The Gourishankar the project is almost a solo endeavor of multi-instrumentalist and chief songwriter Nomy Agranson. Drummer Svetoslav Bogdanov and lead vocalist Jason Offen are the members who complete Nomy's vision. Also, with The World Unreal The Gourishankar has moved even more towards its 80s- rooted Neo Prog heart?which is not a real plus for me.

1. "Intro-Fate" (2:03) a flowing collection of spacey techno sounds that provide an introduction to the album. (8/10)

2. "Order and Chaos" (5:30) puts on display the eclecticism of this band as it melds funk bass, techno keyboards sounds, both metal and techno-pop guitar, and Middle Eastern female vocal incidentals with a kind of Mariuz Duda- Mark King lead vocal. Pretty good song. If you twist my arm I would probably admit to this being my third favorite song on the album. (8/10) 3. "First Rush" (5:01) is such a 80s-style pop song (using more modern computer and sound technologies)! We could be listening to Johnny Hates Jazz or Thomas Dolby or Level 42. Only, this song would not get very far on the pop charts. (7/10)

4. "Let It Go" (4:11) opens with programmed drums and percussion and vocoder and auto tuned vocals with mushy keyboard banks chords. OWL CITY meets The Eurythmics' Dave Stewart. Pretty well done, though. (8/10)

5. "Place for Everything" (4:45) is really one of the only songs on the album that has a truly progressive rock feel to it ?though its music often falls into ruts of 80s techno pop sound cliches. (8/10)

6. "Heartland" (5:53) is a very radio friendly Crossover/Neo Prog song in a kind of Nice Beaver-Level 42-Simple Minds-The Cure vein. Unfortunately, it has no real bite or vim?especially coming from the vocalist. (7/10) 7. Truth Stays Silent" (12:00) is stronger for its many changes, its many sections, and for the presence of the violin. It is weakened by the pitchy vocals and dated computer keyboard sounds used (especially the choral banks) and the two or three sections that are kind of cheezy (especially toward the end). (8/10)

8. "World Unreal" (4:40) is a nearly flawless pop prog song with great clarity definition given to all instruments in which violin, lead vocal and percussion shine particularly. One of my top three for this album. (9/10)

9. "Time Follows" (5:48) is a delicate, subtly constructed song that works. It is one of the top three songs on the album. (9/10)

10. "Pleasure and Suffering, Pt. 1" (5:43) is a totally NeoProg song full of bombast and cliche. Nice but nothing new or exciting to write home about. (8/10)

11. "Pleasure and Suffering, Pt. 2" (5:22) is an instrumental which sounds very much as if it were constructed on a computer program. It has a rather nice New Age-y sound and feel to it?and a kind of Hibernal approach with a sci- fi metaphysics blurb read over the top of the song's fourth minute. Not bad. (8/10)

While Nomy Agranson is a very talented musician and competent songwriter, his music is often lacking cohesion, lacking spark, and lacking anything really new, fresh, or innovative. His drummer is equally competent and the singer has a very pleasant tone to his voice, he just lacks conviction and excitement. (He is much better with softer, almost whispery sections?like on "Time Follows".) More violin, Nomy!

3.5 stars.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of THE GOURISHANKAR "The World Unreal"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.