Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Spirits Burning

Psychedelic/Space Rock

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Spirits Burning Starhawk album cover
4.00 | 2 ratings | 1 reviews | 0% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 2015

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Our Crash (6:14)
2. I Have Two Names (4:12)
3. JigSawMan Flies A JigSawShip (4:02)
4. Live Forever (4:45)
5. My Life Of Voices (6:23)
6. Let's All Go Cloud Puffing (3:08)
7. Stellar Kingdom (4:11)
8. Spaceships At The Starting Line (1:39)
9. We Move You (7:14)
10. Tripping With The Royal Family (6:14)
11. Xara's Poem (2:48)
12. For Those Who Are Searching (2:01)
13. Rolling Out (3:27)
14. Angel Full Of Pity (4:56)
15. Right On The Mark (4:46)
16. This Time, This Space (5:20)
17. So Strong Is Desire (5:28)

Total time: 76:48

Line-up / Musicians

- Don Falcone / keys, synths, piano, organs, electronic drums, lead & backing vocals, rattlesnake sound eggs
- Igor Abuladze / guitars
- Daevid Allen / male vocals
- Dave Anderson / bass guitar
- Karen Anderson / rhythm guitar, female vocals, backing vocals
- Ileesha Bailey / choir vocals, female vocals
- Robert Berry / lead vocals
- Andy Bole / gliss & tremolo spy guitars
- Nat Carsten / checkers & backgammon with drumsticks, glasses & plate with knife, compressed air cap with pen cap, egg shaker, snare drum, djembe, monkey drum, turtle kalimba
- Keith Christmas / lead vocals, guitar
- Michael Clare / bass guitar
- Alan Davey / bass guitar
- John Ellis / rhythm & surf guitars
- Kev Ellis / lead & backing vocals, harmonica
- Doug Erickson / intro & outro fx guitar, guitar pads & riffs
- Detlev Everling / horns
- Jack Gold-Molina / acoustic drums, cymbals, djembe
- Fabio Golfetti / guitars
- Paul Hayles / synth
- Jerry Jeter / backing vocals, rainstick, tambourine
- Nigel Mazlyn Jones / lead vocals
- William Kopecky / bass guitar
- Bert MacKenzie / male voice
- Emma Rose MacKenzie / lead & backing vocals
- Matt Malley / bass guitar
- Pierce McDowell / bass guitar
- Giorgio Cesare Neri / dulcimer, electric guitars
- Pete Pavli / bass guitar
- Mark Poulin / guitars
- Ken Pustelnik / acoustic drums
- Jerry Richards / guitars
- Cyndee Lee Rule / violin
- Paul Sears / acoustic drums
- Steffe Sharpstrings / guitars
- Billy Sherwood / guitar solos
- Judge Smith / lead & backing vocals
- Scotty Smith / acoustic drums
- Jay Tausig / acoustic guitar, space guitars, guitar solo, bubble synths
- Larry Thrasher / tablas
- Nik Turner / saxes
- Twink / tambourine
- Cyrille Verdeaux / piano, synth solos
- Richard Wileman / guitars
- Bridget Wishart / lead vocals, EWI (bowed double bass, cello, english horn, oboe, space pads, trumpet)
- Steve York / bass guitar

Releases information

CD Gonzo Multimedia HST323CD (2015 US)

Thanks to rivertree for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy SPIRITS BURNING Starhawk Music

More places to buy SPIRITS BURNING music online

SPIRITS BURNING Starhawk ratings distribution

(2 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(0%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(100%)
Good, but non-essential (0%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

SPIRITS BURNING Starhawk reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Rivertree
4 stars SPIRITS BURNING is a sheer studio project, headed by California based composer and producer Don Falcone. Just knowing with safety - quite apart from the fact that Daevid Allen unfortunately is not with us anymore - they never ever will be caught in the act while stepping on the stage altogether, even not halfway. Don instead organizes the process to bring contributions from more than 40 musicians into accord by using some modern technique, and he's very experienced at that, just for the record.

'Starhawk' comes as a typical concept album, thus in some sense comparable to their 2011 album 'Behold The Action Man'. It's a musical adaption, following the steps of Mack Maloney's eponymous sci-fi series. Hereby the booklet offers an 8-page comic, which will give you a clue about the story running behind. And this first of all is featuring space traveller Hawk Hunter as the central figure. Accordingly, as might be expected, lyric-wise there's much to tell, this presented by a well sorted crew of vocalists who are embracing a proper range of expression.

By way of example just let me mention Judge Smith's more theatrical operetta style on Stellar Kingdom, which may not attract while staying on its own, but when considering the context, very well though. Or later you'll be introduced to some celestial respectively ethereal contributions presented by Emma McKenzie and Bridget Wishart, just when Hawk Hunter's new flame Princess Xara comes into play. Well, as for a first summary this means that the vocal parts are supplied as a really well thought out aspect here.

Musically the album covers a lot of influences and is characterized by a rather cinematic flow, which nonetheless, like Right On The Mark, includes enough rock songs as such. Hence you won't miss Hawkwind references either way - no wonder when having a look at the complete line up. Now coming to 'Hawk and Hunter' - I'm really flabbergasted by the song I Have Two Names. Kev Ellis is singing, the booklet tells. Albeit, also taking the composition as such into account, at first I meant to hear a David Bowie issue. Surely successful, on top of it Billy Sherwood contributes a nice space guitar solo.

And then Let's All Go Cloud Puffing is serving a strong indo/raga feel, My Life Of Voices on the other hand will include crimsonesque moments. There are attractive melodic compositions of lasting memory given, like the couple We Move You and Tripping With The Royal Family featuring Paul Sears behind the drum kit. Furthermore a lot of soaring guitars as well as spheric synths are provided, the latter in the same way as the organ and strings by Don himself basically.

Not solely regarding the story behind, 'Starhawk' is more of a mellow space rock album overall. This quasi like recollecting the SPIRITS BURNING origin, since some former albums stylistically quite a lot are wandering through other territories. The more I listen the more I can smell the rounded concept and implementation. Finally, 'So strong is desire - so strong is my fire' ... the band are finishing this episode with a melancholic song of love, interpreted by Karen Anderson on this occasion. Yes, they are catering for many tastes here - a nice album that is well worth a closer listen.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of SPIRITS BURNING "Starhawk"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.