Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Heavy Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Tiles Pretending 2 Run album cover
3.86 | 80 ratings | 4 reviews | 12% 5 stars

Excellent addition to any
prog rock music collection

Write a review

Buy TILES Music
from partners
Studio Album, released in 2016

Songs / Tracks Listing

CD 1 (45:58)
1. Pretending to Run (7:10)
2. Shelter in Place (3:53)
3. Stonewall (6:50)
4. Voir Dire (4:37)
5. Drops of Rain (5:02)
6. Taken by Surprise (11:22)
7. Refugium (2:55)
8. Small Fire Burning (4:09)

CD 2 (50:31)
9. Midwinter (4:32)
10. Weightless (9:16)
11. Friend or Foe (6:16)
12. Battle Weary (4:33)
13. Meditatio (1:37)
14. Other Arrangements (2:17)
15. The Disappearing Floor (5:43)
16. Fait Accompli (4:32)
17. Pretending to Run (reprise 1) (1:40)
18. Uneasy Truce (4:19)
19. Pretending to Run (reprise 2) (1:15)
20. The View from Here (1:28)
21. Backsliding (3:03)

Total Time 96:29

Line-up / Musicians

- Paul Rarick / vocals
- Chris Herin / electric & acoustic guitars, mandolin (10,11,16,21), banjo (4,5,10), keyboards (4,8-10,17-19), oud (6), lap harp (8), trumpet (12), glockenspiel (15,20), chimes (19), lead (3,11) & backing vocals, string (21) & vocal (1,2,7,8,11-17,19) arrangements
- Jeff Whittle / bass, fretless bass (6,10), keyboards (1), Mellotron (11,12), tambura (3), maracas (5), drawbars (18), backing vocals
- Mark Evans / drums, percussion, marching snares (1,21), orchestral bass drum (12,19), tambourine (18), timpani (19)

- Renaissance Voices & Con Spirito / chorus vocals (7,13)
- G. Kevin Dewey / choir director
- Matthew Parmenter / lead (1,8-11) & backing (2,5,6,16,19) vocals, vocal arrangements (1,5,8)
- Ryan Arini / backing vocals (6,15,19)
- Kristina Freed / backing vocals (19)
- Kim Mitchell / lead guitar (2)
- Mike Stern / guitar solo (6,15)
- Adam Holzman / Moog (4,6,14,17,20), keyboards (6,14,20)
- Kevin Sharpe / Hammond B3 (10)
- Matt Cross / keyboards (1,9), rhythm programming (1,9)
- Mark Mikel / keyboards (3), backing vocals (1,3,5,6,8,10,11), string (3,9,16) & vocal (1-3,5,8,10) & woodwind (21) arrangements, shaker (9,12), tambourine (11)
- Joe Denizon / violin (18)
- Cecilia Johnson / violin (3,9,16,21)
- Dana Mader / violin (3,9,16,21)
- Tom Sieberg / violin (3,9,16,21)
- Florin Simioanca / viola (3,9,16,21)
- Jim Anderson / cello (3,9,16,21)
- Tim Michling / oboe (3,21), cor anglais (21)
- Keith Kaminski / soprano saxophone (10)
- Ian Anderson / flute (9)
- Kevin Chown / bass (3,5,11,16)
- Mike Portnoy / drums (3,16)
- Max Portnoy / drums & percussion (16)
- Sonya Mastick / percussion (10)
- France Espitalier / spoken word (1,4,8,9,13,16,21)
- Colin Edwin / sound design (8,11), rhythm programming (11)
- Terry Brown / arrangements (14,20), rhythm programming (3,16), rice tin shaker (18), spoken word (19), production & mixing

Releases information

Artwork: Hugh Syme

2CD The Laser's Edge ‎- LE 1075 (2016, US)

Thanks to mbzr48 for the addition
and to projeKct for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy TILES Pretending 2 Run Music

TILES Pretending 2 Run ratings distribution

(80 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(12%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(45%)
Good, but non-essential (30%)
Collectors/fans only (10%)
Poor. Only for completionists (2%)

TILES Pretending 2 Run reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Rivertree
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator / Band Submissions
4 stars While having more then 20 years in the back, the TILES core consists of real prog veterans, that exactly would be Chris Herin (guitar, keys), Mark Evans (drums) and Paul Rarick (vocals) as the three founding members. And additionally Jeff Whittle (bass), joining in 1997 regarding the recording process of their second album 'Fence The Clear' at the latest. 'Pretending 2 Run' is spanning two CD's with a running time of nearly 100 minutes, comes as another 2016 album yet which is provided with inspiration and much variety.

After eight years of a break time, hibernation, preparation, or whatever you might imagine, there is still a rather heavy rock fundament to state as usual. The quartet have invited a lot of guests on diverse instruments and for some additional vocal support. TILES' approach to develop unusual, tricky and slightly crazy compositions, should be appreciated at all costs. I mean, they even could be booked for a funeral with good will. No problem, somebody will be accompanied to his last Refugium by use of a somewhat dark mooded anthem.

CD 1 marks the album's highlight in its entirety. Wow, this stuff is something special, not lurking around every corner, so to speak. Starting with the title track we are moving along a string of pearls right here. Exemplarily representing my personal impressions let me emphasize the lovely violin passages on Stonewall. With Drops Of Rain the band supplies a very enchanting and catchy composition. Furthermore you'll be always Taken By Surprise when they are rrrrrocking the house with much power and finesse.

Considering that CD 2 is consisting of several fillers, it probably would have been more comfortable to compress the production. A minor issue though, this will not depreciate the other high quality material in any way. Midwinter at least resides as a very very fine exemplar, especially Ian Anderson rules with his flute. Issued on the wellknown label The Laser's Edge this also reminds me of the current Zip Tang album somehow as for the basic attitude. Hey, taken by surprise, Detroit is not far away from Chicago! Eh, does that matter? Anyway, my verdict, this one deserves to be part of a well-sorted prog rock collection.

Latest members reviews

5 stars "And Acceptance is the Answer..." "...To All My Problems Today" ALL my problems. As a person in recovery from a host of spiritual, emotional, and physical addictions and ailments, I have learned to survive and thrive via the spiritual path I have undertaken. Basic Tenets -Gratitud ... (read more)

Report this review (#2449922) | Posted by Steve Conrad | Monday, September 21, 2020 | Review Permanlink

4 stars Tentalizing Tessellations and the Riddle in the Rhyme Until recently, I was never a great fan of Tiles. I gave their well regarded Presents of Mind a try and found it underwhelming. Nevertheless, when I first saw the Hugh Syme cover of this album, I was intrigued enough to give them another c ... (read more)

Report this review (#1572101) | Posted by PlanetRodentia2 | Monday, May 30, 2016 | Review Permanlink

5 stars This two disc concept album has been many years in the making, but well worth the wait. Part time proggers Tiles and producer Terry Brown show us that they can craft some great stories backed by a solid progressive, and at times, heavy sound. It's gets better and better with every listen, there ... (read more)

Report this review (#1569677) | Posted by OldSchoolProg | Monday, May 23, 2016 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of TILES "Pretending 2 Run"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.