Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography




From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Shamall Continuation album cover
3.82 | 97 ratings | 1 reviews | 23% 5 stars

Excellent addition to any
prog rock music collection

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 2016

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Fragments Part I (4:45)
2. Fragments Part II (5:08)
3. Fragments Part III (5:05)
4. It's Been a Long Time (11:45)
5. Linolenic Acid (6:02)
6. Random Walker (3:27)
7. Airborn (6:05)
8. It's Time to Grasp the Mantle (7:50)
9. Fragments Part IV (8:41)
10. Floating Subatomic Particles (4:11)
11. Solitary Life (6:54)
12. So Much is on the Line (first Session) (5:37)
13. The Streets are Filled with People (2:51)

Total Time 78:21

Line-up / Musicians

- Norbert Krüler / vocals, guitar, keyboards, organ, piano, bass, composer & arranger

- Anke Ullrich / vocals
- Matthias Mehrtens / lead guitar

Note: The actual instrumentation could not be fully confirmed at this moment

Releases information

Unreleased songs from the album "Turn Off", first compositions and rehearsals

Artwork: 2L Productions & Shamall

CD 2L Productions ‎- 2L-2023 (2016, Germany)

Also available as a part of the 5-CD Box "History Book" (30th Anniversary Edition)

Thanks to mbzr48 for the addition
and to Quinino for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy SHAMALL Continuation Music

More places to buy SHAMALL music online

SHAMALL Continuation ratings distribution

(97 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(23%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(43%)
Good, but non-essential (27%)
Collectors/fans only (4%)
Poor. Only for completionists (2%)

SHAMALL Continuation reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by BrufordFreak
COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator
4 stars Beautiful, lush keyboard-dominated mostly-instrumental soundscapes with programmed rhythm tracks that frequently slip into the realm of New Age, Dreamcore, or Dark Ambient realms.

1. "Fragments Part I" (4:45) nice modern instrumental intro like a combination of Pink Floyd, Tangerine Dream, and New Age guitarist Paul Speer. (8.75/10)

2. "Fragments Part II" (5:08) switch from keys to guitar foundation, heavier rhythm section. Arp strings in the lead. The heavier side of Tangerine Dream (Thief-era). Cool vocoder-like effect on synth solo in the third minute. This music is so close to New Age/Dreamcore/Dark Ambient stuff!--probably due to the sequenced drum & rhythm tracks. (8.75/10)

3. "Fragments Part III" (5:05) more of the same (synth soloing) over a now-disco beat & piano rhythm track. (8.5/10)

4. "It's Been a Long Time" (11:45) hypnotic, pleasurable atmospheric prog on the level with but not quite as sophisticated as fellow German Thomas Thelen. (21/25)

5. "Linolenic Acid" (6:02) again, nice synth-dominated soundscapes with cheesy drum program. Like the rolling chunky bass. No great melodic hooks, though. (8/10)

6. "Random Walker" (3:27) opens sounding like a scaled back continuation of the previous song. Multiple synths solo until 1:20 when drums, bass, and searing electric guitar enter--with guitar taking the lead for the rest of the song. Early Paul Speer again comes to mind. (8.5/10)

7. "Airborn" (6:05) more guitar oriented--Matthias has some chops! Despite several other instruments getting lead time, for four minutes this song is a bit too one dimensional--and then when it does kick into gear, it's only for a minute and then we're back to the underlying four-chord arpeggiated guitar chord progression. (8/10)

8. "It's Time to Grasp the Mantle" (7:50) cool harpsichord-like carpet over which vocalist Anke Ullrich and Norbert create a choir singing the song title. At the end of the third minute the full ensemble with bass and drum lines enter as Anke and Norbert add more distinctive individual performances around the choir and other instruments. I really like this song: the vocal performances are so powerful! More of this, please! Plus, the vocals help distract me from the programmed music (drums). My favorite song on the album. (14/15)

9. "Fragments Part IV" (8:41) decent conclusion to the Fragments suite, though the bombastic New Age drums just get to me. (16.75/20)

10. "Floating Subatomic Particles" (4:11) the opening is very Dreamcore/Dark Ambient like--until the strumming acoustic guitar enters, then it takes on a PINK FLOYD-like flavor. Programmed drums again take us into the realm of New Age artists. Another illustration of how slender is the divide between those musics and prog (if, in fact, it exists at all). Pleasantly engaging. (8.5/10)

11. "Solitary Life" (6:54) opens like we're in The Wall with all kinds of computer/keyboard incidentals flitting in from all directions. Richard Wright-like delayed synth takes the lead and first solo. Actually pretty cool--with some great, though subtle, chord progressions. Another top three song. (13.25/15)

12. "So Much is on the Line" (first Session) (5:37) different from the others with sparse opening palette with echoed saxophone soloing over the top. Programmed drums begin to show at the end of the first minute with rhythm track forming in the second. Gilmour-like guitar solo over thick Thomas Thelen-like soundscape (only simpler). Great pace in the final third. (8.75/10)

13. "The Streets are Filled with People" (2:51) simple piano-based foundation over which Anke Ullrich and Norbert take turns singing. Powerful! My final top three song. (9/10)

Total Time 78:21

B/four stars; a solid prog album despite its computerized shortcuts. Norbert has an excellent sense of prog drama. Recommended for any prog lover to at least hear.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of SHAMALL "Continuation"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.