Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Frank Zappa


From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Frank Zappa The Crux Of The Biscuit album cover
3.87 | 11 ratings | 1 reviews | 9% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 2016

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Cosmik Debris (4:21)
2. Uncle Remus (Mix Outtake) (3:59)
3. Down In De Dew (Alternate Mix) (3;16)
4. Apostrophe' (Mix Outtake)
5. The Story Of Don't Eat Yellow Snow/St. Alphonzo's Pancake Breakfast (2:25)
6. Don't Eat Yellow The Snow/St. Alphonzo's Pancake Breakfast (Live) (19:25)
7. Excentrifugal Forz (Mix Outtake) (1:34)
8. Energy Frontier (Take 4) (3:04)
9. Energy Frontier (Take 6 With Overdubs) (4:15)
10. Energy Frontier (Bridge) (8:23)
11. Cosmik Debris (Basic Tracks / Take 3) (5:11)
12. Don't Eat The Yellow Snow (Basic Tracks / Alternate Take) (2:12)
13. Nanook Rubs It (Basic Tracks / Outtake) (:42)
14. Nanook Rubs It (Session Outtake) (:48)
15. Frank's Last Words... (:16)

Digital Booklet: The Crux Of The Biscuit

Total Time: 69:06

Line-up / Musicians

- FZ / lead vocals, guitars, bass
- Ruth Underwood / percussion
- George Duke / keyboards
- Bruce Fowler / trombone
- Sal Marquez / trumpet
- Tom Fowler / bass
- Ralph Humphrey / drums
- Tina, Debbie & Lynn (Tina Turner & The Ikettes) / background vocals
- Alex Dmochowski / bass
- Aynsley Dunbar / drums
- Jim Gordon / drums
- Tony Duran / guitar
- Jack Bruce / bass
- Ian Underwood / reeds, synth
- Jean-Luc Ponty / violin
- John Guerin / drums
- Dave Parlato / acoustic bass
- Unknown / flute

Releases information

An audio documentary of the album "Apostrophe"
CD Zappa Records ZR20020

Thanks to Evolver for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy FRANK ZAPPA The Crux Of The Biscuit Music

More places to buy FRANK ZAPPA music online

FRANK ZAPPA The Crux Of The Biscuit ratings distribution

(11 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(9%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(64%)
Good, but non-essential (18%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (9%)

FRANK ZAPPA The Crux Of The Biscuit reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Evolver
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Crossover & JR/F/Canterbury Teams
4 stars You may notice that the cover of this album is similar to the cover of "Apostrophe", and that is intended. This is the "audio documentary" of Frank Zappa's highest charted album, following releases like "MOFO" (the making of Freak Out), "Lumpy Money" and "Greasy Love Songs".

Here, they don't waste our time (or precious dollars) providing the original album. The ZFT presumes that we all have that by now. This is a concise disk, containing alternate takes and mixes and a live track.

The album begins with a recreation of Zappa's original vision of side one of the album, in order.

"Cosmic Debris" is a different edit and mix. There is an intro edited out of the released version, as well as a few other sections that were also cut. And Tina Turner & The Ikettes are mixed a little louder.

Next is an outtake of Uncle Remus. It's great to hear it played differently by George Duke, but I like the original released version a bit better.

"Down In De Dew", first released on "Lather" is next, and paired with "Apostrophe" the songs were intended to be paired together as "Energy Frontier". Notable here is that both tracks feature Jack Bruce on bass. "Apostrophe" on this disk is the original version, unedited, and allows us to hear Zappa and Bruce together in all their splendor for much longer. The liner notes describe Zappa as being annoyed by Bruce's style of playing all over the place, leaving little room for the guitar, but still, this is a joy to hear.

"Don't Eat Yellow Snow" is an early live version, with Jean-Luc Ponty, with a few eyebrows I don't recognize from other released performances of the piece. The jewel of this one is where Zappa leads the group into a blindingly fast refrain of "St. Alphonzo's Pancake Breakfast".

Then there are two versions of the "Down In De Dew" section of "Energy Frontier" (the second is much better), and the "bridge" (I wonder if that was a nod to Cream), which features another long Bruce/Zappa jam.

Then a few more outtakes and alternate mixes.

Surprisingly, "Stink Foot", from which the title is culled, does not appear here. Maybe there are no other recordings of it.

The liner notes are fantastic, offering much insight into what Zappa was aiming for with "Apostrophe", and some of the meaning behind the songs.

Just wonderful.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of FRANK ZAPPA "The Crux Of The Biscuit"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.