Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Crossover Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

ESP Invisible Din album cover
4.06 | 41 ratings | 2 reviews | 39% 5 stars

Excellent addition to any
prog rock music collection

Write a review

Buy ESP Music
from partners
Studio Album, released in 2016

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Overture (7:07) :
- a. Overview
- b. Fall Back to Life
2. Through the Dream (7:13) :
- a. Soaring the Vapor
3. Uninvited Guest (6:57) :
- a. Carried Away
4. Song from a Waking Dream (1:34)
5. Where Is My Home (3:39) :
- a. Right Angled
6. Searching the Banks for a Memory (8:44) :
- a. Cloud Distortion
- b. Caught in the Streaming
7. Waiting for the Rush (5:40)
8. Riding the Thermal (3:23)
9. On Quiet Days (8:49) :
- a. Over the Edge
- b. No Return
10. Invisible Din (5:43)
11. Almost Seen (7:24) :
- a. The Light Below
- b. Falling Through

Total Time 66:13

Line-up / Musicians

- Tony Lowe / guitars, keyboards, bass (1a,2a,5,6,9,11b), vocals (1,6,7,9), producer
- Mark Brzezicki / drums, vocals (2,3)

- John Beagley / vocals (1,5,6,9,11)
- Alison Fleming / backing vocals (2-11)
- Pat Orchard / acoustic guitar (11)
- John Young / keyboards (8)
- Yumi Hara / electric harp (6)
- David Cross / violin (10,11)
- David Jackson / saxophones & flutes (1-3,6,9)
- Phil Spalding / bass (1c,10,11)
- Steve Gee / bass (2b,3,7,8)

Releases information

Artwork: Cheryl Stringall

CD Sunn Creative ‎- SUNNC1601 (2016, UK)

Digital album

Thanks to damoxt7942 for the addition
and to projeKct for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy ESP Invisible Din Music

ESP Invisible Din ratings distribution

(41 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(39%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(34%)
Good, but non-essential (24%)
Collectors/fans only (2%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

ESP Invisible Din reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by kev rowland
4 stars

On the cover the album is credited to Tony Lowe and Mark Brzezicki (Big Country, Procol Harum) and special guests, and on closer inspection, it can be seen that these guests comprise David Cross (King Crimson), David Jackson (Van der Graaf Generator), Phil Spalding (Steve Hackett, Mike Oldfield), Steve Gee (Landmarq), John Young (Lifesigns), Pat Orchard, Alison Fleming (Tony Lowe), John Beagley and electric harp from Yumi Hara (Daevid Allen, Hugh Hopper). So, quite special indeed. David Cross only adds his violin to a couple of songs, but David Jackson is there with a sax and flute for five, but while the guests do add to the overall album, this very much the work of Tony (guitar, keyboards, vocals) and Mark (drums, vocals).

The best way to describe this album is to think of the more laid-back prog of the Seventies, as many of those bands had an impact here. Imagine if you will 'Octoberon' era Barclay James Harvest combined with Alan Parsons Project, Steve Hackett, and possibly just a touch of Pink Floyd. It is a delicious delight, perfect for late nights, and for drifting away on. There are layers upon layers, and it is all about the arrangements: it is exactly the type of music that punk was supposed to get rid of, and failed. Symphonic prog, which has managed to stay on just the right side of being produced to death, so that each instrument can be clearly discerned and the complexity of the music can be appreciated, yet always it seems almost simple in its beauty and approach. Highly accessible, this is a wonderful progressive rock album that will delight many fans of the genre.

Latest members reviews

4 stars ESP is basically a two-man band comprised of guitarist/producer/multi-instrumentalist Tony Lowe and drummer Mark Brzezicki, ably supported with a stellar cast of collaborators. Lowe first came to my attention as the guitarist for the live launch of the 2015 David Cross and Robert Fripp CD Starle ... (read more)

Report this review (#2403472) | Posted by Agnenrecords | Tuesday, May 19, 2020 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of ESP "Invisible Din"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.