Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Rare Bird

Crossover Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Rare Bird Rare Bird / Somebody Is Watching album cover
3.41 | 10 ratings | 1 reviews | 30% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 1990

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Beautiful scarlet
2. Sympathy
3. Nature's fruit
4. Bird on a wing
5. God of war
6. Iceberg
7. Times
8. You went away
9. Melanie
10. Somebody's watching
11. Third time around
12. Turn your head
13. More and more
14. Hard time
15. Who is the hero
16. High in the morning
17. Dollars
18. A few dollars more

Line-up / Musicians

- Mark Ashton / vocals, drums (LP 1)
- Andy "Ced" Curtis / guitars (LP 2)
- Graham Field / Hammond organ (LP 1)
- Steve Gould / guitars, bass, vocals
- Paul Holland /percussion, congas (LP 2)
- Dave Kaffinetti / electric piano, Hammond organ, synthesizers
- Fred Kelly / drums, percussion (LP 2)
- Nic Potter / bass (LP 2)

Thanks to ProgLucky for the addition
and to anoah for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy RARE BIRD Rare Bird / Somebody Is Watching Music

RARE BIRD Rare Bird / Somebody Is Watching ratings distribution

(10 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(30%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(60%)
Good, but non-essential (10%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

RARE BIRD Rare Bird / Somebody Is Watching reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by hdfisch
3 stars This CD re-release combining their debut and their fourth album can be still considered a worthy addition to any Prog collection if ignoring its second part, especially if one gets it for nice price (what I did). As I explained already in my reviews for the individual albums this is quite a blatantly contrasted compilation presenting the best as well as the worst side of this band. Since this page was still left empty I felt a need to fill this gap and since these two records are differing that drastically from each other it was also necessary to give them individual ratings. Overall this compilation still deserves 3.5 stars but I've to say I'd prefer a combination of their first two albums on one CD instead (which doesn't work out unfortunately because of limited space)!

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of RARE BIRD "Rare Bird / Somebody Is Watching"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.