Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Alio Die

Progressive Electronic

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Alio Die Amitabha by Alio Die & Aglaia album cover
3.87 | 4 ratings | 1 reviews | 0% 5 stars

Write a review
Buy ALIO DIE Music
from partners
Studio Album, released in 2018

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Monte Analogo (09:47)
2. Il Portale dell'Invisibile (07:42)
3. Outer Space Forest (03:43)
4. Celestial Stream (12:04)
5. Cosmological Scale (06:22)
6. New Form of Elementals (04:02)
7. Amitabha (06:25)
8. Bright Circles (09:18)
9. Reflections on the Abyss (07:35)
10. The First Step Depends on the Last (09:23)

Line-up / Musicians

- Stefano Musso (Alio Die) / music
- Gino Fioravanti (Aglaia) / music

Releases information

Music composed and played by Gino Fioravanti and Stefano Musso.
recorded in Lissone and at Lunae Studio between April 2015 and december 2016.
Released March 31, 2018

Thanks to admireArt for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy ALIO DIE Amitabha by Alio Die & Aglaia Music

More places to buy ALIO DIE music online Buy ALIO DIE & Prog Rock Digital Music online:

ALIO DIE Amitabha by Alio Die & Aglaia ratings distribution

(4 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(0%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(75%)
Good, but non-essential (0%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (25%)

ALIO DIE Amitabha by Alio Die & Aglaia reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by BrufordFreak
COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator
4 stars Stefano Musso and Gino Fioravanti have teamed up again to produce some wonderful atmospheric and emotional electronic music

Prog Electronic artists Stefano Musso (ALIO DIE) and Gino Fioravanti (AGLAIA) have teamed up once again to create an album of hypnotic soundscapes often reminiscent of the Ambient music of Brian Eno in the early 1980s.

1. "Monte Analogo" (09:47) has a distinct feel over its opening minutes that it's going to break a full blown 1970s TANGERINE DREAM song. By the third minute, the distinctive Stefano Musso contributions make it clear that no rhythmic sequencing is going to burst forth, that we are on a typically dreamy float through the ether on one of Stefano's magic carpets. Nice fake, nice song. (9/10)

2. "Il Portale dell'Invisibile" (07:42) higher pitched reverse guitars and whistles played over multiple tracks of deep bowed double bass loops makes for an interesting astral journey. A little long and lacking in variation to make this a replay song. (8/10)

3. "Outer Space Forest" (03:43) nighttime nature noises with treated traditional Arabian instruments and radio- sample noises makes for a kind of song that Holger Czukay effected in collaboration with David Sylvian in the 1980s. (8.25/10)

4. "Celestial Stream" (12:04) is a very pleasant, meditative place to be. Rapidly vibrating foundational sound creates a feeling like space motoring, astral strobe-viewing, with super-fast-paced voice editing/clipping. Very cool! (9/10)

5. "Cosmological Scale" (06:22) pulsing synth washes, organ chords, vocal banks, treated zither strums, single bell strikes, and piano notes all make for quite a celestial sound. Not unlike a HAROLD BUDD/BRIAN ENO sound from the early 1980s. (8.75/10)

6. "New Form of Elementals" (04:02) cavern lake dripping with background bagpipe and distant tubular bell play with gurgles and deep bass notes make for another Plateaux of Mirror or On Land-like song. (8.25/10)

7. "Amitabha" (06:25) feels full on like a precursor to an Eno/Budd song from Ambient 2: Plateaux of Mirror ("Failing Light"); aye, this song would have fit perfectly on that album had it been a double album or the song receiving release as an extended play EP. (9/10)

8. "Bright Circles" (09:18) high pitch buzzing notes float around the soundscape as gorgeous synth washes imbue and permeate the atmosphere. But, what starts out so celestially becomes stale and old, despite some subtle inputs from heavily treated keyboard piano, flute, and voice. Still, a great song to daydream or meditate to. (9/10)

9. "Reflections on the Abyss" (07:35) the deep vibratory thrum of large industrial vehicles beneath water as birds, bells, zither, and other incidentals are thrown into the mix is quite unsettling--and quite ingenious. (8.5/10)

10. "The First Step Depends on the Last" (09:23) an opening loop of heavily-treated guitar and keyboard notes and arpeggi is gradually added to, thickening the soundscape to almost disturbingly overwhelming barrage levels. (8.5/10)

Four stars; an excellent contribution to the catalogue of Progressive Electronics.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of ALIO DIE "Amitabha by Alio Die & Aglaia"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives