Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


King Crimson

Eclectic Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

King Crimson Meltdown: Live in Mexico album cover
4.49 | 75 ratings | 2 reviews | 73% 5 stars

Essential: a masterpiece of
progressive rock music

Write a review

from partners
Live, released in 2018

Songs / Tracks Listing

CD 1 (73:24)
1. Walk On 1 (3:46)
2. Larks' Tongues in Aspic, Pt. One (9:29)
3. Neurotica (4:58)
4. Cirkus (7:41)
5. Dawn Song (2:20)
6. Last Skirmish (6:11)
7. Prince Rupert's Lament (2:31)
8. The Hell Hounds of Krim (3:43)
9. Red (6:43)
10. Fallen Angel (6:09)
11. Islands (9:03)
12. The Talking Drum (3:48)
13. Larks' Tongues in Aspic, Pt. Two (7:02)

CD 2 (78:19)
1. Walk On 2 (0:39)
2. Indiscipline (8:00)
3. The ConstruKction of Light (6:05)
4. Epitaph (8:33)
5. Banshee Legs Bell Hassle (1:40)
6. Easy Money (9:57)
7. Interlude (2:47)
8. The Letters (6:13)
9. The Sailor's Tale (6:24)
10. CatalytiKc No. 9 (1:13)
11. Meltdown (4:23)
12. Radical Action II (2:29)
13. Level Five (7:09)
14. Starless (12:47)

CD 3 (68:11)
1. Walk On 3 (0:44)
2. Peace - An End (1:57)
3. Pictures of a City (8:22)
4. Devil Dogs of Tessellation Row (3:10)
5. Fracture (11:03)
6. The Court of the Crimson King (7:03)
7. Heroes (4:42)
8. 21st Century Schizoid Man (13:14)
9. Discipline (5:30)
10. Moonchild (2:28)
11. Tony's Cadenza (1:20)
12. Jeremy's Cadenza (1:06)
13. Breathless (5:00)
14. Cool Jam (2:32)

Total Time 219:54

BLU-RAY (Audio/Video)
1. Neurotica
2. Pictures of a City
3. Cirkus
4. Dawn Song
5. Last Skirmish
6. Prince Rupert's Lament
7. Epitaph
8. Devil Dogs
9. Fracture
10. Islands
11. Indiscipline
12. Peace - An End
13. Easy Money
14. Interlude
15. The Letters
16. The Sailor's Tale
17. Catalytic No 9
18. Fallen Angel
19. The Talking Drum
20. Larks' Tongues in Aspic (Part Two)
21. Starless
22. The Hell Hounds of Krim
23. 21st Century Schizoid Man

Line-up / Musicians

- Mel Collins / saxophone, flute
- Robert Fripp / guitar, keyboards
- Gavin Harrison / drums
- Jakko Jakszyk / guitar, vocals
- Tony Levin / basses, Stick
- Pat Mastelotto / drums
- Bill Rieflin / keyboards
- Jeremy Stacey / drums, keyboards

Releases information

Label: DGM (KCXP5005)
Format: 3 CD + Blu-ray

Thanks to mbzr48 for the addition
and to NotAProghead for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy KING CRIMSON Meltdown: Live in Mexico Music

KING CRIMSON Meltdown: Live in Mexico ratings distribution

(75 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(73%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(20%)
Good, but non-essential (7%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

KING CRIMSON Meltdown: Live in Mexico reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by rdtprog
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Heavy / RPI / Symphonic Prog Team
4 stars Here's another box set live release of a band that makes sure that they can get all the money from their loyal fans. But at least this one is more affordable than those 13 CDs live release. I don't think there are many bands that can say that they have progressed in their quality of music over the years like KC. Maybe they have regressed with a couple of albums in the 80's, but this is an exception. The band's music is experimental always ahead of his time. Maybe they have invented the metal genre with some of their heavy parts starting with the legendary first album "ITCKC". 50 years later, it is impressive to see Robert Fripp pushing this band further by recruiting young and old musicians and keep the band alive. This live set complement the "Radical Action" previous release with a first set that has some songs that didn't appear on "Radical Action", like the neurotic "Neurotic", the intense "Cirkus", and the "Batlle Of Glass Tears" suite from the album "Lizard". But even more fun is the great "Fracture" song from "Starless and Bible Black". We have a couple of songs from the "Indiscipline" album, but for the title track, Jakko Jakszyk talk in a different way compared to Adrian which sounds a bit strange. I have enjoyed a lot the song "Fallen Angel", if there's one song that has influenced the sound of Anekdoten, this is the one.

The visuals on the Blu-Ray are like "Radical Action", a show with only a curtain with white light, it is looking more like a band playing in the studios than on a dark stage. As for the sound in stereo and surround, it's clear, perfect, and with 3 drummers you have something that is out of the ordinary. The band gives a lot of room to the drummers with many short solos that you can only hear on those live releases.

Latest members reviews

4 stars Review #42 I always wanted a live album in which I could say that I was part of the audience and now here it is. KING CRIMSON played five nights in Mexico City as a part of the Radical Action tour (July 14, 15, 16, 18, and 19, 2017) I was there on the 15th and 16th and it was unbelievable: the s ... (read more)

Report this review (#2480880) | Posted by Uruk_hai | Saturday, November 28, 2020 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of KING CRIMSON "Meltdown: Live in Mexico"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.