Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Symphonic Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Moongarden Align Myself to the Universe album cover
3.68 | 103 ratings | 2 reviews | 20% 5 stars

Excellent addition to any
prog rock music collection

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 2018

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Here Now (7:02)
2. Step After Step (6:26)
3. Run (4:10)
4. The Golden Circle (2:56)
5. Planet of the Absurd (5:17)
6. The Immutability (12:07) :
- i) The Immutable (3:22)
- ii) Acqua Terra Fuoco Aria (6:13)
- iii) Om (2:32)
7. Shiva (6:00)
8. The Union (2:14)

Total Time 46:12

Line-up / Musicians

- Simone Baldini Tosi / vocals, acoustic & electric violins
- David Cremoni / 6- & 12-string electric & acoustic guitars
- Dimitri Sardini / guitars (6-, 7- & 12-string electric, 6- & 12-string acoustic)
- Cristiano Roversi / keyboards, fretless bass, Chapman Stick, programming
- Mirko Tagliasacchi / 5- & 6-string fretted & fretless basses
- Mattia Scolfaro / acoustic & electronic percussion

- Matteo Bertolini / soundscapes (4)
- Andrea Chimenti / vocals (3)
- Maurizio di Tollo / backing vocals (3)

Releases information

Artwork: Ed Unitsky

CD AMS Records ‎- AMS 299CD (2018, Italy)

LP AMS Records ‎- AMSLP144 (2018, Italy)

Digital album

Thanks to mbzr48 for the addition
and to projeKct for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy MOONGARDEN Align Myself to the Universe Music

MOONGARDEN Align Myself to the Universe ratings distribution

(103 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(20%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(44%)
Good, but non-essential (28%)
Collectors/fans only (6%)
Poor. Only for completionists (1%)

MOONGARDEN Align Myself to the Universe reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by BrufordFreak
COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator
3 stars Competent, sometimes quirky Neo Prog using dated instrument sounds while projecting a positive spiritual message. Not the direction I thought Moongarden was going!

1. "Here Now" (7:02) hard driving rock with the Neo Prog sound/instrument palette. Nice chord play from the synth strings bank. Violin work is cool with its echoed and/or chorused (or multiple track) sound. Vocal "whoa-oa"s kick in in the third minute. The song is just racing along at such a fast pace! We should be driving down the country roads with the top down! The vocal melodies do hook in. (8.5/10)

2. "Step After Step" (6:26) electric piano and voice open this emotive ballad. 12-strings and delicious cymbol-play come in after first chorus. Multi-voice harmonies are good. Bass and drums kick in toward end of third minute while vocals are parroting each other. Nice electric guitar solo ensues over the next minute. After the lead gtr solo, things strip down to near opening simplicity as voices sing. Everybody rejoins in the final chorus and outro--another nice electric guitar solo. (8.5/10)

3. "Run" (4:10) abrasive metal guitar chords and metal speed-riffing open this one. Sounds like something from METALLICA until the vocals come in when it becomes more like OZZIE, DAVID LEE ROTH, and/or UNITOPIA. Weird trip-hoppy whispered Italian rap in the middle (8/10)

4. "The Golden Circle" (2:56) space synths and solo voice open this one before picked electric guitars, bass synths, and multiple tracks of vocal harmonies join in. Closes with space synths. (8.5/10)

5. "Planet of the Absurd" (5:17) piano, synths, bass and drums open this one while lead guitar wails. Then all breaks down into silence sauf piano. Voices come in singing about the piano of the absurd while music picks up and sounds like And Then There Were Three-era GENESIS playing in style of THE POLICE. Even the solo sections in the second half are cheesy. (7.5/10)

6. "The Immutability" (12:07) contains an amazingly gorgeous chorus--whose melody is extended and then picked up and embellished by the guitar soloist(s) in the sixth minute to great effect. (9.5/10) I) "The Immutable" (3:22) okay melody and lyrics. It's the chorus that gets into your brain. (8/10) II) "Acqua Terra Fuoco Aria" (6:13) (10/10) III) "OM" (2:32) trip-hop bass, keys, and drumbeats are added as piano (and, later, "Om, shante" voice) carries forward the three chords of the chorus into infinity. (And beyond.) Awesome finish orchestrated by bass and drums! (10/10)

7. "Shiva" (6:00) beautiful GENESIS-like Neo Prog over which a rather dull, weak vocal is planted. (8.75/10)

8. "The Union" (2:14) guitar soloing over synth banks and washes. (4/5)

Four stars; a nice contribution to the lexicon of Neo Prog. As a long-time Moongarden fan, I'm not convinced that this is a step forward for the band; they just haven't ever achieved the tremendous potential that I've seen in their music.

Latest members reviews

4 stars The band's evolution is impressive. They began in mid 1990s with Moonsadness, a weak and faceless album which may be described as diluted early Fancyfluid and/or Notturno Concertante, or spoiled early Ezra Winston. In the new millennium, the artists found themselves and developed a very individu ... (read more)

Report this review (#2076969) | Posted by proghaven | Monday, November 19, 2018 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of MOONGARDEN "Align Myself to the Universe"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.