Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Jim McCarty

Crossover Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Jim McCarty Walking In The Wild Land album cover
3.00 | 3 ratings | 3 reviews | 0% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 2018

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Walking In The Wild Land (4:08)
2. Changing Times (3:16)
3. Mountain Song (5:26)
4. Right On The Road (3:35)
5. Charmed (5:19)
6. Soft In A Hard Place (5:04)
7. Dancing Leaves (5:43)
8. Stop Living Life In The Past (3:30)
9. In The Clear (2:32)
10. Connected (4:14)
11. Come Around The Corner (4:28)
12. So Many Questions (5:34)

Total time 52:49

Line-up / Musicians

- Jim McCarty / vocals, acoustic guitar, drums (4,10)

- Mark Newman / guitar (4,10)
- Chris Hall / steel guitar (4)
- Alex Lifeson / lead guitar (6), synth guitar texturing (5)
- Ray Montford / rhythm guitar (8)
- Tom Reynolds / keyboards
- Hugh Syme / keyboards, guitar (2,7,12), orchestral arrangements
- John Hawken / piano (4,10)
- Guido Basso / flugelhorn (5)
- Drew Jurecka / violin (1,2)
- George Koller / bass
- Steve Lucas / bass (4,10)
- Ben Riley / drums (1,3,8,9,11), with brushes (12), tambourine (9)
- Ben Witt / drums (6)
- Digi Fairy / backing vocals (3,8)
- Quisha Wint / backing vocals (11)

Releases information

CD Angel Air Records ‎- SJPCD508 (2018, UK)

Thanks to steveg for the addition
and to Quinino for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy JIM MCCARTY Walking In The Wild Land Music

More places to buy JIM MCCARTY music online

JIM MCCARTY Walking In The Wild Land ratings distribution

(3 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(0%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(0%)
Good, but non-essential (100%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

JIM MCCARTY Walking In The Wild Land reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by kev rowland
3 stars This is the third solo album from McCarty, but he will always be thought of as the drummer of The Yardbirds, the only man who stayed true to that group through all its different versions since they first came together to support Cyril Davies in 1963 (as a side note, if you have never come across this amazing blues harmonica player you need to do so!). His vocals may not be as strong as they used to be, but in fairness he is 75 later this year! Here he provides vocals, acoustic guitar and some drums, and he has been joined by fellow Renaissance co-founder John Hawken on a couple of numbers with delicate piano. Mind you, probably the most surprising guest is Alex Lifeson, who provides lead guitar and synth guitar on 'Soft In A Hard Place'.

In many ways this is an album of its time, and that time was probably either the late Sixties or mid Seventies. But, Jim is producing psychedelic pastoral folk with hints of folk, and it is obvious that he is doing so because he wants and needs to, as opposed to being forced to. There is a gentle flow through the songs, and it is incredibly easy to listen to. This is never going to set the world alight, but for someone who has been involved with the music scene for 55 years he is showing that he has lost none of his knack of writing good material, even if it may not have the punch of his heyday. Obviously fans of his previous bands, and possibly even Rush completists, will search this out. But actually, if you just want something to play on a summer's day that isn't going to tax either the ears or the braincells, then this could be the perfect sonic tonic.

Review by kenethlevine
3 stars Having a mid septuagenarian Jim McCarty still around and recording is so much better than no Jim McCarty at all that every new release is a bonus gift in itself. His solo works are sparse even as he remains involved in collaborative projects. "Walk in the Wild Land" is the first in 9 years, since "Sitting on the Top of Time".

This time around the arrangements are a bit sparser, mostly acoustic guitar and his expressive voice. A few tracks are more upbeat, and appearances by Alex Lifeson and John Hawken do not disappoint. Overall this is the least traditionally progressive of the three records in his name, even allowing for the new age forays of its predecessor.

Lyrically, the themes of connection to nature juxtaposed with detachment from materialism remain, with an appreciation for healthy life into later years. He is expressing more concern over the tendency of elders to live in the past, now that the generation of free love has hit its twilight years in full force. "I don't want to talk about 69" barely conceals a double entendre that is perhaps innocent perhaps wholly intended. He seems to have breached the fuzzy border between the necessity for centering oneself in an increasingly dysfunctional world and baby boomer egotism. While "Charmed" is the quintessential statement of this subtle shift, it's also one of the most enjoyable numbers, so there you go!

While a simpler and at times more simplistic McCarty is presented here, he remains a genial and reassuring companion for an occasional real or virtual walk in the woods.

Latest members reviews

3 stars As a keeper of the flame of the first incarnation of Renaissance and of the songwriter and male vocalist for the later Illusion projects, namely Jim McCarty, I would be remiss if I failed to review his latest offering from 2018 titled Walking In The Wild Land. With songs written in a similar phi ... (read more)

Report this review (#2025997) | Posted by SteveG | Sunday, September 16, 2018 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of JIM MCCARTY "Walking In The Wild Land"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.