Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Symphonic Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Renaissance A Symphonic Journey album cover
3.29 | 9 ratings | 1 reviews | 33% 5 stars

Write a review
from partners
Live, released in 2018

Songs / Tracks Listing

CD 1 (49:19)
1. Prologue (7:25)
2. Trip To The Fair (10:54)
3. Carpet Of The Sun (3:45)
4. At The Harbour (7:42)
5. Grandine Il Vento (6:48)
6. Symphony Of Light (12:45)

CD 2 (47:00)
7. Kalynda (3:55)
8. Island (5:57)
9. Mother Russia (9:55)
10. Song For All Seasons (10:58)
11. Ashes Are Burning (16:15)

Total time 96:19

1. Prologue (7:25)
2. Trip To The Fair (10:54)
3. Carpet Of The Sun (3:45)
4. At The Harbour (7:42)
5. Grandine Il Vento (6:48)
6. Symphony Of Light (12:45)
7. Kalynda (3:55)
8. Island (5:57)
9. Mother Russia (9:55)
10. Song For All Seasons (10:58)
11. Ashes Are Burning (16:15)

Total time 96:19

Line-up / Musicians

- Annie Haslam / lead vocals
- Mark Lambert / guitar, backing vocals
- Rave Tesar / keyboards
- Geoffrey Langley / keyboards, backing vocals
- Leo Traversa / bass, backing vocals
- Charles Descarfino / drums, percussion, backing vocals

- Bob Magnuson / flute, clarinet, oboe, English horn
- Won Allen / flutes, clarinets
- Vinnie Cutro / trumpet, flugelhorn
- Bill Hughes / French horn
- Bobby Ferrel / trombone
- Vinnie Cutro / violin
- Eddie Vanegas / violin
- Orlando Wells / viola
- Leonard Greenhauz / cello
- James Musto / percussion

Releases information

Recorded at the Keswick Theatre in Glenside PA, USA on 27th October 2017 with the RENAISSANCE CHAMBER ORCHESTRA

2CD + DVD Symphonic Rock Recordings ‎- SRR-000-05 (2018, US)

Thanks to kingsnake for the addition
and to Quinino for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy RENAISSANCE A Symphonic Journey Music

Symphonic JourneySymphonic Journey
Symphonic Rock Recordings 2018
$19.75 (used)

Right Now on Ebay (logo)

More places to buy RENAISSANCE music online Buy RENAISSANCE & Prog Rock Digital Music online:

RENAISSANCE A Symphonic Journey ratings distribution

(9 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(33%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(22%)
Good, but non-essential (44%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

RENAISSANCE A Symphonic Journey reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Rivertree
3 stars This was recorded and filmed in 2017 at Keswick Theatre, Philadelphia, finally put together to a DVD/2CD set. 'A Symphonic Journey' marks a highly professional performance by Annie Haslam & Co., which here also includes the Renaissance Chamber Orchestra. This will feature additional strings, woodwind, brass and percussion. A real advantage concering all the songs which already included orchestral instruments on the original studio recordings. Burden or benefit, as I'm in the position to compare? For some reason it's not exactly the same feeling anymore. Have seen the band live decades ago, reminding me of some really really special magic, with Annie visually and vocally appearing like an impressive angel.

Now, when speaking of the most successfull mid 1970s line up, also including Michael Dunford, Jon Camp, John Trout and Terrence Sullivan, she's the sole remaining member on the stage on this occasion. Her voice is still exceptional, not that crystal clear anymore, but who seriously should wonder or even complain about that? And it may not be a surprise, that the majority of the played songs originally has been recorded by those aforementioned band members. Ashes Are Burning and the orchestrated Mother Russia are still outstanding here. Very good performance, while considering that I do not have the DVD at hand. Not necessarily essential for me, for others though it may be so. 3.5 stars.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of RENAISSANCE "A Symphonic Journey"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives