Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Lucifer Was

Eclectic Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Lucifer Was Blues from Hellah album cover
3.55 | 37 ratings | 2 reviews | 22% 5 stars

Excellent addition to any
prog rock music collection

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 2004

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Blues From Hellah (0:40)
2. Come Drug Me Babe (3:07)
3. Mire (4:21)
4. Armworth (5:00)
5. Old In Eden (3:55)
6. Za Za Banshee (5:21)
7. Lucilla's Gone (3:27)
8. When The Crossword's Done (5:01)
9. Leave And Let Leave (6:54)
10. Sleeping House (3:20)

Total Time: 41:23

Line-up / Musicians

- Jon Ruder / vocals - all tracks except "Blues From Hellah"
- Thore Engen / guitars - all tracks except "Blues From Hellah", sitar on "Za Za Banshee", background vocals on "Sleeping House"
- Kai Frilseth / percussion - all tracks except "Blues From Hellah", "Come Drug Me Babe", "When The Crossword's Done", drums on "Armworth"
- Einar Bruu / effect basses and 2nd bass - all tracks except "Blues From Hellah", bass on "Armworth"
- Igor Kill / bass - all tracks except "Armworth" and "Blues From Hellah", 8-string bass and bass-solo on "Za Za Banshee", slide guitar on "Leave And Let Leave"
- Frank Marstokk / drums - all tracks except "Armworth" and "Blues From Hellah"
- Morten Seyfarth / flute - all tracks except "Old In Eden"
- Dag Stenseng / flute on "Armworth", "Leave And Let Leave"
- Tom Uglebakken / flute on "Leave And Let Leave", "Mire"
- Jon Willy Rydningen / Mellotron - all tracks except "Blues From Hellah", "Armworth", "Za Za Banshee", "Lucilla's Gone"
- Kikkan Fossum / keyboards - all tracks except "Blues From Hellah", "Come Drug Me Babe", "Armworth", piano on "When The Crossword's Done"
- Svetlana Orlova / 1st violin
- Pål Svendsberget / 2nd violin, violin solo
- Trygve Johan Simonsen / viola
- Nikolai Skliarevski / cello - all tracks except "Armworth", "Za Za Banshee", "Lucilla's Gone"
- Dagfinn Koch / viola on "Za Za Banshee"
- Lillie-Ane Johansson / background vocals on "When The Crossword's Done"
- Børre Tronskog / trumpet
- Petter Skretting / saxophone
- Tore Schultze / trombone
- Toril K. Sjo Engen / tuba

Thanks to ProgLucky for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy LUCIFER WAS Blues from Hellah Music

More places to buy LUCIFER WAS music online

LUCIFER WAS Blues from Hellah ratings distribution

(37 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(22%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(54%)
Good, but non-essential (24%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

LUCIFER WAS Blues from Hellah reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by erik neuteboom
3 stars This is a Norwegian band that plays a blend of blues and rock, embellished with a lush instrumentation including flute, piano, Mellotron, violins and brass along the usual electric guitar, drums and bass. The 10 songs sound melodic and are tasteful arranged featuring powerful electric guitar (great soli), good vocals ans some keyboards (organ, piano, Mellotron). This is not really progressive rock but the bluesrock with progressive tendencies Lucifer Was plays on this CD is worth listening.

Latest members reviews

3 stars Since I wrote my review of In Anadis Bower I have found that this band has grown on me. Sure its simplistic compared to other prog bands I listen to.However within its relative simplicity its good.This latest release contains some great Tull inspired flute passages. Probably wont sustain ... (read more)

Report this review (#31800) | Posted by platform | Thursday, August 19, 2004 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of LUCIFER WAS "Blues from Hellah"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.