Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography




From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Loomings Hey Weirdo! album cover
4.03 | 17 ratings | 1 reviews | 25% 5 stars

Write a review
from partners
Studio Album, released in 2019

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Listen (0:20)
2. The Slap (6:28)
3. All Hail (6:16)
4. Sick Notes (3:51)
5. The High Bar (4:00)
6. Hypnotic (7:50)
7. To And Fro (4:02)
8. Cerchi (4:03)
9. Hey Weirdo! (4:42)
10. Stratification (2:51)
11. Wonder And Delusion (7:37)

Total Time 52:00

Line-up / Musicians

- Clara Weil / vocals
- Maria Denami / vocals
- Matthieu Mazué / electric piano, grand piano, synth, electric organ
- Nicolas Klee / electric and acoustic bass, bass synth
- Enrico Pedicone / vibes, drums, electronics, samples
- Jacopo Costa / drums, vibes, samples, programming, vocals, composer, arranger, producer

- Bertrand Eber / trumpet (2,4,10)
- Nicolas Jean / trombone (2,4,10)
- JB Juszczak / alto saxophone (2,10)
- Paul Schwartz / tenor saxophone (2,10)
- Rémi Psaume / baritone saxophone (2,10)

Releases information

Artwork: Laura Addari with Federica Carletti (logo)

CD Soleil Mutant ‎- SM 57 (2019, France)

FLAC download -

Thanks to mbzr48 for the addition
and to Quinino for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy LOOMINGS Hey Weirdo! Music

More places to buy LOOMINGS music online Buy LOOMINGS & Prog Rock Digital Music online:

LOOMINGS Hey Weirdo! ratings distribution

(17 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(25%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(12%)
Good, but non-essential (6%)
Collectors/fans only (50%)
Poor. Only for completionists (6%)

LOOMINGS Hey Weirdo! reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by BrufordFreak
COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator
5 stars Jacopo Costa (AltrOck's YUGEN, SKE, CAMEMBERT, NOT A GOOD SIGN)'s one-of-a-kind avant/experimental vocal & percussion band from Strasbourg, Alsace, is back with another wonderful, joyful album of quirk and nostalgia and this one is far more accessible than 2015's Everyday Mythology.

1. "Listen" (0:20) (5/5)

2. "The Slap" (6:28) funky (8.75/10)

3. "All Hail" (6:16) the new pope! multiple quirky percussion instruments over which Clara and Maria sing their interestingly disconnected harmonies. (8.75/10)

4. "Sick Notes" (3:51) a truly beautiful yet heavy, pensive song. Lots of space and a slow pace. (9.25/10)

5. "The High Bar" (4:00) continues from the same take as the previous song but establishes itself in a completely different, very STEELY DAN-like song/instrumental structure. When Clara and Maria join in, each singing her own lyric into the weave, the music becomes even more interesting and, yes, engaging! Awesome song! (9.5/10)

6. "Hypnotic" (7:50) oddly, and intentionally, cumbersome and plodding for its first four minutes, things shift into a far more in-your-face insistent funk tune in the fifth minute. Interesting and ... odd. Full on progressive rock at its most progressive. (13.5/15)

7. "To And Fro" (4:02) opens with saw-synth before Fender Rhodes and vibes join in with drums and bass to create a rather sophisticated, odd-metered song. 30 seconds into it there is a spacious bridge before the song picks up the opening sophisticate for Clara and Maria to sing over. Weird and old feeling (say, 1920s or 40s). (8.5/10)

8. "Cerchi" (4:03) spacious piano notes open this song and remain the dominant (and alone) in a Erik Satie kind of way for over a minute. IN the second minute the vibes join in--though the two instruments almost feel as if they are playing in two different universes. At 2:30 bass and drums and horns join in and everything gels into a beautiful classic jazz, Bill Evans-like sounding song. (9/10)

9. "Hey Weirdo! (4:42) creative and quirky in a Gabor Humble Vörös/HUMBLE GRUMBLE song. (8.75/10)

10. "Stratification (2:51) stepping into a stacato syncopated vibes and keys funk tune there is a little bit of Herbie Hancock, Miles Davis, and even David Bowie feel to this song. (9/10)

11. "Wonder And Delusion (7:37) opens with a stage sounding male voice singing in a plaintive, theatric voice for the first minute. Clara takes over at the one minute mark as a hypnotically pulsing horn section fast-pulses a single note from the background. Vibes and cymbols play within the weave. At 2:10 Maria joins in as Clara moves up an octave and Jacopo rejoins making it a beautiful West Side Story-like Broadway trio. Gorgeous. (14.5/15)

Total Time 52:00

Five stars; a minor masterpiece of wonderfully adventurous progressive rock music. Bravo, Loomings! Strasbourg rules!

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of LOOMINGS "Hey Weirdo!"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives