Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Symphonic Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Grobschnitt The Grobschnitt Story 4 (Illegal Live) album cover
4.50 | 16 ratings | 2 reviews | 44% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Live, released in 2003

Songs / Tracks Listing

Disc 1: 79:01
1. Vorprogramm (25:31)
2. Start Konzert Teil 1 (2:11)
3. German Television (0:12)
4. Razzia (3:08)
5. Der Farbtest (2:04)
6. Illegal (11:19)
7. Begrüßung (Lupo) (2:12)
8. Vater Schmidt in Essen (10:12)
9. Ansage (Lupo) (1:58)
10. Simple Dimple (5:20)
11. A.C.Y.M. (6:37)
12. Die Balli Show 1 (8:17)

Disc 2: 78:06
1. Die Balli Show 2 (5:24)
2. Der Kandidatentest (1:03)
3. Die Salzmann Show (6:25)
4. Schluss jetzt... (0:36)
5. Silent Movie (3:30)
6. Ansage (Wildschwein) (0:05)
7. Raintime (4:41)
8. Ansage (Lupo) (0:33)
9. Das Waldeslied (3:02)
10. Mary Green (10:43)
11. Ansage (Eroc) (2:34)
12. The Sniffer (5:27)
13. Ansage (Eroc) (2:17)
14. Rockpommel's Land (17:02)
15. Zur Pause an der Donau (4:38)
16. Start Konzert Teil 2 (0:36)
17. Du schaffst das nicht (9:30)

Disc 3: 78:58
1. Ein bisschen später (Milla) (0:41)
2. Space Rider (13:27)
3. Ansage (Eroc) (2:17)
4. Solar Music Essen 1981 (38:55)
5. Travelling Away (12:30)
6. Essen tobt... (3:03)
7. Illegal Zugabe (6:02)
8. Abschied (2:03)

Total Time: 236:05

Line-up / Musicians

- Joachim Ehrig / drums, percussion
- Gerd Kühn / guitar
- Stefan Danielak / guitar, vocals
- Volker Kahrs / keyboards
- Milla Kapolke / bass, vocals
- Rainer Loskand / beleuchtung, vocals

Releases information

CD Wolkenreise #WOL 9002

Thanks to ProgLucky for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy GROBSCHNITT The Grobschnitt Story 4 (Illegal Live) Music

More places to buy GROBSCHNITT music online

GROBSCHNITT The Grobschnitt Story 4 (Illegal Live) ratings distribution

(16 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(44%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(19%)
Good, but non-essential (6%)
Collectors/fans only (19%)
Poor. Only for completionists (12%)

GROBSCHNITT The Grobschnitt Story 4 (Illegal Live) reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by loserboy
5 stars So here it is on 3 full CD's, the complete 1981 Illegal tour in its entirety. This four hour concert has been remarkably well preserved and re-mastered and runs from start to finish in a flawless fashion (hand re-mastered by Eroc of GROBSCHNITT). Fans of GROBSCHNITT in Germany have been citing for years that the Illegal tour was simply unforgettable and I only wish I had seen these guys play live... in the mean time we now have thanks to Eroc a great keepsake for those who missed this one. This four hour concert puts a spotlight on the tracks from "Illegal" (as it was this tour) but also contains lots of variations and vaudeville'ian improv's on songs as well as a large mitt full of other great songs from their discography. For me highlights are numerous, but I must make mention of a few like the deep symphonic version of "Rockpommel's Land", the bone chilling version of the dual acoustic guitar duet of "Silent Movie", Jumbo's "Jupp/The Excursion Of Father Smith" (one of my personal fav's of all time) and the 1981 40 mins version of "Solar Music" to top it all off.

Latest members reviews

5 stars This one is certainly one of the best live albums I've ever heard, a absolutely masterpiece within the progressive rock history. This album shows and let you hear what Grobschnitt really was. For those who wehre not able to see or hear them live, this is your opportunity. The guitar and drums ... (read more)

Report this review (#32694) | Posted by | Wednesday, February 9, 2005 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of GROBSCHNITT "The Grobschnitt Story 4 (Illegal Live)"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.