Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Symphonic Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

M-Opus Origins album cover
3.28 | 57 ratings | 4 reviews | 14% 5 stars

Good, but non-essential

Write a review

Buy M-OPUS Music
from partners
Studio Album, released in 2020

Songs / Tracks Listing

CD 1 (75:06)
1. Overture (3:44)
2. Accidents Will Happen (3:21)
3. Please Don't Let Me Go (3:26)
4. Can't Blame Me (3:20)
5. A Perfect Day for Flight (6:40)
6. Mr. McKee (5:05)
7. Find My Way Back Home (6:26)
8. Krown on the Coastline (4:47)
9. Welcome to White Rose (0:45)
10. Mystery at the Ministry (4:41)
11. Midnight on the White Rose (4:23)
12. Complete the Machine (2:21)
13. Waiting to Be (4:59)
14. Labyrinth (4:31)
15. Armed Gods (2:14)
16. At the Lab (3:30)
17. Never Giving Up on Your Love (3:07)
18. 2048 Numbers (7:46)

CD 2 (61:43)
19. Emergency Exit (2:25)
20. Troubled Minds (6:03)
21. Hide and Seek (5:29)
22. Holy War (3:05)
23. Empty Shells (5:00)
24. Fireworks (2:20)
25. The Big Swindle (4:34)
26. Violet Alone (4:49)
27. Don't You Want to Feel My Heart (4:11)
28. Infinite Within (23:47)

Total Time 136:49

Line-up / Musicians

- Jonathan Casey / vocals, voice actor, keyboards, bass, guitar, composer, arranger, producer
- Colin Sullivan / guitar, narration
- Mark Grist / drums, vocals

- Danny McCormack / vocals
- Sandi Jane Hyland / vocals
- Eoghan McLaughlin / vocals, voice actor
- Stella Bass / vocals, voice actor
- Tomoko Okamoto / voice actor
- Ron Garner / voice actor
- Tamara Markus / voice actor
- Charlie Kranz / voice actor
- Graeme Singleton / voice actor
- Sharon Mannion / voice actor
- Danny Kehoe / voice actor
- Conor McGouran / guitar (11)
- Anto Drennan / guitar (18)
- Michael Buckley / flute (23)

Releases information

Artwork: Ben Hennessy

2CD Rude Chord Recordings (2020, Ireland)

Thanks to mbzr48 for the addition
and to projeKct for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy M-OPUS Origins Music

M-OPUS Origins ratings distribution

(57 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(14%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(33%)
Good, but non-essential (44%)
Collectors/fans only (9%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

M-OPUS Origins reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by kev rowland
2 stars This is the second album from progressive Irish trio M-Opus, who comprise Jonathan Casey (vocals, bass, keyboards), Mark Grist (drums) and Colin Sullivan (guitars) alongside various guests including Anto Drennan (Genesis, Mike + The Mechanics, Clannad, The Corrs), Conor McGouran (Xerath) and Michael Buckley (Dave Liebman, Kenny Wheeler). Some may recognise Casey better as Arch Stanton, and under that name he recorded two albums as part of the David Cross Band. The album is a narrative piece that includes a cast of actors and guest performers; part rock album, part audio play, part soundtrack, and contains 28 tracks over two CDS, taking more than five years to pull together. The concept is a science fiction story based in 2187 and revolves around a washed-up, drunk, genius scientist called Miller McKee. I am an avid science fan and have been since when at a fairly young age I realised the library contained Star Trek books. Having read all they had, I moved onto other stories by the same author, James Blish, and then discovered whole new worlds with the great Isaac Asimov, Heinlein, Van Vogt, Pohl and so many others. In recent years I have thoroughly enjoyed the releases by Hibernal which are science fiction stories with music, so I was really looking forward to this release.

That the guys can play is never in doubt, and much of the music contains great hooks, and some of the songs are simply outstanding. The voice actors also play their parts well, but the biggest problem is that for me the story doesn't work, or at least it doesn't with the words they are able to use ? it may work better as a novel where it can be fleshed out. There are times, such as on "Perfect Day For Flight For 2019", where there are just too many lyrics in a line, and it jars. Too often there is the feeling the music is being moved around to make room for the words which need to be included to get the story across. The album may be well in excess of two hours in length, but for this to really work it actually should have been much longer: would a listener sit through it?

The result for me is something which feels quite contrived, with nothing really working as it should and each element having a negative impact on the others as opposed to lifting them up. Unlike many concept albums this is a story or audio play, so it needs to be played from beginning to end, no picking certain pieces to play to again as it just does not work that way. There have been many very positive reviews of this album, but having already played this through a few times, when I realised it was next on my list to write about I actually groaned out loud as I didn't want to play it again. A great deal of work has gone into this and the musicians are superb, but I would much rather hear an album of songs as opposed to this. Given so many people have said nice thing about it, people who enjoy commercial progressive rock combined with dialogue may find something there for them, but it isn't for me.

Latest members reviews

4 stars What a great discovery. Haven't heard about this band until recently and came across "Origins " accidentally. This indeed is huge effort with excellent result both in terms of the concept and the music itself. Supposed to sound like music from 80's, it does - and in the very positive way. Liste ... (read more)

Report this review (#2604583) | Posted by JurekZ | Sunday, October 17, 2021 | Review Permanlink

3 stars A few songs in and I had to turn it off because of all the dialog. I went to the 23 minute 'Infinite Within' and it started with more dialog. That was it for me. The music I did hear play was good. So, I would love to hear a live album of just the music without the dialog!!! That is all me, BTW. ... (read more)

Report this review (#2338327) | Posted by firstlensman | Tuesday, February 25, 2020 | Review Permanlink

4 stars Wow! I'm not sure where to start but I'll go back to their first album from 2015 called 1975 Tryptych, here is a new band that right out of the gate came out with a 5 star album IMHO, the album consisted of just three (3) songs, one which was over 33 minutes long and it was epic! Five years later an ... (read more)

Report this review (#2307523) | Posted by mbzr48 | Friday, January 17, 2020 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of M-OPUS "Origins"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.