Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Prog Folk

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Aquaplan Paperimeri album cover
2.95 | 2 ratings | 1 reviews | 0% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 2003

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Metsa (2:51)
2. Paivakirja (4:25)
3. Hiljainen Huoneisto (4:35)
4. Puun Suojaan (2:26)
5. Syli (5:52)
6. Sanot Toista (1:39)
7. Paperimeri (8:40)
8. Prince (5:33)
9. Colouring Her (5:20)
10. Prince (radio edit) (4:10)

Total Time: 45:35

Line-up / Musicians

- Maarit Saarenkunnas / vocals
- Juha Anttila / keyboards
- Tuomas Erkkilä / drums
- Ville Veijalainen / bass
- Ari Sutinen / electric guitar
- Pasi Korhonen / acoustic guitar
- Markus Lampela / pennywhistle

Releases information

CD Paperimeri [AQCD-03]

Thanks to ProgLucky for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy AQUAPLAN Paperimeri Music

More places to buy AQUAPLAN music online

AQUAPLAN Paperimeri ratings distribution

(2 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(0%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(0%)
Good, but non-essential (50%)
Collectors/fans only (50%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

AQUAPLAN Paperimeri reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by apps79
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator
3 stars Formed in 1999 in Oulou, Finland, Aquaplan's core was installed by guitarist Ari 'Suti' Sutinen, female singer Maarit Saarenkunnas and drummer Tuomas Erkkilä.The expanded 6-piece original line-up included bassist Ari Kivelä, acoustic guitarist Pasi Korhonen and keyboardist Juha Anttila.After the CDR demo ''Tekee jäljen veden pintaan'' from 2000 Kivelä left to continue a career as double bassist in the Classical Music field, replaced by Trusties bassist Ville Veijalainen.The refreshed Aquaplan recorded the band's official debut ''Paperimeri'', a private CD release from 2003.

The band chose the easy way of Progressive/Art Rock, building the ideas of Sutinen around relatively simple song-based compositions, which however contain a high degree of emotion, atmosphere and sensitivity, akin to bands like IONA, YOU AND I or PAATOS.The very sensitive and crystalline singing in Finnish (with the exception of a couple of tracks) by Maarit Saarenkunnas is combined with relaxed musical themes, characterized by careful electric passages, measured use of background keyboards and a fair dose of acoustic textures.And while the music has a strong poppy feeling at moments, it combines elements from Art Rock, Jazz and Folk in a very accesible way, based on the well-written melodies and the lovely lyrical atmospheres.The long eponymous track though is a very good example of a band writing really demanding material if needed.Elaborate, polished but also adventurous Progressive/Art Rock with extended electric guitars and edgy keyboard work next to more lyrical atmospheric passages.

Really nice debut by Aquaplan and a great discovery for anyone into the more lyrical and accesible side of Progressive Rock.Warmly recommended.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of AQUAPLAN "Paperimeri"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.