Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


David Sylvian

Crossover Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

David Sylvian Camphor album cover
3.13 | 5 ratings | 1 reviews | 20% 5 stars

Write a review
from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 2002

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. All of My Mother's Names (6:06)
2. Red Earth (As Summertime Ends) (3:34)
3. Answered Prayers (2:45)
4. The Song Which Gives the Key to Perfection (5:52)
5. New Moon at Red Deer Wallow (5:14)
6. Praise (Pratah Smarami) (3:55)
7. Wave [Version] (3:58)
8. Mother and Child (4:03)
9. Plight (The Spiralling of Winter Ghosts) (2:30)
10. Upon This Earth (4:14)
11. Big Wheels in Shanty Town (6:56)
12. The Healing Place (4:52)
13. Camphor (3:10)
14. A Brief Conversation Ending in Divorce (3:27)

Total Time: 60:36
Uk Bonus tracks:
15. Plight (The Spiralling of Winter Ghosts) (16:35)
16. Mutability (A New Beginning Is in the.. (5:31)
17. Premonition (Giant Empty Iron Vessel) (16:34)

Japenese Bonus Track:
15. Mutability (A New Beginning Is in the Offing) (5:26)

Line-up / Musicians

- David Sylvian / synthesizer, bass, guitar, piano, drums, harmonium, keyboards, organ (Hammond), piano (electric), vocals, slide guitar, vibraphone, Fender Rhodes, prepared piano, shortwave radio
- Robert Fripp / guitar
- Mick Karn / bass, clarinet (bass), tabla, brass, horn arrangements, rhythm bass, Wah Wah bass
- Bill Nelson / guitar (acoustic), guitar
- Marc Ribot / guitar
- David Torn / guitar (acoustic)
- Chris Minh Doky / double bass
- Djanka Diabate / vocals
- Richard Barbieri / synthesizer
- Michael Brook / conga
- Danny Cummings / percussion
- Holger Czukay / organ, piano, orchestra
- Djene Doumbouya / vocals
- Steve Jansen / percussion, drums, organ (Hammond), Clay drums, Ceramic drums
- Phil Palmer / guitar (acoustic)
- The Phantom Horns
- Ryuichi Sakamoto / piano, organ (Hammond), Fender Rhodes
- Talvin Singh / percussion, tabla
- Jaki Liebezeit / African flute
- Scooter Warner / drums
- John Taylor / piano

Releases information

CD EMI 12201 (2002) / CD EMI 12197 (2002) / CD Japanese Import 68424 (2002)2002 / CD Virgin 12201 (UK version)

Thanks to ProgLucky for the addition
and to seyo for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy DAVID SYLVIAN Camphor Music

Limited Edition
Virgin Records Us 2002
$5.92 (used)

Right Now on Ebay (logo)

More places to buy DAVID SYLVIAN music online Buy DAVID SYLVIAN & Prog Rock Digital Music online:

DAVID SYLVIAN Camphor ratings distribution

(5 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(20%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(20%)
Good, but non-essential (60%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

DAVID SYLVIAN Camphor reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by soundsweird
3 stars What do you think of when you see the word "compilation"? Undoubtedly, you think "best of", or "greatest hits"........ Forget that! This album contains nothing but instrumental tracks, and rather uncommercial ones at that. If you go to the All Music Guide, you'll find that this album received a very poor rating. The reviewer had some good points, but the music itself is of high quality throughout. One problem is the fact that Sylvian fans already have just about everything on here. The casual fans won't want to start off their David Sylvian collections with this type of stuff, so what's the target audience? I guess the rating depends on whether one rates the music (which is mostly quite good), or the concept (which is shaky). I must admit I never even considered purchasing this album once I saw the track listing. Apparently, there's a remix or two, and maybe even a new track or two, but this is an expensive import. Hmmm.... reminds me of groups like The Who. They've released more greatest hits albums than original studio albums! What's the point? Nice artwork, though.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of DAVID SYLVIAN "Camphor"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives