Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


In The Woods...

Experimental/Post Metal

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

In The Woods... Live At The Caledonien Hall album cover
4.07 | 17 ratings | 3 reviews | 38% 5 stars

Write a review

Buy IN THE WOODS... Music
from partners
Live, released in 2003

Songs / Tracks Listing

1 Introducing...
2 Medley On Heartworks
3 Heart Of The Ages
4 Beer
5 White Rabbit
6 Mourning The Death Of Aase
7 299.796 km/s
8 I Am Your Flesh
9 Kairos
10 Weeping Willow
11 Omnio (Pre)

1 Omnio (Bardo + Post)
2 Empty Room
3 Don´t Care
4 Dead Man´s Creek
5 Karmakosmik
6 Path Of The Righteous
7 Titan Transcendence
8 Epitaph
9 Closing In

Line-up / Musicians

- Mista Transit / vocals
- C:M Botteri / bass
- X-Botteri / guitar
- A. Kobro / drums
- Christer A. Cederberg / guitar
- Oddvar A:M / guitar
- Björn / guitar
- Synne / female vocals
- Stein / bass

Releases information

CD Prophecy Productions / karmakosmetix rec. kkx001 2003

Thanks to ProgLucky for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy IN THE WOODS... Live At The Caledonien Hall Music

More places to buy IN THE WOODS... music online

IN THE WOODS... Live At The Caledonien Hall ratings distribution

(17 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(38%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(50%)
Good, but non-essential (6%)
Collectors/fans only (6%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

IN THE WOODS... Live At The Caledonien Hall reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Mellotron Storm
4 stars Dark, heavy, atmospheric and emotional are all words that describe the music of IN THE WOODS... very well. I actually purchased this double live recording because it was the very last concert the band would play together. As a big fan, this recording is very special and significant to me. The lead singer Mista Transit is in fine form. I really like some of the things he says between songs. Synne the female vocalist adds so much as usual to these songs. Those high pitched vocals that at times seem so tortured are perfect for this music. The Botteri brothers(bass, lead guitar) make an appearance on this recording playing on the whole second disc(second half of the concert). Here are some of the highlights for me.

"Heart Of Ages" from their first album of the same name is fantastic ! Especially Synne who offers up some incredible vocal melodies. Dual vocals as heavy guitar comes in at 3 1/2 minutes. "Beer" is funny because he opens by saying "We have a new song that doesn't have a name, so for this occasion we'll call it beer". Love the grinding guitars in this one. They then cover "White Rabbit" by JEFFERSON AIRPLANE. Transit sings the lyrics but Synne is all over this too with vocals and vocal melodies. "Mourning The Death Of Aase" might be the best track on here. Great beat to open as guitar comes in. It settles right down as Synne comes in with reserved vocals. A minute later she offers up these high pitched vocal melodies that are absolutely amazing, this has to be heard to be understood. Aggressive guitar takes over as she stops singing. "299.796 KM/S" is so powerful and heavy. Drums and dual vocals before 1 1/2 minutes. The tempo picks up. This is intense as the tempo continues to change. "I Am Your Flesh" is heavy and aggressive right off the bat. Killer sound. As soon as he sings "I am your flesh" it settles right down a minute in. It kicks back in as Synne joins in vocally. Love the sound before 4 minutes. Check out the bass. "Weeping Willow" is another thunderous track especially after 4 minutes. The mood and tempo does change throughout.

At the start of "Omnio(Pre)" Transit says "This one is for my mother, I think." Then at the end of "Omnio(Bardo+Post)" he points out his mom in the audience and says "I am so proud of her, you wouldn't know anything about it." "Empty Room" has some great atmosphere to it as well as some ripping guitar and riffs. Check out the emotional singing of Transit before 4 1/2 minutes. Awesome tune. "Don't Care" is a headbangers delight. Straight up metal on the chorus with him screaming "I don't care anymore, get out of my life !" "Path Of The Righteous" from "Strange In Stereo" is so uplifting after 5 1/2 minutes. "Titan Transcendence" features some powerful and emotional singing from Transit before Synne comes in after 3 1/2 minutes like a light in the darkness. They then cover "Epitaph" by KING CRIMSON. This version isn't as pleasant(haha) but very powerful and dark. It's so beautiful when Synne starts to sing the lyrics. Transit joins her on the chorus. He then takes over the vocal duties after 2 1/2 minutes and blows me away. Dual vocals after 5 minutes.Synne ends it with a big finish in this 8 minute cover. Unbelieveable ! "Closing In" is from "Strange In Stereo" and is the perfect track to end it. They can't possibly sound any better then they do on this last song. Emotional vocals after 3 minutes. What a performance !

A must for IN THE WOODS... fans and fans of dark and powerful music. I had a young customer come in the store as this was playing last week and he asked me to write down the name of this band and their best recordings. He said it reminded him of TOOL.

Latest members reviews

4 stars One of the best sounding live recordings I've ever heard, and it's because the band splurged on a huge PA system to allow them to recreate the full complexity of their studio textures, delicate, layered ambience over churning black and thrash inspired metal riffs. This is a sprawling album and m ... (read more)

Report this review (#44752) | Posted by morpheusdraven | Monday, August 29, 2005 | Review Permanlink

4 stars Very good double live album, unfortunately a farewell concert! Good selection of classic original tunes of the band, as "Heart of the ages" , "Mourning the death of Aase" "299796 km/s" "Omnio", "Karmakosmik", "Closing in", as well as covers - "White rabbit" (Jefferson Airplane) and "Epitaph" ... (read more)

Report this review (#39786) | Posted by Asiostygius | Tuesday, July 19, 2005 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of IN THE WOODS... "Live At The Caledonien Hall"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.