Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Moving Gelatine Plates

Canterbury Scene

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Moving Gelatine Plates Moving album cover
3.39 | 21 ratings | 2 reviews | 0% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 1980

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Destruction (2:47)
2. Tout Autour de Toi (4:13)
3. Frequence Nocturne (4:22)
4. Solaria (3:45)
5. Syntheme (3:28)
6. L' Alchimiste (3:20)
7. Les Etres d'Or (5:50)
8. Ombres (3:30)
9. Rire de Peine (7:07)

Total Time: 38:22

Line-up / Musicians

- Jean-Jacques Hertz / guitar
- Dominique Godin / keyboards
- Jean Rubert / saxophone
- Didier Thibault / bass, guitar, synth, vocals
- Marc Profichet / drums, percussion, vibes, xylophone

- Mico Nissim / MiniMoog (9)
- Didier Malherbe / sax (2,4)

Releases information

Artwork: Nicole Bande (photo)

LP Amo Records ‎- 67.537 (1980, France)

Thanks to ProgLucky for the addition
and to Quinino for the last updates
Edit this entry


More places to buy MOVING GELATINE PLATES music online

MOVING GELATINE PLATES Moving ratings distribution

(21 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(0%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(38%)
Good, but non-essential (48%)
Collectors/fans only (10%)
Poor. Only for completionists (5%)


Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Sean Trane
3 stars This third album has only Didier Thibault has the sole original member and was recorded 8 years after the break-up of MGP. Actually , this album just got released in vinyl under the name of Moving only. And never got a full release on CD yet except that all tracks are present on both Musea re-issues of the first two albums. Although one could fear for disaster , this album is quite fine (especially for the times) and does relate ina way to the earlier two albums.

We have here a good , relatively calm jazz-rock (not that far away from ECM fusion albums of the times) , but the music is tamer (and a bit lame) and fade a bit in comparison to the first albums. But the musicians are all fine , playing jazz rock/fusion as though they actually believe in what they are doing. One of the big differences is that the vocals are a lot more frequent and sung in french , but very pleasant and absolutely not bothersome for those who do not know French.

Anecdotical at best , you will have the album free if you get the other two albums. Otherwise , as pleasant asit is , not really wortwhile the hunt for the vinyl!

Review by Mellotron Storm
4 stars One of the worst covers ever(haha). Anyway, Didier Thibault the bass player decided in 1978 he wanted to start up MOVING GELATINE PLATES again,unfortunately he was the only original member interested. The band would go through many lineup changes before recording this studio album in 1980. As the liner notes say Didier wanted to maintain the musical spirit of the original band but this time in a more accessible idiom. Thibault would play acoustic guitar, bass and sing the lead vocals in French.

"Destruction" begins with a dark,atmospheric mood. This isn't too unusual for the band who opened their debut album with an experimental, spacey intro that was also unlike the rest of the record. The rest of this song features a nice uptempo melody. "Tout Autour De Toi" opens with gentle sax melodies and acoustic guitar. The other sax joins in after 2 minutes followed by synths. This is kind of dark actually and the sax becomes dissonant. The gentle sax takes over for dissonant sax as the mood brightens again. Cool song. "Frequence Nocturne" really sounds amazing. A laid back and breezy beginning. Some xylophone comes and goes before it becomes prominant 1 1/2 minutes in as it has turned jazzy. A sax solo with some nice bass follows. Then xylophone and bass become prominant. Sax joins in to end it. "Solaria" opens with sax,vibes and acoustic guitar. The tempo picks up a minute in with drums. Love the guitar solo 2 1/2 minutes in as drums pound to end the song. Nice.

"Syntheme" has an uptempo, sax led intro before synths take the place of the sax. Drums beat throughout. Vocals after a minute for the first time on the album. Vocals stop and sax returns. Beautiful guitar solo 3 minutes in. "L'Alchimiste" features an uptempo melody with humerous vocals. A really nice sax solo later in this whimsical tune. "Les Etres D'or" is mellow with higher pitched vocals for almost 2 minutes then the mood becomes serious. I like this section,the vocals sound great. A sax solo 2 1/2 minutes in before the original sound returns with another terrific guitar solo. This sounds so good. "Ombres" is a catchy, light tune with a different tone on the vocals again. This time he sounds like the singer for PFM. Very pleasant and enjoyable track. "Rire De Peine" opens with some cool sounding acoustic guitar. Heavenly. Some smooth sax joins in as well as some guest mini moog. Synths add to the mood as well. Reserved vocals come in later.

I really think this was a big success. I know it wasn't a success financially for the band but certainly musically it was. I really enjoy these songs a lot, and I do feel the spirit of the original MOVING GELATINE PLATES is felt.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of MOVING GELATINE PLATES "Moving"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.