Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Captain Beefheart


From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Captain Beefheart I'm Going to Do What I Wanna Do: Live at My Father's Place 1978 album cover
4.19 | 15 ratings | 3 reviews | 33% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Live, released in 2000

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Tropical Hot Dog Night (4:36)
2. Nowadays a Woman's Gotta Hit a Man (5:07)
3. Owed T'Alex (5:20)
4. Dropout Boogie (3:13)
5. Harry Irene (3:46)
6. Abba Zaba (3:44)
7. Her Eyes Are a Blue Million Miles (4:12)
8. Old Fart at Play (2:26)
9. Well (3:55)
10. Ice Rose (3:56)
11. Moonlight on Vermont (3:52)
12. The Floppy Boot Stomp (4:19)
13. You Know You're a Man (3:26)
14. Bat Chain Puller (5:55)
15. Apes-Ma (0:47)
16. When I See Mommy I Feel Like a Mummy (6:04)
17. Veteran's Day Poppy (9:11)
18. Safe as Milk (0:42)
19. Suction Points (4:41)

Total Time: 79:12

Line-up / Musicians

- Don Van Vliet (aka Captain Beefheart) / vocals
- Jeff Moris Tepper / guitar
- Richard Redus / guitar, accordion
- Bruce Fowler / trombone
- Eric Drew Feldman / bass
- Robert Williams / drums, percussion

Releases information

CD Rhino Handmade 7741 (2000) / CD Rhino 77741 (2003)

Thanks to ProgLucky for the addition
Edit this entry

Buy CAPTAIN BEEFHEART I'm Going to Do What I Wanna Do: Live at My Father's Place 1978 Music

CAPTAIN BEEFHEART I'm Going to Do What I Wanna Do: Live at My Father's Place 1978 ratings distribution

(15 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(33%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(47%)
Good, but non-essential (13%)
Collectors/fans only (7%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

CAPTAIN BEEFHEART I'm Going to Do What I Wanna Do: Live at My Father's Place 1978 reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by HolyMoly
4 stars Beefheart and his freshly-assembled Magic Band hit the road to support the well-received comeback "Shiny Beast (Bat Chain Puller)" album, and it's immediately clear that he's back on his game, as evidenced by this superbly presented live document by Rhino/Handmade. The repertoire relies heavily on "Shiny Beast" material, though it also favors the smoother strains of "Clear Spot" material (Nowadays a Woman's Got to Hit a Man, Her Eyes are a Blue Million Miles) as well as a generous number of "Trout Mask Replica" songs (Well, Old Fart at Play, Moonlight on Vermont, Veterans Day Poppy), and a couple of songs that are even older (Dropout Boogie, Abba Zaba, Safe as Milk). The era of his misguided attempts at mainstream acceptance is wisely avoided. This catches Beefheart right in the midst of a turning point in his career, and I can only imagine how elated his fans were to see him back in such commanding form.

Sound quality is impeccable throughout, leading me to think this was professionally recorded with the intention of being released, or broadcast over the radio. It was an unusual-sounding lineup. Bruce Fowler (ex-Zappa) plays the bass parts on trombone (or "air bass" as Beefheart amusingly calls it), Robert Williams provides the kind of tom-heavy offbeat rhythms that are a hallmark of Beefheart's music, Eric Drew Feldman fills in the spaces jumping around between keyboards, guitar, and bass. Jeff "Moris" Tepper plays the slide with even more joyful abandon than his precursor Zoot Horn Rollo (if not as expertly). The band handles the Trout Mask material adequately, though they do seem more comfortable with the "Shiny Beast" material they helped to create.

Beefheart himself sounds confident and in charge. He communicates with the crowd with humor and good-natured sarcasm (best moment: yelling at an audience member for clapping in 4/4 time during "Well", an acapella piece that is in anything but 4/4). All in all, this is probably the best live document of Captain Beefheart you are likely to find. 4 stars.

Latest members reviews

4 stars This is a great concert of CB having a good time with both the band and the crowd. This live recording is of very good quality and makes me jealous that I was not part of the crowd. The band is hot and so is CB. If you are looking for a live set of CB and the Magic Band, this is the place to ... (read more)

Report this review (#124165) | Posted by FoonTheElder | Thursday, May 31, 2007 | Review Permanlink

5 stars This is a fantastic live recording, FM broadcast. If you enjoy the Magic Band this is the best of the bootlegs for sound quality, and Don's on great form with the audience - the material from Shiny Beast Bat Chain Piller is heavily featured with great exuberance. Beware the other versions of t ... (read more)

Report this review (#50972) | Posted by | Sunday, October 9, 2005 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of CAPTAIN BEEFHEART "I'm Going to Do What I Wanna Do: Live at My Father's Place 1978"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.