Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Rock Progressivo Italiano

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Syndone Kama Sutra album cover
3.96 | 40 ratings | 3 reviews | 22% 5 stars

Excellent addition to any
prog rock music collection

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 2021

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. It's Only Make Believin' (3:27)
2. Nirvana (2:52)
3. Carousel (2:32)
4. Into the Kama (5:51)
5. Bitches (4:36)
6. You Still Shine (4:17)
7. Sex Toys R Us (3:41)
8. 2 Thousand 10 (1:59)
9. Sacred & Profane (7:14)
10. We Are the World We Created (5:22)
11. Peace on Earth (2:10)

Total Time 44:01

Bonus track on Belle Antique limited edition CD:
12. Finale (taken from Pinocchio's main suite theme) (2:40)

Line-up / Musicians

- Nick Comoglio / Hammond, Moog, Roland Juno, Mellotron, backing vocals, orchestration
- Riccardo Ruggeri / lead & backing vocals
- Marta Caldara / vibraphone, timpani
- Gigi Rivetti / electric & acoustic grand pianos, Wurlitzer, Rhodes, wah clavinet, Hammond (3,4,7,9)
- Simone Rubinato / bass, fretless bass, Moog Minitaur bass synth
- Eddy Franco / drums & percussion

- Riccardo Di Gianni / tambura (1,4), sitar (4)
- Annie Barbazza / duet vocals (4)
- Vincent Boniface / crystal flute (4)
- Claudio Adamo / baritone electric guitar (7)
- Andrea Manco / flute (4)
- Luigi Finetto / oboe (4)
- Luigi Picatto / clarinet (4)
- Gianluca Cagnani / pipe organ of Sant'Eusebio Cathedral in Italy (5)
- David Jackson / flute & saxophone (7)
- Budapest Scoring Symphonic Orchestra, conducted by Francesco Zago

Releases information

Artwork: Massimo Marchini
Label: Manticore Records
Formats: CD, LP, Digital
August 25, 2021

Thanks to rdtprog for the addition
and to Dark Ness & projeKct for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy SYNDONE Kama Sutra Music

SYNDONE Kama Sutra ratings distribution

(40 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(22%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(35%)
Good, but non-essential (32%)
Collectors/fans only (10%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

SYNDONE Kama Sutra reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by kev rowland
4 stars I must be honest and say I wasn't sure that Manticore Records were still going after more than 50 years, but here they are with the latest release from Turin-based prog band Syndone. The band have been around since 1989, led by Nik Comoglio (Hammond, Moog, Juno dist., Mellotron, keyboards), and this is their eighth studio album. - Riccardo Ruggeri (vocals), Marta Caldara (vibraphone, timpani) and Gigi Rivetti (piano, Wurlitzer, Rhodes, Hammond, clavinet) have all returned from 2018's 'Mysoginia' but there is a new rhythm section in Simone Rubinato (bass, fretless, Taurus bass) and Eddy Franco (drums & percussion). I enjoyed their last album a great deal, and there is also plenty in this one to cause interest.

They are indicated as being RPI on PA, and as I have not heard their earlier albums I cannot comment if that is correct for those but certainly is not right for what they are currently performing which is far more eclectic in so many ways. They bring in elements of Indian styles in keeping with the lyrical ideas where we hear of Georgio Perlasca, a hero against Nazism, but there are also times when we feel as if we are being thrown whole heartedly into the Hammond worlds of Vincent Crane and Jon Lord, with Keith Emerson just getting a look in. The bass is often very smooth and quite at odds with the maelstrom taking place above. There are plenty of guests, including the Budapest Scoring Symphonic Orchestra, and this all allows the band to really spread their musical wings. All lyrics are in English so can easily be understood by the non-Italian, and it crosses not only musical boundaries but time as it spends a great deal in the early Seventies while also dropping into the Eighties.

This is progressive music in its truest sense where the band is attempting push and create new styles instead of sitting inside a recognised genre or sub-genre, and the album is all the better for it as one never knows where it is going to lead. Fully worthy of further consideration.

Latest members reviews

5 stars Syndone's "Kama Sutra" is not only a masterpiece of progressive rock, but a masterpiece of music in general that addresses a very taboo yet incredibly important topic that is rarely so openly discussed in any form of popular music, let alone progressive rock: sex. Sex is an incredibly natural, impor ... (read more)

Report this review (#2592063) | Posted by tempest_77 | Friday, September 3, 2021 | Review Permanlink

4 stars SYNDONE, as a reminder to the holy relic of Turin, is the Italian group releasing their 8th album, starting in 1992 their musical adventure for an energetic jazz-sympho-prog-rock trip, starting on ELP, QUEEN, AREKNAMES; cosmic hard rock, vintage moog and hammond, Nick has worked on pub jingles b ... (read more)

Report this review (#2575547) | Posted by alainPP | Thursday, July 1, 2021 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of SYNDONE "Kama Sutra"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.