Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Progressive Metal

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Epica Ωmega Alive album cover
3.96 | 5 ratings | 1 reviews | 40% 5 stars

Write a review

Buy EPICA Music
from partners
Live, released in 2021

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Alpha - Anteludium (1:38)
2. Abyss of Time - Countdown to Singularity (5:20)
3. The Skeleton Key (5:05)
4. Unchain Utopia (4:47)
5. The Obsessive Devotion (7:17)
6. In All Conscience (5:07)
7. Victims of Contingency (3:32)
8. Kingdom of Heaven, Pt. 1 - A New Age Dawns Part V (13:31)
9. Kingdom of Heaven, Pt. 3 - The Antediluvian Universe (13:23)
10. Rivers - A Capella (4:32)
11. Once Upon a Nightmare (7:11)
12. Freedom - The Wolves Within (5:36)
13. Cry for the Moon - The Embrace That Smothers Part IV (8:31)
14. Beyond the Matrix (6:26)
15. Omega - Sovereign of the Sun Spheres (7:00)

Total Time 98:56

Line-up / Musicians

- Simone Simons / lead & backing vocals
- Mark Jansen / guitars, growled vocals
- Isaac Delahaye / guitars
- Coen Janssen / piano, synthesizer
- Rob van der Loo / bass
- AriŽn van Weesenbeek / drums, vocals

Releases information

Label: Nuclear Blast
Format: - Blu-ray + DVD
- 2 CD digipak
- Boxset
- CD-version of the Earbook
- 5x10" Picture vinyl (Zoetrope vinyl)
- Earbook
- DVD + Blu-ray
- 3LP (Light Green Vinyl)
- Earbook
- DVD + Blu-ray
- 2CD
- Vinyl
- 3LP in trifold includes 2 lyric sheets:
- Black in trifold
- Sun yellow in trifold (NB mail order and wholesale exclusive)
- Clear + Green and Black Splatter (NB Mail order exclusive)
- Glow in the Dark (Band store exclusive)
- Clear + White marbled in trifold (EMP exclusive)
- White with sun yellow + black in trifold (Netherlands + Belgium exclusive)
- 2 CD/Blu-ray - USA exclusive
- 2 CD/DVD - Mexico and Brazil exclusive
December 6, 2021

Thanks to mbzr48 for the addition
and to projeKct for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy EPICA Ωmega Alive Music

EPICA Ωmega Alive ratings distribution

(5 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(40%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(40%)
Good, but non-essential (0%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (20%)

EPICA Ωmega Alive reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by kev rowland
4 stars Normally, when Epica release a new album, they then tour the world for at least 18 months, but of course there is nothing normal about the music scene anymore. Some bands have been able to get out on the road, but there are a great many issues that need always dealing with, and so far, there have been few bands touring anything like they used to. For example, here in New Zealand the closest we have had to an international act touring in the last two years is Crowded House, and most of them are Kiwi! Currently we are in a position where the largest number of full-vaccinated people allowed in one place is 100, which means rock gigs are pretty much off the table although I do have some folk gigs planned.

So what were the band to do? They decided to undertake a streaming event with no audience which would be the biggest show they had ever done; with everything they could think of included in way which could not be repeated on tour as it was just too big. Sonically, for the first time ever they performed songs like "The Skeleton Key" or the insanely monumental "Kingdom of Heaven Part 3" from 'Ωmega', alongside the band's most popular songs, rare songs, fan favourites and surprises. This has of course been made available in multiple different versions and formats, but I only have the audio and what is strange is that there is no audience, which in turn of course means no interaction. At one point Simone thanks the fans for everything they have done, but it is just weird as of course there is no response. Not having an audience did not mean that the band were going to do anything but put their all into the show and the result is another symphonic metallic monster. The strange thing is that they are so good at what they do that at times it feels much more like another studio recording as opposed to a live show. Playing it straight after 'Ωmega' feel quite unnerving, almost as if this were a bonus disc, but this was released at the end of 2021 whereas the studio was at the beginning.

If one were to look for just one song to see why these band are held in such high regard then just listen to "Unchain Utopia" which has a stunning performance from Simone, backed up with crunching guitars and choir. Superb. I only hope Epica will be able to get back out on the road soon, and they decide to come down here as that will be a show well worth seeing. Overall, this is a great release.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of EPICA "Ωmega Alive"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.