Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


King Crimson

Eclectic Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

King Crimson The 21st Century Guide to King Crimson - Volume One (1969-1974) album cover
4.58 | 55 ratings | 3 reviews | 56% 5 stars

Essential: a masterpiece of
progressive rock music

Write a review

from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 2004

Songs / Tracks Listing

Disc One: In The Studio (1969 - 1971)
1. 21st Century Schizoid
2. I Talk To The Wind
3. Epitaph
4. Moonchild
5. In The Court Of The Crimson King
6. Peace - A Theme
7. Cat Food
8. Groon
9. Cadence And Cascade
10. In The Wake Of Poseidon
11. Ladies Of The Road
12. Sailor's Tale
13. Islands
14. Tuning Up
15. Bolero

Disc Two: Live (1969 - 1972)
1. The Court Of The Crimson King
2. A Man, A City
3. 21st Century Schizoid Man
4. Get Thy Bearings
5. Mars
6. Pictures Of A City
7. The Letters
8. The Sailor's Tale
9. Groon
10. 21st Century Schizoid Man

Disc Three: In The Studio (1972 - 1974)
1. Larks' Tongues In Aspic Part I
2. Book Of Saturdays
3. Easy Money
4. Larks' Tongues In Aspic Part II
5. The Night Watch
6. The Great Deceiver
7. Fracture
8. Starless
9. Red
10. Fallen Angel
11. One More Red Nightmare

Disc Four: Live (1973 - 1974)
1. Asbury Park
2. The Talking Drum
3. Larks' Tongues In Aspic Part II
4. Lament
5. We'll Let You Know
6. Improv: Augsburg
7. Exiles
8. Easy Money
9. Providence
10. Starless And Bible Black
11. 21st Century Schizoid Man
12. Trio

Line-up / Musicians

- Bill Bruford / drums, percussion
- Boz Burrell / bass, vocals
- Mel Collins / saxes, flute
- David Cross / violin, viola & voice
- Judy Dyble / vocals
- Robert Fripp / guitars, mellotron, devices
- Michael Giles / drums, percussion, backing vocals
- Peter Giles / bass
- Gordon Haskell / vocals
- Greg Lake / bass, vocals
- Ian McDonald / woodwinds, reeds, keyboards, mellotron, vocals
- Robin Miller / oboe
- Jamie Muir / percussion, voice
- Peter Sinfield / words
- Keith Tippett / piano
- Ian Wallace / drums
- John Wetton / bass, vocals

Releases information

CD Discipline Global Mobile DMG0403 (2004)

"Moonchild", "Sailor's Tale", "Larks' Tongues In Aspic Part I" and "Starless" are abridged

The vocal parts of "In the Wake of Poseidon" have been cut, to leave only the instrumental parts of the song.

Thanks to frenchie for the addition
and to marty mcfly for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy KING CRIMSON The 21st Century Guide to King Crimson - Volume One (1969-1974) Music

More places to buy KING CRIMSON music online

KING CRIMSON The 21st Century Guide to King Crimson - Volume One (1969-1974) ratings distribution

(55 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(56%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(36%)
Good, but non-essential (4%)
Collectors/fans only (4%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

KING CRIMSON The 21st Century Guide to King Crimson - Volume One (1969-1974) reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by AtomicCrimsonRush
5 stars This box set was irresistible when I was first collecting King Crimson as it featured excellent live versions of their classics without having to buy heaps of separate live CDs. Anyone who owns the first few studio albums would not find this compilation useful apart from the live tracks. But I was pleasantly surprised at how great it is to hear all of these tracks in a different context. The exhaustive booklet is fascinating and laced with pictures and info on the Krims.

The live CDs are wonderful with fascinating versions of 21st Century..., and Lark's Tongue..., plus some gems such as Mars Bringer of War. The quality is patchy at times but this is the band in their raw form with undoubtedly the best lineup in their history. Some tracks are edited for length such as 'Moonchild', tho I am not complaining, however most are here in full versions.

The box set delivers on every level from the incredible musical virtuosity of the band to their chequered history. It features all that we love about King Crimson - complex musical genius and lyrics that transcend the norm, lots of jazz fusion and weird drum patterns, and strange instruments mixed with guitars and drums - the Krims in their early years were unbeatable for prog genius and innovation. Every track on this CD is an essential part of their history. Almost the entire ITCOTCK, Red and Larks Tongue is here and that's worth the price tag if you do not own these astounding important prog legends.

There is little else that needs to be said except this is one of the best box sets you can find. If you are new to the band here is an excellent starting point. Due to the content of the box set I have to label it a masterpiece as it contains all their best work in their best era.

As a wonderful supplement follow up it is worth getting hold of Volume 2 box set. Perhaps they are the only Cd packages necessary for those who want to dip into the world of KC without buying stacks of albums.

Latest members reviews

4 stars Definitive collection for King Crimson's first string of incarnations The 21st Century Guide to King Crimson was issued as a follow-up to 1991's 4-disc compilation Frame by Frame. The Guide consists of two 4-disc "volumes", each containing two discs of studio material, two discs of live material ... (read more)

Report this review (#232301) | Posted by Evan | Tuesday, August 18, 2009 | Review Permanlink

5 stars I actually really enjoyed this compilation. It includes an "overview" of sorts on their years from '69-'74, including the best of their studio works and some very nice live material. Sure there are a few "edited" versions of songs, but when it comes to "moonchild" sometimes that's not a bad th ... (read more)

Report this review (#61889) | Posted by | Monday, December 26, 2005 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of KING CRIMSON "The 21st Century Guide to King Crimson - Volume One (1969-1974)"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.