Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Ian Anderson

Prog Folk

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Ian Anderson Ian Anderson Plays the Orchestral Jethro Tull album cover
3.99 | 67 ratings | 5 reviews | 35% 5 stars

Excellent addition to any
prog rock music collection

Write a review

from partners
Live, released in 2005

Songs / Tracks Listing

CD 1 (52:55)
1. Eurology (3:30)
2. Calliandra Shade (5:42)
3. Skating Away On The Thin Ice Of The New Day (4:03)
4. Up The Pool (3:22)
5. We Five Kings (3:32)
6. Life Is A Long Song (3:34)
7. In The Grip Of Stronger Stuff (3:02)
8. Wond'ring Aloud (2:11)
9. Griminelli's Lament (3:10)
10. Cheap Day Return (1:27)
11. Mother Goose (5:46)
12. Bouree (5:17)
13. Boris Dancing (3:31)
14. Living In The Past (4:48)

CD 2 (49:37)
15. Pavane (4:37)
16. Aqualung (10:24)
17. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen (4:58)
18. My God (8:52)
19. Budapest (14:04)
20. Locomotive Breath (6:42)

Total Time: 102:32

Line-up / Musicians

- Ian Anderson / flute, bamboo flute, acoustic guitar, vocals
- James Duncan / drums, percussion
- David Goodier / bass, glockenspiel
- John O'Hara / keyboards, accordian
- Florian Opahle / acoustic and electric guitar

Various Members of the Frankfurt Neue Philharmonic Orchestra

Releases information

2XCD released by ZYX Music #20723

Thanks to AndYouAndI for the addition
and to Fassbinder for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy IAN ANDERSON Ian Anderson Plays the Orchestral Jethro Tull Music

More places to buy IAN ANDERSON music online

IAN ANDERSON Ian Anderson Plays the Orchestral Jethro Tull ratings distribution

(67 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(35%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(39%)
Good, but non-essential (18%)
Collectors/fans only (3%)
Poor. Only for completionists (5%)

IAN ANDERSON Ian Anderson Plays the Orchestral Jethro Tull reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings
No collaborator/experts review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Latest members reviews

4 stars A great live album and a must have for Jethro Tull fans. Lovers of folk, classical music and a bit of lounge jazz should enjoy the fusions here too. It's generally quite laid back with the orchestral backing, the arrangements are often subtle but add some depth to create nice versions of a few ... (read more)

Report this review (#565296) | Posted by Frankie Flowers | Thursday, November 10, 2011 | Review Permanlink

3 stars This beautiful two disc live output stretches from material as old as Bourée from '69, to something as recent as Ian Anderson's last solo release, Rupin's Dance, only two years earlier. The set list varies from acoustic tracks with vocals, with only mere orchestral touches, to the full band pieces ... (read more)

Report this review (#130412) | Posted by Shakespeare | Friday, July 27, 2007 | Review Permanlink

5 stars (please forgive my very approximate english, i would have express my appreciation in french) Ian Anderson is back at his very best. At my opinion, this is a perfect live-anthology of the gold age of Jethro Tull, with such appropriate arrangements, highly brillant prestations of the omnipresent ... (read more)

Report this review (#56723) | Posted by | Thursday, November 17, 2005 | Review Permanlink

4 stars I am listening to this album as I write, and I can say that this should be on every Tull fan's wish list. Many of Anderson's works lend themselves to orchestral interpretation, and this album is among the best of that genre. Ian Anderson never fails to impress me with his continuing creative en ... (read more)

Report this review (#55933) | Posted by | Friday, November 11, 2005 | Review Permanlink

4 stars A highly recommended album for all who like all latest works by Jethro Tull and Ian Anderson. I would not say the versions of the songs on this double live record are very original and new but they are consistent. Don't be fooled by the name of the record - it's not another "Grand Orcherstra P ... (read more)

Report this review (#38465) | Posted by Yurkspb2 | Monday, July 4, 2005 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of IAN ANDERSON "Ian Anderson Plays the Orchestral Jethro Tull"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.