Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


The Residents


From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

The Residents Demons Dance Alone album cover
4.21 | 35 ratings | 3 reviews | 29% 5 stars

Excellent addition to any
prog rock music collection

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 2002

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. I. Tongue (1:11)
2. Loss: Mr. Wonderful (3:50)
3. Loss: The Weatherman (3:06)
4. Loss: Ghost Child (2:56)
5. Loss: Caring (3:49)
6. Loss: Honey Bear (4:14)
7. Loss: The Car Thief (3:58)
8. Loss: Neediness (4:08)
9. Untitled (0:25)
10. Untitled (0:44)
11. Untitled (0:06)
12. Denial: Thundering Skies (2:54)
13. Denial: Mickey Macaroni (2:44)
14. Denial: Betty's Body (3:31)
15. Denial: My Brother Paul (3:07)
16. Untitled (0:18)
17. Denial: Baja (2:28)
18. Untitled (0:26)
19. Untitled (0:32)
20. Untitled (0:04)
21. Three Metaphors: The Beekeeper's Daughter (2:53)
22. Untitled (0:09)
23. Three Metaphors: Wolverines (2:58)
24. Untitled (0:04)
25. Three Metaphors: Make Me Moo (2:41)
26. Untitled (0:35)
27. Untitled (1:03)
28. II. Demons Dance Alone (3:42)

Total time 58:36

Bonus CD (Limited Edition only)
1. Sleepwalker (2:58)
2. Hidden Hand (Instrumental) (1:46)
3. Black Cats (1:20)
4. Weatherman (2:05)
5. Make Me Moo (2:16)
6. The Car Thief (1:34)
7. My Brother Paul (1:26)
8. Caring (1:13)
9. Honey Bear (1:41)
10. Wolverines (1:35)
11. Mickey Macaroni (2:05)
12. Demons Dance Alone (1:10)
13. Happy Thanksgiving (2:24)
14. Hidden Hand (Vocal) (2:25)
15. Vampire (3:09)
16. Tortured (3:10)

Total time 32:17

Line-up / Musicians

The Residents / arrangers, keyboards, vocals, producers
- Isabelle Barbier / vocals
- Nolan Cook / guitar
- Toby Dammit / guitar
- Carla Fabrizio / vocals
- Molley Harvey / vocals
- Desmond Shea / trumpet

Releases information

CD Euro Ralph CD 027 (2002, Europe )
2CD Ralph America, Euro Ralph RA13, ERSP033 (2002, UK, Europe & US, Limited Edition with bonus CD, CD 2 is a bonus disc of early versions of some of the tracks on the first disc, plus some unreleased material that never made it on to the finished version)
CD East Side Digital ESD 81672 (2002, US)
CD Bomba Records BOM22167 (2002, Japan)
CD East Side Digital ESD 81672 (2002, US)

CD Euro Ralph CD 027 (2005, Russia)

Thanks to Retrovertigo for the addition
and to NotAProghead for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy THE RESIDENTS Demons Dance Alone Music

THE RESIDENTS Demons Dance Alone ratings distribution

(35 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(29%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(51%)
Good, but non-essential (9%)
Collectors/fans only (9%)
Poor. Only for completionists (3%)

THE RESIDENTS Demons Dance Alone reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by historian9
4 stars RESIDENTS later career is as user friendly as it gets, as someone who was just recently became a fan, I think I can now distinguish the weirdness on different albums of this band. Somewhere in the 80's the material became less experimental and went with more focus on concepts and lyrics, as here we have something I would dare say is something like underground pop music, rather then the all over the place sounds of 70's albums.

So is the music good? Yes. There aren't any Not Available avantgarde epics but hearing RESIDENTS make this kind of music shows that they are still re-inventing themselves at every turn. For a change the lyrics are very understandable with less voice effects, and the female vocals are excellent. Long story short, it's vocal song oriented (more refined beautiful underground pop of later albums, "Life Would Be Wonderful", "The Weatherman"...) with instrumental parts which hint at the Commercial Album era ("Thundering Skies" for example but present in most of album).

Review by TCat
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator / Retired Admin
5 stars This is actually a mostly serious concept album...yes serious. The Residents most of the time are always releasing albums that are lampooning and satirical of all types of music. But this time, the topic is dealing with emotions surrounding the attacks of 9/11. This is probably one of the more accessible albums by The Residents, yet it is handled very well. You still get a lot of the minimalism that you are used to, but the production on this one is very good which helps and some of the songs are very well orchestrated. You still get that level of weirdness that you expect from The Residents, so no they are not compromising much to get the message across.

The album is divided into 3 parts which are collectively preceded and followed by an introductory song and another summary song. Each part is separated by a few very short instrumentals/sound effects. Tracks 2 - 8 are Part I and entitled "Loss". Part two is comprised of tracks 12 - 17 and called "Denial". Part 3 is entitled "The Three Metaphores" which are tracks 21, 23 and 25 and are separated by 3 more very short tracks. The music is simple yet complex with the alternating strange and normal vocals and vocals are also lead by female vocalists in several tracks, which help with the flow of the album, making it not get stagnant or monotonous.

With all the albums in The Residents discography, this one is one of their best. You still get a lot of The Residents signature sound, but this time it is done with more reverence to deal with the subject matter. This album is still a great representation of the uniqueness of the avant garde prog sound, in that it is not typical music, it is still experimental and challenging, but it is also accessible. You could almost get away with playing it for almost anyone, but you might still get some weird looks from time to time. Anyway, as far as avant-prog, I consider this a masterpiece of mostly minimalistic and inventive music even though it is one of The Residents most thought out and accessible recordings. 5 stars.

Latest members reviews

4 stars While clearly not representive of their body of work, DEMONS DANCE ALONE is nonetheless a fantastic addition to their catalog and an excellent entry to The Residents sound. Loosely themed on their emotions after Sep. 11th, the album tackles loss, denial and finally acceptance. The sound is way mo ... (read more)

Report this review (#60416) | Posted by DantesRing | Thursday, December 15, 2005 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of THE RESIDENTS "Demons Dance Alone"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.