Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Jean-Michel Jarre

Prog Related

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Jean-Michel Jarre Metamorphoses album cover
2.76 | 59 ratings | 2 reviews | 5% 5 stars

Good, but non-essential

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 2000

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Je Me Souviens (4:25)
2. C'est La Vie (7:11)
3. Rendez-Vous À Paris (4:19)
4. Hey Gagarin (6:20)
5. Millions of Stars (5:41)
6. Tout Est Bleu (6:01)
7. Love Love Love (4:26)
8. Bells (3:49)
9. Miss Moon (6:08)
10. Give Me a Sign (3:49)
11. Gloria, Lonely Boy (5:31)
12. Silhouette (2:29)

Total Time: 60:09

Line-up / Musicians

- Jean-Michel Jarre / vocals & processed vocals, keyboards, synths, co-producer

- Francis Rimbert / keyboards
- Raphael Garraud / keyboards
- Christopher Papendieck / bass keyboards
- Laurie Anderson / vocals (1)
- Natacha Atlas / vocals (2)
- Lisa Jacobs / vocals (5)
- Veronique Bossa / vocals (5,10)
- Olivier Constantin / vocals (6)
- Franck Noel / vocals (6)
- Olivier Houlez / vocals (6)
- Dierdre Dubois / vocals (9)
- Özlem Çetin / vocals (12)
- Salem Bnoumi / oriental violin (2)
- Sharon Corr / violin (3)
- Joachim Garraud / drum programming, sound design, keyboards, co-producer
- Rabah Khalfa / darbouka, bendir
- Abdullah Chhady / kanoun
- Yvan Cassard / string arranger (5,11)
- Cullard Xiangquian / voice (6)
- Lisa Jacobs / voice (6)
- Ute Eckerfeld / voice (6)
- Fabrice Revault / foreign vocals recordings (6)
- Jean Baptiste Saudray / choir conductor (6)

Releases information

Artwork: François Rousseau (photo)

CD Disques Dreyfus - FDM 36164-2 (2000, France)

Thanks to AndYouAndI for the addition
and to Quinino for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy JEAN-MICHEL JARRE Metamorphoses Music

JEAN-MICHEL JARRE Metamorphoses ratings distribution

(59 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of rock music(5%)
Excellent addition to any rock music collection(17%)
Good, but non-essential (42%)
Collectors/fans only (25%)
Poor. Only for completionists (10%)

JEAN-MICHEL JARRE Metamorphoses reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by ZowieZiggy
2 stars Laurie Anderson is back for these "Métamorphoses". She had already collaborated on the very average (to say the least) "Zoolook" in '84.

The music featured on this album ranges from techno for a big chunk ("Je Me Souviens", "Tout Est Bleu", "Bells") to spacey and melodic ("Millions Of Stars" and to a certain extent "Gloria?"). I would have preferred more of the latter type. Sculptural vocals (or wording).

There are also some combos made of Oriental sounds and dance music ("C' Est La Vie", "RV A Paris") which are rather original and not too bad to listen to. Still, it isn't the JMJ I prefer. Somewhat too repetitive to my taste.

There is another homage to some space man here as well (after "The Last Rendezvous"), this time the Russian "Gagarin" (the first human being to travel into space). In some way, JMJ follows the same path as TD in the evolution of his music. Of course, his music has always had a more commercial flavour and it is again highlighted on this work.

I can't really say that this album is good. Some good parts, like the fine closing "Silhouette" which features some excellent vocalizing. But this work as a whole is closer to average and that's the reason I only grant it with two stars.

Latest members reviews

4 stars Oh, the 12 Dreams of the Sun! Many and legend are the tales told about Jarre's millennial concert in Egypt. News items at the time suggested he wanted to literally cap the show at midnight by lowering a gold capstone on the Great Pyramid of Cheops, to restore it to its ancient glory, in a bl ... (read more)

Report this review (#55876) | Posted by | Thursday, November 10, 2005 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of JEAN-MICHEL JARRE "Metamorphoses"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.