Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Adrian Belew

Eclectic Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Adrian Belew Op Zop Too Wah album cover
3.98 | 46 ratings | 6 reviews | 13% 5 stars

Excellent addition to any
prog rock music collection

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 1996

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Of Bow and Drum (4:34)
2. Word Play Drum Beat (1:31)
3. Six String (3:30)
4. Conversation Piece (1:10)
5. All Her Love Is Mine (4:28)
6. I Remember How to Forget (3:53)
7. What Do You Know?, Pt. 1 (1:01)
8. Op Zop Too Wah (3:42)
9. A Plate of Words (0:50)
10. Time Waits (3:09)
11. What Do You Know?, Pt. 2 (1:11)
12. Modern Man Hurricane Blues (3:42)
13. In My Backyard (0:56)
14. A Plate of Guitar (0:47)
15. Live in a Tree (1:05)
16. Something to Do (2:40)
17. Beautiful (2:49)
18. High Wire Guitar (3:43)
19. Sky Blue Red Bird Green House (3:03)
20. The Ruin After the Rain (3:51)
21. On (4:20)

Total Time 55:55

Line-up / Musicians

- Adrian Belew / vocals, guitars, bass, synths, programming, samples, producer

- Iris Belew / vocals (2)
- Martha Belew / vocals (2)
- Stan Hertzman / vocals (2)
- Ken Latchney / vocals (2)
- Sherry Webb / vocals (2)

Releases information

Artwork: Adrian Belew with Anna Valencia (art direction)

CD Adrian Belew Presents ‎- PSR 9503 (1996, US)

Thanks to AndYouAndI for the addition
and to Quinino for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy ADRIAN BELEW Op Zop Too Wah Music

ADRIAN BELEW Op Zop Too Wah ratings distribution

(46 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(13%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(52%)
Good, but non-essential (33%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (2%)

ADRIAN BELEW Op Zop Too Wah reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Eetu Pellonpaa
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator
4 stars Ah, this is my favorite ADRIAN BELEW solo recording so far! He did this at home, and the result is a chaotic rapid fire of ideas bursting mercilessly towards the listener. Some of them grow as produced, ca. four minute songs, and the rest are presented as one minute rough sketches. There's a few beautiful pieces typical to Adrian included here, but I guess this CD is mostly for the fans of the experimental Adrian.

I haven't paid much attention to the lyrics, but I noticed these words from the first song: "The golden days of bow and drum", and after that "...the sound of lark". Does the "bow" stand for Cross, "drum" for Muir (or Bill), and "lark" for Larks' Tongues in Aspic? Well, perhaps not.

Review by Cygnus X-2
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator
4 stars Adrian Belew's stab at the "avant-garde" album in the vein of Mike Keneally. Filled with varying pieces and little odd numbers in between, Op Zop Too Wah is a captivating experience that takes the listener on a journey through the more quirky and silly side of Adrian Belew. Throughout the 21 pieces, you feel as if you're going through a kaleidoscope of varying moods, tempos, structures, and feelings, but what I get out of this album to most is the quirky, experimental edge that was missing in Belew's works for so long (I don't think he's been this quirky or experimental since Lone Rhino, and it's more experimental than The Guitar As Orchestra).

Songs that really show what this album is about is the opener, Of Bow and Drum, which makes many lyrical nods to the Larks Tongue in Aspic era of King Crimson. Word Play Drum Beat feels like something off of a Mike Keneally album or one of the haiku pieces from The Mistakes' album, with it's odd words juxtaposed with intense music backing it. In the process of this album, you also can hear some of the influences of Belew, from Zappa to the Beatles, even some King Crimson moments come up now and again. I think that's what makes this album so great, is that he's taking his influences and creating an experience that shows so many sides of his character.

Overall, Op Zop Too Wah would be a great precursor to his Side trilogy. Shades of what those albums would be show up in this album here and there, making this album act more or less as a bridge between the older, pop oriented Adrian Belew and the newer, more cutting edge and experimental Adrian Belew. I highly recommend this album to those who like albums by Mike Keneally or The Mistakes, but also to people who want a great overall experience and enjoy their music more on the experimental side. Highly recommended.

Latest members reviews

5 stars Eclectic, poly-stylistic, playful, energetic, fast moving - moves from one idea very quickly to the other - almost a high speed collage album - the perfect experimental rock album for a sound bite culture. Whereas previous Belew solo albums were EITHER hard core experimental ('Desire Caught ... (read more)

Report this review (#218663) | Posted by Neil C | Thursday, May 28, 2009 | Review Permanlink

5 stars This album shows another side of Adrian Belew's talent as an artist. It is more popular in style, yet this work is a plus not a minus to a progressive rock musician's credit. The real test of a performer who has made his mark in one area of music is to reach out to other types of music with equal ... (read more)

Report this review (#142572) | Posted by convocation | Sunday, October 7, 2007 | Review Permanlink

3 stars I have to say that I really enjoy and respect Adrian Belew solo work. I was captivated by albums like Lone Rhino, Twang Bar King, Desire Caught By The Tail, Salad Days and of course his Sides trilogy. He is one of the most versatile musicians of these years, very eclectic and experimental and withou ... (read more)

Report this review (#135355) | Posted by progadicto | Wednesday, August 29, 2007 | Review Permanlink

4 stars Wonderful album from one of the most versatile musicians I'd ever heard. Awesome mixing of beatle-zappa-crimsonesque (how do you have all that together harmonically? well, ask Adrian!) sounds, very well executed. The clear voice of Belew transport listener to different states of mind. Highligh ... (read more)

Report this review (#43604) | Posted by Gabito | Saturday, August 20, 2005 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of ADRIAN BELEW "Op Zop Too Wah"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.