Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Steve Vai

Prog Related

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Steve Vai The 7th Song: Enchanting Guitar Melodies - Archives Vol. 1 album cover
3.48 | 23 ratings | 2 reviews | 14% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 2000

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. For The Love Of God (6:02)
2. Touching Tongues (5:32)
3. Windows To The Soul (6:25)
4. Burnin' Down The Mountain (6:24)
5. Tender Surrender (5:09)
6. Hand On Heart (5:26)
7. Melissa's Garden (7:54)
8. Call It Sleep (5:09)
9. Christmas Time Is Here 04:22)
10. The Wall Of Light (2:41)
11. Boston Rain Melody (4:30)

Line-up / Musicians

- Steve Vai / Guitars, Keyboards, Other Stuff, Discrete Vocals, Acoustic Guitar
- Bryan Beller / Bass Guitar
- Stuart Hamm / Bass Guitar
- Scott Collard / Rhodes
- Gregg Bissonette / Drums
- Deen Castronovo / Drums
- Tris Imboden / Drums
- Mike Mangini / Drums
- Pete Zeldman / Percussion
- Philip Bynoe / Bass
- Devin Townsend / Lead Vocals
- Mike Keneally / Keys, Keyboard
- T.M. Stevens / Bass
- Terry Bozzio / Drums, Percussion

Releases information

Epic 501093 2 (EU)

Thanks to ProgLucky for the addition
and to snobb for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy STEVE VAI The 7th Song: Enchanting Guitar Melodies - Archives Vol. 1 Music

STEVE VAI The 7th Song: Enchanting Guitar Melodies - Archives Vol. 1 ratings distribution

(23 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of rock music(14%)
Excellent addition to any rock music collection(32%)
Good, but non-essential (36%)
Collectors/fans only (14%)
Poor. Only for completionists (5%)

STEVE VAI The 7th Song: Enchanting Guitar Melodies - Archives Vol. 1 reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by imoeng
4 stars The Seventh Song

This is Steve Vai's sixth studio album and was released in 2000. This album was my first Steve Vai album, I bought it around five years ago, back in middle school. Well I would give five stars for the songs but three stars for a progressive music CD, so, four stars.

This album is basically a compilation album with several new songs. The songs collected or included are the seventh track on each album since the beginning of his career. In addition, I don't know if this is in purpose or what, accidentally, those tracks at the seventh track are the most beautiful songs in each album, the most ballads if you would like to say that. Just for example, For The Love Of God and Tender Surrender.

As for the musical composition and song writing, its no doubt that Steve Vai has created many of the most incredible instrumental songs. The songs have deep feeling with amazing notes selection and played with extravagant technical skills.

- For The Love Of God, taken from the album Passion And Warfare, and is still become my favorite Steve Vai' song. The feeling of the song is really awesome, moreover, the techniques used were also amazing. - Touching Tongues, from Sex and Religion, which most people consider that this is Steve Vai's best album. - Windows To The Soul, from The Ultra Zone - Burnin' Down The Mountain taken from his very first album, Flex-Able, but this was the bonus track, so it was not on the seventh track. However, it was on the seventh track on Flex-Able leftovers - Tender Surrender taken from Alien Love Secrets - Hand On Heart from Fire Garden - Melissa's Garden, this is really interesting since this is a new song, but, this song is the seventh track. - Call It Sleep from Flex-Able, seventh track - Christmas Time Is Here was taken from the 1996 Christmas compilation, Merry Axemas - The Wall Of Light and Boston Rain Melody were new songs. Notice that after Boston Rain Melody, there is a hidden song, Warm Regards, taken from his 1996 album, Fire Garden.

Well all of the songs are not metal style songs, those are ballads and nice calm song. However, ballad songs don't always mean lack of technical skills, this is where Steve Vai shows us his virtuosity, that he could create such amazing songs with great skills. Four stars for this album.

Keep On Proggin' In The Free World!!

Review by snobb
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator
3 stars The collection of mid tempo melodic guitar rock songs. Steve Vai has his own guitar playing style, and as often, there he uses all other musicians just as supportint team for his guitar sound demonstration.

Differently from many other guitar heroes, he doesn't play too fast or too loud. His music is concentrated more on melodic side ( even if all melodies are too similar) and his slow crying guitar soloing. Few different songs ( using some Spanish acoustic guitar or orchestrated sound) don't change the situation radically.

In fact, good album for electric rock guitar (not metal) music lovers. With just a few touches of progressive sound, this work should attract guitar virtuoso albums fans.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of STEVE VAI "The 7th Song: Enchanting Guitar Melodies - Archives Vol. 1"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.