Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Syd Barrett

Prog Related

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Syd Barrett Syd Barrett album cover
2.95 | 11 ratings | 2 reviews | 36% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 1974

Songs / Tracks Listing

Disc 1: The Madcap Laughs
1. Terrapin (5:04)
2. No Good Trying (3:26)
3. Love You (2:30)
4. No Man's Land (3:03)
5. Dark Globe (2:02)
6. Here I Go (3:11)
7. Octopus (3:47)
8. Golden Hair (1:59)
9. Long Gone (2:50)
10. She Took A Long Cold Look (1:55)
11. Feel (2:17)
12. If It's In You (2:26)
13. Late Night (3:10)

Disc 2: Barrett
14. Baby Lemonade (4:07)
15. Love Song (3:02)
16. Dominoes (4:02)
17. It Is Obvious (2:55)
18. Rats (2:57)
19. Maisie (2:46)
20. Gigolo Aunt (5:42)
21. Waving My Arms In The Air (2:09)
22. I Never Lied To You (1:46)
23. Wined And Dined (2:54)
24. Wolfpack (3:41)
25. Effervescing Elephant (1:52)

Total Time: 75:33

Line-up / Musicians

On The Madcap Laughs:
- Syd Barrett / guitar, vocals
- David Gilmour / bass, guitar
- Roger Waters / bass
- Mike Ratledge / keyboards
- Hugh Hopper / bass
- Robert Wyatt / drums
- Vic Seywell / horn
- Willie Wilson / drums

On Barrett:
- Syd Barrett / guitar and vocals
- Richard Wright / organ, harmonium, piano, keyboards
- David Gilmour / organ, guitars, bass
- Jerry Shirley / percussion, drums
- John Wilson / drums
- Vic Saywell / tuba
- Willie Wilson / percussion

Releases information

Syd official Studio LPs repackaged together by Harvest ('The Madcap Laughs' and 'Barrett')
[NB: the first time that material was made available in the United States]

Thanks to duncanparsons for the addition
and to Joolz for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy SYD BARRETT Syd Barrett Music

More places to buy SYD BARRETT music online

SYD BARRETT Syd Barrett ratings distribution

(11 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of rock music(36%)
Excellent addition to any rock music collection(0%)
Good, but non-essential (55%)
Collectors/fans only (9%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

SYD BARRETT Syd Barrett reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Cluster One
3 stars This is a little known 2-album collector's edition of Syd's first two records. (Hell even I didn't know about it!) There aren't any additional songs other than those from his first two albums on it, but the gatefold display, and artwork make this a definite collector's album. As far as I know (from my limited internet research on it) this limited edition was never released in digital format (CD) or even in cassette, so if you come across this in a second-hand store, buy it right away, it has value for collectors.

All in all it is probably just as easy to buy "The Madcap Laughs" and "Barrett" individually. But a cool album to own nevertheless! 3/5 stars

Latest members reviews

2 stars This is a sad couple of discs really. Syd had so much potential, to which 'Piper..' attests, however toooo much acid had taken it's toll before his solo work was recorded. I remember when I bought this at 15/16yrs old, and thought it really funny, laughing out loud at some of the songs and th ... (read more)

Report this review (#44859) | Posted by duncanparsons | Tuesday, August 30, 2005 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of SYD BARRETT "Syd Barrett"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.