Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


The Arthur Brown Band


From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

The Arthur Brown Band Dance With Arthur Brown album cover
2.41 | 22 ratings | 1 reviews | 0% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 1974

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. We Gotta Get Out Of This Place (3:28)
2. Helen With The Sun (7:32)
3. Take A Chance (5:19)
4. Crazy (2:20)
5. Hearts And Winds (3:22)
6. Dance (5:40)
7. Out Of Time (3:40)
8. Quietly With Tact (3:22)
9. Soul Garden (4:43)
10. The Lord Will Find A Way (4:16)
11. Is There Nothing Beyond God ? (2:34)

Total time 46:16

Line-up / Musicians

- Arthur Brown / vocals

- Andy Dalby / guitars, arrangements
- Bertram "Ranchie" McLean / guitar (9)
- Keith Tippett / piano (2,5)
- Ken Elliott / Moog & clavinet (3), electric piano (6)
- Peter Solley / keyboards (1,7,10), Moog (2,11)
- Errol Nelson / piano & organ (9)
- George Khan / sax (3,4,9)
- Stuart Gordon / violin (9)
- Lee Robinson / bass
- Steve Yorke / bass (1,6,7)
- Lloyd Parks / bass (9)
- James Morgan / bass (11)
- Charley Charles / drums
- Charley Dunbar / drums (9)
- Draken Theaker / percussions, tabla (3), congas (3,6), plank drums (6)
- Cynthia Richards / percussion (9)
- Pat Lewis / congas (9)
- Malcolm Flynn / congas (11)
- Enrico Smith / castanets (5)
- Q Modo / bells (6)
- Leslie Adey / gamelan (2)
- Lindsay Kidd / gamelan (2)
- Fuzzy / backing vocals
- Stevie / backing vocals
- Mutt / backing vocals
- Philip Bradbury / backing vocals (11)
- Thunderthighs trio / backing vocals (1,7)
- The Gospel Ayres / chorus vocals (10)
- Don Gould / string arrangements (1,7)

Releases information

Artwork: John Pasche with Serge Krouglikoff (photo)

LP Gull ‎- GULP 1008 (1974, UK)

CD Line Records ‎- LICD 9.00002 O (1989, Germany)

Thanks to WiguJimbo for the addition
and to Quinino for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy THE ARTHUR BROWN BAND Dance With Arthur Brown Music

More places to buy THE ARTHUR BROWN BAND music online

THE ARTHUR BROWN BAND Dance With Arthur Brown ratings distribution

(22 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of rock music(0%)
Excellent addition to any rock music collection(18%)
Good, but non-essential (41%)
Collectors/fans only (41%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

THE ARTHUR BROWN BAND Dance With Arthur Brown reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Sean Trane
2 stars After Arthur broke his Kingdom Come, this first real solo album (The Crazy World of AB with the hit Fire can be considered as a group effort since Vincent Crane was the main writer) came in 75 with a strange but typically goofy artwork cover for his personage! Although there are some usual Brown madness moments, this album is not really out to please the progressive music lover, but rather the lovers in general. The two covers (one from the animals and the other from the Stones) are interesting at best, but apart from two tracks written by his old kingdom Come colleague Andy Dalby, the rest of them are self-penned but hardly of the calibre of his previous work! Only the title track (slightly reggae-ish at that) seems to come out of the lot and is not particularly the most danceable tune on the album. The only other interest for progheads is the cast of guest (Tippett, Khan - from his work with Pete Brown, Yorke) but nothing really interesting comes out of that album from this point of view either. Definitely more of directionless pop album with soul and reggae tracks. He was a little lost by then!

This album might be the weakest from one of the more interesting singer of the early 70's, problem is that we are now in the mid-70's and things are not the same. Best avoided unless you are a real fan!

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of THE ARTHUR BROWN BAND "Dance With Arthur Brown"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.