Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Os Mutantes - Ao Vivo CD (album) cover


Os Mutantes


Psychedelic/Space Rock

3.72 | 37 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

João Lemmos!
4 stars Mutantes injustiçados!

It seems that a have a special burden in this world: write about underrated albums... Haha But, seriously, I really don't think that Mutantes ao Vivo have got the respect that it deserves, being despised by both Mutantes and general Prog fans. Well, I would definitely say that a lot of this contempt is due to its poor n' cheesy production, made by the notorious producer Peninha, who stabbed and cut and mended this glorious concert recording. It's funny (or tragic?) that some songs have a beginning and middle but... WHERE IS THE END? Well, only who was in the concert can tell us how great the long improvisations and 'missing pieces' were. Despite of all this tragedy, Peninha still left us some moments of joy. Mutantes ao Vivo is a gift that was given to all the listeners that want to get high even without any illegal substance, 'cause the music itself makes us fly to space. The band here sound much more original than in the acclaimed Tudo Foi Feito Pelo Sol (which is great too), being difficult to compare its style to any band overseas. The guitar solos of the amazing Sérgio Dias (did you repair how many 'Sérgios' Brazil had in the seventies?) are sooo fantastic, the mystic moods are present and pleasant, the synth works out fantastically, astonishing drums, flying bass... The only thing here that isn't so great is the vocal work, which gets peachy sometimes. The vocal harmonies are not the highlight either, because of the same reason. Well, perfection isn't always achieved, unfortunately... But whatever, this is a great album anyway.

1. Anjos Do Sul - How could this album start in a better way? Impossible. Anjos do Sul is simply one of the most beautiful melodies that the band has ever shown up. One strange fact is that this track wasn't meant to be a part of the concert, since it was just a sound check!! Marvelous, really; astonishing sensibility and good vocals.

2. Bem-vindos / Mistérios - The concert has begun now, as Bem-vindos says 'welcome' to the audience. That trouble appears here: cheesy vocals spoil the song, but we can handle that. The second part of the song, Mistérios, is much better, bringing good melodies and instrumentation. The vocal harmonies are not 100% again, but it's no doubt a good song.

3. Trem / Dança Dos Ventos - Trem is a fun track, despite of the vocal harmonies again, that remembers a train running in its trails. Oh, how I love to be in this train, 'cause the travel lead us to the amazing second part of the track, Dança dos Ventos, a completely mystic piece that make me imagine a psychogenic valley at night, with dancing spirits of the woods and space. Pure magic.

4. Sagitarius - The magic is even greater now, with this musical delight. It's got the mystic mood of Dança dos Ventos, but now the dancing spirits really travel among the stars and visit different worlds. Yeah, I'm getting very subjective here, but this music is very subjective. Well, all that I've said is referring to the song intro. The other part is good too, with an astrological feeling. I don't care for astrology at all, but this song brings us the sensation of being in a charmed planetary.

5. Esquizofrenia - Another very good one, with crazy and funny lyrics. It's so Progressive and grandiose, with a mind-blowing instrumentation. Sergio's guitar is great again.

6. Rio De Janeiro - Another great travel trough space. This track unfortunately has been cut by Peninha (shame on you!!!), but what we can still get is great. Crazy Rio.

7. Loucura Pouca É Bobagem - The title of this song is a portrait of Mutantes (who understand Portuguese gonna agree with me). The crazy lyrics are sung in Spanish, and the whole piece has got that Space Rock touch again. Man, I wanted to listen to it inside a rocket!!

8. Hey Tu - This song is kinda groovy, with a joke related to Led Zep's Rock n' Roll ('os que sobem na escada, sobem na escada mole mole mole mole', sung like 'lonely lonely lonely lonely'). This song is cut before it's end too.

9. Rock'n'Roll City - The name says everything. Rock n' Roll City is a Hard Rock tune that ends with a fantastic amazing absurd guitar solo. Sérgio is really a guitar master and he should me more recognized. Explosive!

10. Tudo Explodindo - Another song with a rocker mood, this one composed by the drummer Ruy Motta and the bass player Paul de Castro.

11. Grand Finale - Well, the travel is almost ending, and this is one of those famous stormy 'grand finales'!

12. Anjos Do Sul - After so much noise, we get a bath of crystalline water with this kind of Anjos do Sul part 2 (at least in the album it works like a 'part 2'). The sweet and brilliant melody is back, and you're able to breathe the clean air of this lost paradise.

João Lemmos! | 4/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Share this OS MUTANTES review

Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.