Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Supertramp - Even In The Quietest Moments ... CD (album) cover




Crossover Prog

3.98 | 625 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Prog Reviewer
4 stars This is a good representation of Supertramp's blend of proggy art rock, pop rock, and piano compositions. It is not their masterpiece (that belongs to COTC), but it is a very solid offering from the group that is well worth your money.

1. Give a Little Bit- I'm sure you've heard this one, especially as it's been covered by other artists an infinite amount of times. I much prefer this original version; it's a decent acoustic song with catchy hooks and a good structure. This is one of Supertramp's best upbeat poppier songs. 8/10

2. Lover Boy- This is a Davies jazzy piano composition which I could imagine is really fun to play. This is another classic Supertramp composition that is extremely enjoyable and always interesting, despite being centered mainly on the piano. It flows very well and it's hard to find too many faults with this. The best part is the best of the album has yet to come! 8/10

3. Even in the Quietest Moments- Starting with a serene sound of birds chirping, this song progresses with a gentle acoustic part, steadily building further and further to then unfold into being another very good song. This is definitely one of my favorites on here and it is quite proggy. 9/10

4. Downstream- A very touching piano ballad that is one of the first Supertramp songs I had ever heard as a child. I have a lot of memories tied to this song so it's difficult to be objective. This is extremely well-written and continues the chain of fabulously crafted songs that go way beyond an average rock song. 9/10

5. Babaji- This track also strikes me as being more progressive in structure like the title track. This has some jazzy influence in the piano once again and it works very well. The feel is a bit dark though, and that makes sense coupled with the lyrics. Once again, Supertramp manages to compose a very good song with unique qualities. 8/10

6. From Now On- Opening with a more upbeat piano progression, this appears to be in immediate contrast from its more reclusive predecessor. I simply love the piano work again on this one; it is genius. The ending is seemingly blissful, but the lyrics allude to something similar to Asylum off of Crime of the Century, elucidating complete irrational seclusion. The saxophone and the choir adding to the building climax of this song is SO effective. 9/10

7. Fool's Overture- This is the most perfect track on this album and shows why Supertramp was a progressive band. At one time, this was actually one of my favorite songs of all time. It is truly a progressive masterpiece, combining artistic genius structure, wonderful instrumental playing, and very intriguing themes. From the haunting intro all the way to the samples of an impowering quote from Churchill to the windy climax towards the end of the song, this is absolute magic. Flawless. 10+/10

Because of the role this album played in my developing love for music, I feel a bit odd not giving this full masterpiece status because it is so close and holds so many memories for me.

A magical album from Supertramp that showcases all of their aspects effectively and easily their second best offering. easily an excellent addition to any prog collection.

MovingPictures07 | 4/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Share this SUPERTRAMP review

Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.