Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Roger Waters - Roger Waters & Ron Geesin: Music From The Body (OST) CD (album) cover


Roger Waters


Crossover Prog

2.84 | 120 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Cluster One
Prog Reviewer
2 stars Great Album Cover!

"Music From the Body" is more of a documentary soundtrack, than a proper musical soundtrack as such. In fact there seem to be more sound effects (including burps, farts, inhalation/exhalations and knee slapping) than music at times! There are a few decent musical pieces on the album worth noting (primarily those written by Waters), but in general after the novelty of the humourous sounds have worn off, you will not want to listen to this album often.

The majority of the pieces are written by Geesin (about 75% of them) and are eclectic to say the least. Stringed instruments feature prominently, and some funk and even soul influences can be heard on the odd tune. Waters often worked on soundtracks but they were frequently of a symphonic nature, rather than documentaries - More, Zabriskie Point, Obscured By Clouds and even Dark Side/Wizard of Oz ;-)

In general, the following points about "Music From The Body" are important/noteworthy in a FLOYD context:

- The (very) eccentric Ron Geesin and Roger Waters team up for the first time here. The album was actually recorded in 1968, but didn't see the light of day until 1970. Their next (and only other) collaboration would be the FLOYD's Prog Rock masterpiece "Atom Heart Mother" (Geesin co-wrote the AHM suite, and conducted the orchestral parts).

- How can you not appreciate song titles like: 'Lick Your Partners' and 'More Than Seven Dwarfs in Penis-Land'???

- Waters writes 'Breathe' here, a precursor/early version of the classic that would end up on "Dark Side". It sounds nothing like what it would eventually, but the opening line is still "Breathe in the air..."

- Waters uses multiple female back up singers for the first time on 'Give Birth to a Smile'. Post-Floyd, Waters' trademark solo sound almost always included female back-ups.

- There are a couple tunes with 'Embryo' in their title. A foreshadow of the classic live FLOYD jam 'The Embryo' no doubt.

- Waters' tunes 'Chain of Life', 'Breathe' and 'Give Birth to a Smile' are soft little acoustic pieces along the lines of 'If' or 'Pigs on the Wing', and very worth adding to your collection if you are a WATERS solo fan.

All in all, a very comedic and surreal album, but definitely FOR COLLECTORS/FANS ONLY 2/5 stars

Cluster One | 2/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Share this ROGER WATERS review

Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives