Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Queensr˙che - Tribe CD (album) cover




Progressive Metal

3.06 | 188 ratings

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

4 stars After the two previous albums which were lowpoints in Queensryche's career they returned in 2003 with an album which I would describe as a cross between the Promised Land and Empire albums. Structurally this release resembles Empire with its simplicity, sonically it is fairly similar to Promised Land.

With many "fans" thinking tribe would inevitably be a dissapointment, Queensryche pulled out the stops and created what is in my opinion a brilliant album.

1. Open: kicks off with a riff that resembles the Queensryche of old. Great vocals from Geoff Tate turn this into an excellent opener. (9/10)

2. Losing Myself: A song about Geoff Tate's motorcycle trip around America. More of a modern sound and an excellent chorus. (8.5/10)

3. Desert Dance: Metal track with standout vocals from Geoff Tate during the verses. The only minor letdown is the "keep reaching" chorus which does not live up to Queensryche's high standards. (8.5/10)

4. Falling Behind: An enjoyable melodic rock song reminiscent of the Hear In the Now Frontier era. (8/10)

5. The Great Divide: An excellent chorus and thought provoking lyrics fuel this excellent track (9/10)

6. Rhythm Of Hope: Similar in style to Silent Lucidity, an excellent ballad (9/10)

7. Tribe: The biggest grower and standout track on the album. An excellent Progressive metal track (9.5/10)

8. Blood: Thought provoking lyrics about the Iraq war however the music is not as engaing as some of the other tracks (7.5/10)

9. The Art Of Life: Another huge grower, one of the albums strongest tracks. Much spoken dialogue. (9/10)

10. Doin' Fine: A good uplifting closer which is enjoyable but not up to the levels of Eyes Of A Stranger/Roads To Madness/Anybody Listening? (8.5/10)

Overall (86/100)

Like many of Queensryche's newer albums Tribe takes time to grow on the listener. If you persevere with Tribe and dont expect 80's metal esque sound then Tribe can be greatly appreciated for what it is: an excellent album.

As a side note if you look in the liner notes most of the albums highlights were not co- written by Chris Degarmo.

Jon_Mc | 4/5 |


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Share this QUEENSRYCHE review

Social review comments () BETA

Review related links

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.