Header
Blind Guardian - Tales from the Twilight World CD (album) cover

TALES FROM THE TWILIGHT WORLD

Blind Guardian

Progressive Metal


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
1800iareyay
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars Tales From the Twilight World is teh first inclination that BG was moving into unique territoy. While they are still power metal through ad through, Kursch begins to add elements that would come to set the band apart from their guitar-wanking contemporaries. Hansi begins to layer his vocals, though not nearly as much as on Nightfall or A Night at the Opera (as if the Queen influence wasn't obvious enough). Although the band speeds along in power metal fashion, there is a lot more musicality here than on many of their contemporaries' albums.

"Traveler in Time" opens the album with Gregorian chanting and a dirge-like riff before exploding inot power metal ferocity. It's one of my favorite BG tunes. "Lord of the Rings" tries to condense Tolkien's epic masterpiece inot 3 minutes. Bad move, Hansi. Still, the arrangements are nice and it's one of my favorite tracks off this album."Welcome to Dying" and "Lost in the Twilight Hall" are the other highlights of the album, with the latter being another classic.

Tales is the start of something better for Blind Guardian. From here they would add medieval sounds and much more vocal layering. Metal fans can't go wrong with this, but proggies might want to go straight to Nightfall in Middle Earth.

Grade: C

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to 1800iareyay (BETA) | Report this review (#127870)
Posted Sunday, July 08, 2007 | Review Permalink
Conor Fynes
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars 'Tales From The Twilight World' - Blind Guardian (5/10)

The reason that Blind Guardian can be considered a progressive metal band is from the great complexity of the music found on their two 'masterpiece' albums, 'Nightfall In Middle-Earth' and 'A Night At The Opera.' However, unfortunately all of their music isn't that complex, and while I am admittedly a great fan of power metal (especially European-style)'Tales From The Twilight World' feels a bit too raw for it's own good.

For starters, I will say that Blind Guardian is one of my favourite metal bands, and the two masterpieces are two of my most cherished records in my collection. As a fan of power metal, I have listened to a lot of different power metal bands, and while there are only a few that really stand out; Blind Guardian being one of them. For a band that was just getting into a progressive, complex swing of things, the fact that this album is sort of simple (at least compared to later work) is understandable and forgivable. But being no stranger to power metal, I'm not even sure if this can be considered real power metal. Yes, there are references to fantasy (hell, they even have a song here called 'Lord Of The Rings!') and Blind Guardian is first and foremost, a power metal band but this would better be described as just being 'speed metal.' The European power metal style is usually accompanied by a great style of finesse and elegance; an epic quality as if to evoke thoughts of what it's like to charge into an army of orcs and goblins. However, this is very stripped down, and besides a few moments (the 'LOTR' song, for instance) where a feeling of fantasy and otherworldliness is evoked, it sounds more like a band some leather clad 1980s youth from LA would listen to, as opposed to the traditional 'swords and sorcery' lover archetype that power metal fans are associated with.

As a power metal purist (traditional speed metal has it's merits, but I don't care to listen to it) I find this failure to sound really 'epic' sort of disappointing. But it's Blind Guardian, so if you like this band, I guess this is worth at least checking out regardless.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Conor Fynes (BETA) | Report this review (#207585)
Posted Tuesday, March 17, 2009 | Review Permalink
b_olariu
PROG REVIEWER
3 stars Third album of BG from 1990 is an improvement over the previous two , but not in big cantity, some changes are made, specially at the vocal parts and here and there at instrumental passages. Now the band explore more the speed metal teritory including on some pieces a more elaborate sound and manner of composing, even some acustic parts and mellow vocal parts. Also this album is a tipycal german teutonic metal album, BG has it's own sound and is a influence for many younger bands, specially on this field but also on prog metal. The album entitled Tales from twilight world has some killer guitar riffs and stunning solos ex are opening track Traveller in time and my fav piece from here Welcome to dying, made by the same guitarista as on previous albums. The vocal parts is again based on rough moments but now is more eleborate and Hansi Kürsch is more confident in his singing posibilities. The drumer Thomen The Omen Stauch did a great job, yet not fantastic because the drum chops are concentrate almost only on speedy aproach, but is ok. All the pieces are good, some of them are quite diffrent from the rest like: Altair 4 or Weird dreams, who are more elaborate , but keeping that speed aproach, again killer riffs and solos. So, this third album is another example of how must sound a speed metal album, we can't talk yet about a prog metal album, this status BG offers only from Nightfall in middle arth on. A good album all the way who desearves for sure, at least from my side 3 stars. I prefer the first one more, but this one is close. Forget to mention , Kai Hansen, the mentor and the discoverer of Bling Guardian is invited to do some vocal parts and guitar on the piece Lost in the twilight hall, again good.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to b_olariu (BETA) | Report this review (#209028)
Posted Saturday, March 28, 2009 | Review Permalink
3 stars Three albums into their career and Blind Guardian are still slowly finding their own niche in the Power Metal genre. Although their music still retains the ultra-fast pickings of their Power Metal roots, the band have started to take their songwriting into more progressive directions. The use of acoustic guitars, more intricate vocal harmonies and Tolkien-inspired lyrical themes are all used effectively to help the band stand out from other bands of the genre.

Although some of the songs sound pretty filler, there are also some Blind Guardian classics here. Such as 'Lord of the Rings', 'Welcome to Dying', 'Lost in a Twilight Hall' and my personal favorite, 'Tommyknockers'.

Much like their previous albums, this is far from the perfect record, but any fan of the band will be missing out if they don't own it.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Valarius (BETA) | Report this review (#308203)
Posted Thursday, November 04, 2010 | Review Permalink
UMUR
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
3 stars "Tales from the Twilight World" is the 3rd full-length studio album by German power/speed metal act Blind Guardian. The album was released through No Remorse Records in October 1990. "Tales from the Twilight World" was Recorded in March - May 1990 in Karo Studios with producer Kalle Trapp, who had also produced the band´s first two studio albums.

The music on the album is power/speed metal done the teutonic way, which means that the music is epic and melodic in addition to being fast-played and raw. There´s been an evolution of sound since the more direct speed metal found on the two predecessors and up until then "Tales from the Twilight World" was by far Blind Guardian´s most epic sounding release. Compared to subsequent releases by the band this album is a rather stripped down affair though.

Hansi Kürsch distinct sounding voice and strong vocal delivery have always been some of the greatest assets to Blind Guardian´s sound and that´s also the case here. It´s not his best vocal performance though but my assumption is that much has to do with the dry and lifeless sound production. The band must have felt really comfortable with Kalle Trapp, because I doubt it´s his abilities as a sound producer that made them pick him for the job once again. I know many 80s albums sounded like this (empty and reverb laden), but this is a 1990 recording and I expect better. There are several good quality tracks on the album. The best example is probably the strong opener "Traveler in Time", but most tracks are of a good quality even though few reach excellence.

So while "Tales from the Twilight World" is certainly an improvement over the first two albums by the band, it´s not exactly the sound of a mature band either. Blind Guardian are skilled musicians and they were relatively skilled composers this early on too, but the overall quality of the product is lacking (especially as a consequence of the poor sound production). A 3 - 3.5 star (65%) rating is still deserved though.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to UMUR (BETA) | Report this review (#379178)
Posted Thursday, January 13, 2011 | Review Permalink
4 stars THE BIRTH OF POWER METAL

Yes this is true, it seems that these guys where the ones that gave power metal that edge it needed, whenever the speed element became more melodic and "powerfull".

This album is an interesting one, cause it really showed what Blind Guardian where to become.

As an album...yea its just classic metal at its best really, I wouldn't say it's perfect, their are moments where I'm thinking "meh", but to be honest, as a third album, with a band still trying to signify their sound, its pretty damn good.

The album also has a bit of a concept, where the songs seemed to be based on fantasy and other typed of literature, which was pretty cool.

1. Traveler In Time - Fast & frantic as hell. Great lyrics and a catchy chorus. 10/10

2. Welcome To Dying - Vicious speed. Good build up throughout. 8/10

3. Weird Dreams - Pretty interesting instrumental with some discordant parts. 9/10

4. Lord Of The Rings - The folky song. Great chorus & interesting arrangement. 9/10

5. Goodbye My Friend - Great chorus. Cool gang vocals. 8/10

6. Lost In The Twilight - Very interesting moments. Good chorus. Kai's vocals are amazing. Great instrumental work. 9/10

7. Tommyknockers - Weird but great chorus. The arrangement is also amazing. 10/10

8. Altair 4 - Odd little thing showing alot of progression. 8/10

9. The Last Candle - The first real epic Blind Guardian song with a big big chorus. Great closer. 10/10

CONCLUSION: I think this album plays an important part in the history of metal...or maybe I'm just mental.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to arcane-beautiful (BETA) | Report this review (#382494)
Posted Tuesday, January 18, 2011 | Review Permalink
2 stars Tales from the Twilight World ? 1990 (2/5) 8 ? Best Song: I don't care (redux) What have we got here? Gregorian chants and uplifting harmonies? Gee, that sounds good. Wait no, not the kick drumming and speed riffing again! I need something different! Save me, Jesus. I'll start believing in you again if you teach these fools the art of hook and melody and diversity and innovation and resonance and?Yeah, you're right. I'm sorry for asking. I should've known it was out of your league. You think Buddha'd give me a hand? No? That's okay, I'll go ask Ganesh next week. I hear he's doing imrov theater down by the glimmering lake of Nirvana. Tales from the Twilight World is the best album Blind Guardian has released to date. It's really not good. Hey, truth is it's just your mediocre metal album, but you really didn't need me to tell you that. They are improving however, and It'd take a fairly incompetent asshole to review all these metal albums in a row and not like any of them and say the same things about each one. So here it goes: They, like the brusquely violent cave-dwellers before us, have discovered the hook, albeit in a raw and impure form. They experiment with it, strike it with stones, bite it cautiously, ever prodding with the evolving mammalian brain. Truly it is a majesty to see them succeed (the chorus to 'Traveler in Time'). But ever more so is it disheartening to see them fail (everything else). I can say the guitars are being more 'battalion-heavenly' if that's any inclination of how they're just another band of Swede yokels trying to cash in on being D&D inspired and being 'invigorating'. Too bad they aren't at least stealing cool riffs from other bands. I'd rather hear a good song I've heard before, again, rather than sit through a [&*!#]ty song I've never heard. Does that make a lick of sense?

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Alitare (BETA) | Report this review (#441407)
Posted Sunday, May 01, 2011 | Review Permalink
Warthur
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars Tales From the Twilight World catches Blind Guardian in the midst of their transformation from a power metal-flavoured hybrid of speed and thrash metal to masters of purebred power metal. With lyrical subjects drawn from a range of genre fiction touchstones, the album is the band's most confident of their first three, and whilst the album may be unabashedly dorky at points (such as at the chorus of Tommyknockers), it's almost impossible not to get into the spirit of things, particularly when the band play such a tight and exciting set. Not for all tastes by any means, but power metal fans will find a lot to love here.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Warthur (BETA) | Report this review (#597223)
Posted Tuesday, December 27, 2011 | Review Permalink

BLIND GUARDIAN Tales from the Twilight World ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of BLIND GUARDIAN Tales from the Twilight World


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | GeoIP Services by MaxMind | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — the ultimate jazz music virtual community | MetalMusicArchives.com — the ultimate metal music virtual community


Server processing time: 0.14 seconds