Header
Queensr che - Operation: Livecrime CD (album) cover

OPERATION: LIVECRIME

Queensr che

Progressive Metal


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
Marc Baum
PROG REVIEWER
5 stars I never had the luck to see Queensryche live, so I bought the DVD and the reissued CD version of "Operation: Livecrime" to make this arguably fact be broken. All what I can say about this live record is, that I put it on one stage with the greatest live records ever, like Lizzy's "Live and Dangerous" or Purple's "Made In Japan". The drum playing of Scott Rockenfield bring me down to the ground, it's unbelievable what he does behind the drum kit! It just kicks ass! The pounding bass of Eddie Jackson in the title track remind on the Yes-bass-god Chris Squire in his best days! The twin guitar melodies and riffs of Chris DeGarmo and Michael Wilton are not of this world on this live performance and Geoff Tate? This man is unbelievable! The scream in the end of "My Empty Room" drives crazy and his emotional interpretations of "Eyes Of A Stranger", "Breaking The Silence" or the great reissued bonus tracks "The Lady Whore Black" and the best metal epic of all time "Roads To Madness" make all worries seem like jokes: In my oppinion, he is the best live shouter of all time! I also think that the reissue of "Operation: Livecrime" is better than the studio record "Operation: Livecrime"! It sounds monster! The sound is far more powerful and the live versions are more dramatic and authentic! No wonder: "Operation: Livecrime" shows Queensryche on their highest creative and technical level. Intelligent, progressive/powermetal was and will be never better! Don't belive? Buy it, but make sure that it is the reissued version with the two strong bonus tracks and make your own decision. You won't be disappointed!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Marc Baum (BETA) | Report this review (#23668)
Posted Wednesday, December 24, 2003 | Review Permalink
5 stars One of the few prog metal released that deserve a five stars rating in my opinion. But this album is probably the best live album I have heard(and seen on DvD). It was after the release of the Empire album, that Queensryche decided to promote the band's previous album and well appreciated masterpiece, Operation : Mindcrime with a sequence of live performances of the whole album on stage. In this album, Queensryche prove that actors or special setting are not required to set up a theatrical, dramatical background for the album's scenario. Just a not so used video-wall, and an amazing performance by the band's lead singer Geoff Tate. The songs are reproducted amazingly, as in most Queensryche concerts up to that date, and Tate's vocals are not only reaching up to the album levels, but also moving further, as his voice combined with his movement on stage and the general aspect of acting, promotes the results to the greatest. Starting of with a sample of I Remember Now, the band enter to the second track Anarchy X, and then Tate comes on stage for Revolution Calling. Notice the change of lyrics to be fitting to present circumstances, as critisism goes on. Operation Mindcrime, Speak and Spreading the Disease in a frenzy atmosphere with no mistakes at all, and then a rather theatrical version of the Mission with Tate singing on his knees. The highlight of the concert is definitely Suite Sister Mary, with Pamela Moore on stage. This one gave me the thrills, really, I almost cried with seeing this one. Then, the needle lies and the frenzy goes on. The album live reproduction proceeds until the end with breathtaking carry outs of I don't believe in love and Eyes of a Stranger. Then the album ends, leaves you there, wanting for more, and really not aware of what has happened. In the DvD version of the album, there are some information that explain part of Operation: Mindcrime's story, for those willing to find out more about the album.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to V0lcaN0 (BETA) | Report this review (#23669)
Posted Thursday, January 13, 2005 | Review Permalink
3 stars First Queensryche album I bought, and this sure gave me the right impression of the band! This live is an excellent "remake" of the studio album, well interpreted. I was mostly impressed by the vocals, brilliant... Sound is fair, drums are well balanced and powerful, the exact live mesure needed here. But a four stars would be rather too much, knowing that not much has been added to the original tracks... I know that it's something that's hard to do with a prog piece (although QR are NOT prog in my opinion) , but it's been done before, and sometimes brilliantly. Plus, it's a live album, and it doesn't really "master the art of live". Well, 3 stars is still great!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to mono (BETA) | Report this review (#23670)
Posted Monday, May 09, 2005 | Review Permalink
5 stars What happens when you take one of the best concept albums ever recorded and put it on stage from start to finish? Well, you get one hell of a show, and Queenr che's stab at capturing the moment is as good as any other. Operation: LiveCrime captures the live rendition of Operation: MindCrime from three dates on the Building Empires tour.

The album was played in its entirety, supported by video behind the band and the excellent pipes of Pamela Moore, reprising her role as Sister Mary. What makes this live abum stand out more than most others is its near flawless execution. Each song is played almost exactly as it is on the original album. Really, that's what makes this live album a masterpiece in its own right. It is true that live albums can't really capture the atmosphere of being there in person, but this one comes closer than just about any other.

Add to that the video, capturing the same three nights, and you've got something that shows you a good portion of what MindCrime live was about. Either the CD/tape or the video/DVD alone would make an excellent additon to most anyone's music collection; together... definately reason to make room in your collection.

Even if you're not a fan of Queensr che, this album deserves at least a listen or two. This is what a live album really should be.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Revelation 23 (BETA) | Report this review (#35218)
Posted Saturday, June 04, 2005 | Review Permalink
5 stars Deep Purple - Made In Japan, Pink Floyd - Live At Pompeii, Yes - Symphonic Live... Could Operation : Livecrime stand among these monumental live performances? The answer comes easily: YES...

Geoff Tate takes the lead from all other performers for one and only reason: when he's on stage, he literaly acts.. he is his characters... not to mention the brilliance of his voice...

totally professional stage show, great light show, passionate performance by all band and a 'Suite Sister Mary' that always sends shivers down my spine, watching Geoff and Pamela Moore spitting lines to one another...

IMHO, the best metal live DVD so far...

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to toolis (BETA) | Report this review (#86070)
Posted Monday, August 07, 2006 | Review Permalink
AtomicCrimsonRush
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Symphonic Team
5 stars This is the full concert experience where Queensryche play every track from the masterpiece 'Operation Mindcrime'. The great thing about this is you can play it while watching the live DVD and it pretty much is in synch. The sound quality is excellent on every track. The crowd never drown out the band but its great to hear their exceitement which adds to the live experience.

As I stated in other reviews 'Operation Mindcrime' is a definite masterpiece so it would be difficult to go wrong with the live concert. I expected great things having grown to adore the studio album and I was not disappointed. Tate's vocals are as excellent, sometimes better, than the studio versions.

After the initial introduction, the crowd cheer because they immediately recognise they are about to hear 'Revolution Calling'. It gives you chills to hear how the tracks you have grown to love in a live concert. Tate just launches into one track after another with perfect timing. De Garmo's guitars are clean and sound excellent- the lead breaks are even better live.

I had chills when Pamela Moore sang with Geoff Tate the epic 'Suite Sister Mary'. She sounded as haunting as ever and her raspy vocals are as heartfelt as the album version.

The concert breaks for a half time and Tate actually tells the audience that some of them probably don't know what the heck is going on, but he states this is Operation Mindcrime, and of course the crowd go wild in appreciation. In the second part of the show they blast gems such as 'The Needle Lies', 'Breaking The Silence', 'I Don't Believe In Love' and 'Eyes Of A Stranger'.

It was pleasing to hear two other tracks not available on DVD including the wonderful 'Lady Wears Black' and a terrific version of 'Roads to Madness'.

Overall, it is definitley worth getting hold of this live version of the infamous 'Operation Mindcrime' - another 5 star QR gem.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to AtomicCrimsonRush (BETA) | Report this review (#224054)
Posted Wednesday, July 01, 2009 | Review Permalink
Starhammer
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars Can you put a price on art?

Love it or hate it, there can be no denying that 'Operation: Mindcrime' is an absolute classic. And I imagine the only people who'd want to check out this live recording must also be fans of the studio version. But is it different enough to merit investing in, and more importantly, does it do it justice?

Well it certainly gives an accurate representation of the original, with great performances all round, and there's just enough energy to give it that edge I look for in a live album. The only thing it's really missing is extra material. There are a couple of bonus tracks which is a nice addition, but when compared to the likes of Dream Theater's 'Live Scenes from New York' it falls short. This has nothing to do with preference for either band, or the concept album upon which each performance is based. It has everything to do with the fact that when Dream Theater finish playing 'Scenes from a Memory' they're really just getting warmed up and there's nearly two hours of quality music yet to come!

I almost never consider the price of an album when writing a review, but given that these comparable pieces of progressive metal cost me roughly the same the amount, I feel that LIVECrime certainly gives less value for money.

The Verdict: If you love Mindcrime then you'll love this.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Starhammer (BETA) | Report this review (#596145)
Posted Sunday, December 25, 2011 | Review Permalink
Gatot
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
4 stars As this is a seminal and best album by Queensryche, the band have proved themselves that they could do the legendary album "live" with close to perfection performance. The show kicks off with a situation where (like in the DVD version) a nurse having a one-way conversation with her patient - which I believe it's a young man named Nikki - who stayed hopelessly in bed. After the nurse left him he said "I remember now .." .. well, you know it, it's the first ambient start of opening track "I Remember Now" (1:17). And .. man .. when the music gets into its way through instrumental track "Anarchy-X" (1:27) I can see how rocking the performance is, especially when I see how Mr. Rockenfield plays his drum. So powerful! I think Rockenfield is one of the best rock drummers I have ever known thus far.

The musical break brings the show to the first lyrical part where Geoff Tate (vocal) sings wonderfully in "Revolution Calling" (4:39). WOW man!!! This is what I call the greatest rock concert with great live vibes that I have ever seen. I cannot imagine how if I were there with the crowd. Definitely, I would go crazy: doing my headbanging and emulating how Geoff Tate is singing. Or, I would emulate how DeGarmo plays his guitar. Yeah, it's a true adrenalin exploder, really! "Revolution calling / Revolution calling / Revolution calling NOW!" uuughhh . I cannot bear it anymore. It also happens with the following tracks "Operation: Mindcrime" (4:40), "Speak" (3:47) and "Spreading The Disease" (4:07). When the CD reaches "The Mission" (5:27) my best favorite track of this live set, my emotion was really at the peak man! The band delivers this wonderful track perfectly and lively. Geoff Tate sings powerfully. As usual, when it reaches the minute 2:48 (approx) I really enjoy the soft guitar riffs and orchestral arrangement. And, I keep repeating this track over and over because of this catchy segment. WONDERFUL! Another peak occurs when Pula Moore sings together with Geoff Tate through "Suite Sister Mary" (10:41). Speechless. After the completion of "Suite Sister Mary" the band provides a break where Tate having a conversation with the crowd. "More?" . "It's . The Needle Lies" - JRENG! And the music flows in uplifting mood with a what so called progressive metal style. Yeah, it's arguably that this album was the pioneer of progressive metal genre. I think so. And from this track onward, the music is much more lively and dynamic where the crowd are getting crazy with the show. FANTASTIC!

Overall, this is a must for anyone who loves rock concert. Especially, this album is to me like a rock opera because there is a storyline of the whole concert. Each musician is a great contributor to the show. Geoff Tate is one of the best rock singers. Rockenfield is a great drummer. DeGarmo and Wilton guitar playing is stunning and rocking. Highly recommended! Keep on rockin', keep on proggin' ..!

Peace on earth and mercy mild - GW

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Send comments to Gatot (BETA) | Report this review (#596167)
Posted Sunday, December 25, 2011 | Review Permalink

QUEENSRYCHE Operation: Livecrime ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of QUEENSRYCHE Operation: Livecrime


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | GeoIP Services by MaxMind | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — the ultimate jazz music virtual community | MetalMusicArchives.com — the ultimate metal music virtual community


Server processing time: 0.23 seconds