Header
Rhapsody (of Fire) - Dawn Of Victory CD (album) cover

DAWN OF VICTORY

Rhapsody (of Fire)

Progressive Metal


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
Gatot
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
5 stars What a BIG surprise!! I never thought this band would be categorized as prog. But I see the point why it is finally put in the prog basket as the music is not purely a power metal genre (the kind of music pioneered by Germany's HELLOWEEN) but it has a considerable prog elements (the use of orchestra / string arrangements, varieties of shifting tempos PLUS . I never heard the kind of mixture of Rhapsody's music before. That's why it's prog to the corner!). I have to salute the Proagarchives team for having this band included in this page.

It was definitely 2002 when I first listened to this album from my metal folks in my home country. I still remember at that time we had the PROG FEST of Indonesian Progressive Society where our country's prog bands were demonstrating their act. One of my metal friends, Satrio, a young metal-pro man, introduced me to RHAPSODY, SYMPHONY X and NIGH WISH. I was not interested because I'm sure it's gonna be a kind of head- banging metal stuff that was not my cup of tea, I would say. Anyway, I bought the CD of this album from the CD counter in that Prog Fest. Oh mannnnn ... let me tell you the truth . this album BLEW ME COMPLETELY!!! Again, I never imagined that human being was able to create such a beautifully crafted music like this one. They call themselves a "metal warrior", but it's not really . they are purely prog met warrior!

"Lux Triumphans (2:00)" is a typical overture of any power metal band; it sounds like a church choirs but it set the overall tune of the album. It flows to heartbreaking, uplifting and energetic track "Dawn of Victory". WOW mannn .. what a dynamic song this track is! This is the kind of track you would like to hear when you just woke up in the morning to elevate your energy and emotion! It's a wonderful track in a metal vein. (Hey, don't ever imagine that RHAPSODY's music is of similar to DREAM THEATER. No! They are completely different kind!). The lyrics that I can remember on top of my head is "For Ancelot the ancient cross of war. For the wholly tons of God. Gloria! Gloria perpetua! For the dawn of victory! .. Wow ....!!!!!!!! You will be totally adrenalized man!

The rest of the songs are excellent as well. If you enjoy track 2, you would enjoy all tracks, for sure! That's the rule. Unfortunately I'm away from my city as I'm now in my clien's manufacturing facility 120 KM away from Jakarta and I don't bring my CD. Otherwise, I can review track by track in detail. But .. it's not worth it for you to read my review track by track basis, turn off your computer and go get the CD now! You would hardly regret. Believe me.

The masterminds of this album are the guitarist LUCA TURILI (I got his two excellent solo albums as well) and keyboardist ALEX STAROPOLI. These two guys are brilliant guys! But .. there are two other important guys, eg : SASCHA PAETH and MIRO as producer. I think the greatness of this album is nonsense without the hands and brains of PAETH and MIRO. In my observation, the two gentlemen have produced other quality music with the American band :KAMELOT (another great band in the vein of Rhapsody). I fell in love with KAMELOT thru their album "Karma". And .. in my opinion, once RHAPSODY is already "in" here, this page should also cover KAMELOT and NIGHTWISH. It's a MUST!

Overall, this album is a masterpiece. I have collected all the albums of the band and has no regret at all. If you can find the boxed set of this album, you should get it, because it has a book with it. Great album to have. DON'T MISS IT. (Coincidently, this morning I received an SMS from my prog friend, Agung, saying that he is totally in trance with this album while listening to the CD in his way to the office). HAIL! - Gatot Widayanto, Indonesia.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Gatot (BETA) | Report this review (#32231)
Posted Thursday, August 05, 2004 | Review Permalink
akapetri@aol.
4 stars Amazingly entertaining. This album will surprise anyone that listens to it. This is was first Rhapsody purchase, and everyone whom I have played it for have thought it was great, no matter what their musical background. Several listenings to other albums have bought Rhapsody another multi-album buyer in me.

Power Metal is not quite an appropriate label, which is what some other album reviews here have called it. It should be noted that several of these musicians were classical music performers before they decided to pick up the electric. Due to it's heavily fantasy influenced songs, some others (including myself) have decided the label "EPIC METAL" is more appropriate. Indeed, in the form of many epics, there is a definite story thread that runs through not one, but a whole series of the albums!

If you have ever enjoyed reading (or viewing) any of the LOTR or Shanarrah series, you will easily identify with and enjoy the fantasy influences of this album.

If there is anything negative about this album, it's the running time (49:33). This album is so engrossing that it is almost disappointing when it ends. One of the best songs on the album (9. Holy Thunderforce) also appears to be one of the shortest, which is a bit disappointing.

I expect the fan base of this Italian Epic Metal band to continue to grow. These musicians are incredibly talented and have a niche in a unique genre Give it a listen!

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to (BETA) | Report this review (#32232)
Posted Saturday, October 02, 2004 | Review Permalink
Easy Livin
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator / Retired Admin
4 stars The beautiful princess is kidnapped!

Q - What do Rhapsody and Tangerine Dream have in common?

A - After reviewing a few of their albums it becomes more and more difficult to say anything new about them. Both bands are masters of their chosen (and admittedly very different) crafts, and both stick closely to what they are good at.

So with "Dawn of Victory", we venture into Rhapsody's world of "Symphonic epic Hollywood metal" again, for their third album of wonderfully bombastic music.

For those who have followed my reviews of Rhapsody to date, "Dawn of victory" continues the wonderful "CHRONICLES OF ALGALORD - The Emerald Sword Saga" which began with their first album "Legendary tales", and continued through "Symphony of enchanted lands". In this, part three of the four part tale, the wizard Aresius of Elgard continues to tell the story in his distinctive, sometimes colloquial way.

By now, our Nordic hero, known only as "The warrior of ice", has tamed a mighty dragon by sparing its life, found the keys for the Ivory Gates, and recovered the Emerald Sword. The sword (as you will recall!), holds the key to peace in the trouble lands of Algalord. Things of course do not go smoothly, and wouldn't you just know it, a beautiful princess along with a number of heroic knights, is kidnapped from the Enchanted Lands by the bad guys. The ransom for their release is none other than the Emerald Sword (sharp intake of breath now!). While until now, the story has been one of heroics and triumph in the face of adversity, "Dawn of victory", despite its title, finds things taking a much darker, and more disturbing turn.

Musically, "Dawn of victory" is slightly stripped down compared to its predecessors. The anthemic choruses and mighty choirs are still there, but the orchestration has been kept in check, the album having more of a metallic rock feel. Things get off to the by now usual start with a brief opening operatic male vocal anthem, which builds quickly to a climactic crescendo, then bursts into the title track. The track "Dawn of victory" is right up there with Rhapsody's finest. Driven along by double speed drumming, the vocals vary between super-fast verses, and slower, mighty choruses. The minimal orchestration is noticeable, but does not detract from the highly infectious chorale of the choruses. A truly magnificent opener.

There are plenty more of the traditional Rhapsody tracks such as "Triumph for My Magic Steel ", "Dargor - Shadowlord of the Black Mountain", and "Holy thunderforce" (the titles tell you all you need to know) all with driving beats, soaring choruses, and excellent guitar solos.

There are though, also some interestingly different songs. "The Village of Dwarves" brings the band's traditional folk influences to the fore. After a female vocal start with soft bird sounds, a Celtic pipes sound bursts in, and we are treated to a gypsy camp fire type song which might be taken from an old musical film. "The Bloody Rage of the Titans" opens as a ballad, with piano and superb soaring vocals, supported by the choir. The track has a progressive structure, moving through a folk dance and some excellent waltz like guitar work. There are similarities in places with Guns 'n' Roses "November rain", the pace being majestic without the double beat drumming of other tracks. "Trolls in the Dark" is a brief guitar instrumental introduced by an effective child vocal accompanied by baroque recorder.

The album closes with the epic track "The Mighty Ride of the Firelord" clocking in at over 9 minutes. After a dramatic intro which might have come straight from the orchestral score to a horror movie, the band throw everything into the pot one last time, with mixed choirs, guitar breaks, sweeping violin, and narration all building towards the grand ending.

In all, Rhapsody's third album finds the band altering the controls slightly, but creating an album which follows on perfectly from those which went before. While the orchestration is not as significant this time, this is more than compensated for by the strength of the melodies. A fine album indeed, with the usual excellent packaging.

The story continues with Rhapsody's fourth full album "Power of the dragonflame".

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Easy Livin (BETA) | Report this review (#35510)
Posted Tuesday, June 07, 2005 | Review Permalink
5 stars Dawn Of Victory is Rhapsody's third album. It is a great representation of their music, which they boldly call "Symphonic Epic Hollywood Metal". The music is prog/power metal with heavy orchestration and folk influences. There are a lot of choirs and really great keyboard solos. The leaders of Rhapsody, Luca Turilli and Alex Staropoli both have studied classical music, and this shows in their music. Movie soundtrack composers such as Jerry Goldsmith, John Williams and Danny Elfman are also a big influence to them. One can also hear the influence of classic Italian prog bands, such as Goblin. (Rhapsody even does a Goblin cover in one of their albums, Rain Of A Thousand Flames.)

This album is the third part of Rhapsody's "Alagord Chronicles", an epic tale about the battle between good and evil. The main hero is a man called "Warrior of Ice" and his arch-nemesis is the evil shadowlord, Dargor.

The albums starts typically for Rhapsody with an exciting overture, "Lux Triumphans" which sets the mood. Next is the title song, "Dawn Of Victory", which is one of the fastest songs in the album. It starts with an excellent into, similar to "Warrior Of Ice" in Legendary Tales. One could say this is a definitive (or very typical) Rhapsody song with a sing-a-long type chorus.

The third track is "Triumph For My Magic Steel". This track has a folky intro and middle section, which remind me a bit of Russian folk music. The song has a nice build from the bridge section to the chorus. "Village Of Dwarves" reminds again a bit of "Forest Of Unicorns" in Legendary tales. It is a very folky song with nice female vocals in the choir, a lot of strings, flutes and a 'bagpipe-type' keyboard. The fifth track is "Dargor, Shadowlord Of The Black Mountain". This track has a very Goblin-type keyboard. There also exists a longer version of this track, but the version on the album is 'only' 4:48. A nice track again with a very sing-a-long sounding chorus.

My favourite track on the album is "The Bloody Rage Of Titans". It is perhaps the slowest track on the album, but the song develops really beautifully. The part "Warlords and steelgods beware! It's the rage of the titans..." is done really masterfully. Again nice strings, keyboard and strings. "Holy Thunderforce" was also released as a single, and it is a real fast ass kicking song. Next comes "Trolls In The Dark", a strange hymn which in sung by Laurence Vanryne with a ghostly childish voice. Again there comes reminders of Russian folk music.

The chorus of the ninth track "The Last Winged Unicorn" somehow reminds me of an old Finnish children's song about Mickey Mouse at the sea. Still, a beautiful song, again with a great keyboard work from Alex Staropoli. The last track on the album, the small epic "The Mighty Ride Of The Firelord" starts with a nice flute intro. The middle section has again the nice 'bagpipe' sounding keyboard, church organ, flutes and female backing vocals. A bit longer track, but otherwise a pretty typical steady Rhapsody song with suberb instrumental sections.

Dawn Of Victory may be my favourite Rhapsody album, so I don't hesitate in giving it five stars. If you like epic prog metal songs about dragons, wizards and great battles, then this album is for you.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Ray Lomas (BETA) | Report this review (#62212)
Posted Thursday, December 29, 2005 | Review Permalink
4 stars First I want to tell you, that I don't like power metal. There are maybe few good albums from that genre. It was always too pinky and sweety to me. But this Rhapsody album is good. Very good. Solid songs, solid melodies in good Rhapsody style. Great arrangements for orchestra and choir. The best numbers here are The Village Of Dwarves, Holy Thundeforce, Dawn Of Victory, Bloody Rage Of The Titans and Might Ride Of The Firelord. Lyrics are based on a story that Rhapsody started on thier debut. Dragons, knights, dwarves and that kind of stories. Oh, and for metal fans: it's more a Manowar metal style, than Iron Maiden. But, as I said it's a very good album with lot's of taste.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Deepslumber (BETA) | Report this review (#107642)
Posted Tuesday, January 16, 2007 | Review Permalink
4 stars Well,in my opinion this is their best work at date..all the albums are good,but i think this one with enchanted lands are the better ones,the compositions on this are very FINEST.. the histoy also is good involves you in a world of demons and magic...up up ancelot!!

when i play the guitar i remember very much to LUCA because thanks to him i get inpired to make "swEEP PICKING "and he is a Master on this one"i really love this album,because was my first record of rhapsody well,now they are RHAPSODY OF FIRE,but the music do not change,thats the ERROR with rhapsody allways the same,.but this one is the BEST...

epci,fantasy,CHORUS,monumental,guitar solos,keyboards solos,yeah,fabio is GOOD ON THIS ONE...

HIghLy recommended......

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to JgX 5 (BETA) | Report this review (#123401)
Posted Friday, May 25, 2007 | Review Permalink
apps79
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Neo Prog Team
2 stars Ok,I'll describe this one in a few lines cause' I don't think it deserves much more place or time.

The positive (only for those who haven't heard a single track of the band) :Interesting symphonic prog/power metal,inspired musicianship and orchestrations,high skilled musicians,everyone is a master of his own instrument...

The negative (for all the others who have a previous experience of the band) :zero development of the sound of the band.All the tracks are similar to each other and you think the whole sum of them was part of the first or the second or the fourth - or I don't know which - album...Really boring,the excitement of their debut is competely lost...

And is needless to say that I belong to the second category...

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to apps79 (BETA) | Report this review (#169677)
Posted Saturday, May 03, 2008 | Review Permalink
UMUR
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
4 stars Dawn of Victory is the third album from Italian Euro Power metal band Rhapsody. I was a big fan of Rhapsody when this album came out and I was not disappointed as it follows the formula of the first two releases from the band. There are some small changes though that sets Dawn of Victory apart from Legenday Tales and Symphony of Enchanted Lands.

The music is generally very similar to the two previous albums which means fast paced drumming and neo classical guitar riffing, Orchestral arrangements which includes a choir and a bombastic and anthemic atmosphere that only few other bands in the genre masters as well. Rhapsody was a unique band at the time of this release even though they are clearly influenced by other euro power metal bands like Helloween and Stratovarius. What is special about Rhapsody is of course their heavy orchestral arrangements and Luca Turilliīs sweeping guitar solos which I always found to be a real treat. Very melodic but still pretty fierce. The orchestral arrangements donīt take any power out of the music like it could have done. Here it works with the music instead of against the music like I have heard so many times before when bands try and mix classical orchestral music into their rock/ metal. Rhapsody also owes some dept to German power metal band Blind Guardian.

There are some furiously fast songs on Dawn of Victory which is something I have always loved when weīre talking Euro Power Metal. The title track Dawn of Victory starts the album with a blast after the usual classical intro Lux Triumphans. Itīs an extremely fast paced song with some tempo changes along the way to keep it exciting. Itīs a clear favorite here for me. Triumph for My Magic Steel is also very fast paced but itīs a bit more melodic and bombastic. The Village of Dwarves is a mid paced folky song with some nice vocal harmonies. Itīs actually one of the better songs in this style Rhapsody have made. Dargor - Shadowlord of the Black Mountain is pretty fast paced too but like Triumph for My Magic Steel itīs also very bombastic.

The Bloody Rage of the Titans is a slow to mid paced song which is one of my favorites too. Itīs really grand and anthemic. Note Luca Turilliīs slow sweeping in the instrumental middle section. Great stuff. Holy Thunderforce which was the single from the album is a fast paced and strong song. Itīs not the best song her IMO but itīs still very good. Trolls in the Dark is an instrumental song which isnīt the best here either but good enough to be here. The Last Winged Unicorn is in family with Triumph for My Magic Steel and Dargor - Shadowlord of the Black Mountain which means fast paced yet bombastic. The epic The Mighty Ride of the Firelord ends the album. It starts really well and there are many great parts in this song. Itīs a bit too long IMO though and near the end I find it a bit trivial.

The lyrics are in typical euro power metal style about dragons, Dwarfes and heroes. I have always found this to be a joke, but I guess it suits the folky mideavil tendencies in the music.

The musicianship is outstanding and in addition to mastermind Luca Turilli on guitar and Alex Staropoli on keyboards who are the main composers in the band you also have new German drummer Alex Holzwarth ( Sieges Even) who plays some great and varied rythms on Dawn of Victory ( well as varied as it gets with classic euro power metal). Singer Fabio Lione also needs to be mentioned for his great performance here.

The production is a bit different compared to the previous albums as Rhapsody pursued a more organic sound on Dawn of Victory. I think it works on some songs while I miss the metallic edge from the two previous albums on other songs. Itīs a good production though. Very enjoyable.

IMO this was the last really good album from Rhapsody. Even though the first three albums were very elaborate with classical arrangements and choirs they still maintained power and a metallic edge. From now on Rhapsody will put more focus on the symphonic orchestral parts and there will be far between the fast paced songs that I loved on the first three albums. Itīs a real pitty IMO, but I know itīs an aquired taste. Dawn of Victory is an excellent album that I enjoy every time I listen to it even though I do prefer Legendary Tales and Symphony of Enchanted Lands. The 4 stars I will rate Dawn of Victory is well deserved.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to UMUR (BETA) | Report this review (#171748)
Posted Tuesday, May 20, 2008 | Review Permalink
SouthSideoftheSky
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Symphonic Team
2 stars Holy [&*!#]!

When writing a review for this album it is hard to resist the urge to just copy and paste my review for the band's previous album as the music found here is very much more of the same. There are, however, some subtle changes that all of them are to the worse, I must say. After the fabulous and highly original debut album, Legendary Tales, and the good, but less impressive, follow-up, Symphony Of Enchanted Lands, I'm wondering here if the band didn't get lazy during the writing and recording of this third album! Apart from the fact that there is no development as such of the music from previous albums, it also seems to be the case that the lyrics and vocals are deteriorating. It is possible here for the first time to notice a disturbing Italian accent in the vocals and the lyrics are even sillier than before. With song titles such as Holy Thunderforce, Trolls In The Dark, Village Of Dwarfs and Triumph Of My Magic Steel, it is increasingly difficult to take this band seriously!

The melodies are still reasonably strong, but almost nothing here is as good as the material from the previous album which in turn was a step down from the great debut. Once again the instrumental skills are indeed impressive, but I cannot help feel that they are somewhat wasted on these songs. There are again a few spoken word passages that add to the cheesiness of the album.

There are still some good moments and aspects that I find enjoyable, but it adds little to what the band had already given us in the past. Another problem I have with this album is that it lacks variation. There is not enough diversity in terms of moods and tempos for me to keep interested till the end.

A relative disappointment for me and I can recommend this one only for fans and collectors.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to SouthSideoftheSky (BETA) | Report this review (#440519)
Posted Friday, April 29, 2011 | Review Permalink
Warthur
PROG REVIEWER
4 stars Rhapsody are one of those bands which rapidly become difficult to review, because their musical style doesn't evolve very rapidly from album to album and they tend to be rather consistent. Dawn of Victory stands out, though, as an interesting tangent in their discography, with the symphonic aspects of their sound toned down somewhat and more folky elements brought in. At points, this can become a little twee and cheesy - I could do without The Village of Dwarves, if we're being honest - but whilst the experiments with their sound don't always work, they just about succeed in maintaining my interest over the course of the album.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Send comments to Warthur (BETA) | Report this review (#1019873)
Posted Saturday, August 17, 2013 | Review Permalink

RHAPSODY (OF FIRE) Dawn Of Victory ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of RHAPSODY (OF FIRE) Dawn Of Victory


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

WARNING: Forum software upgrade in progress, login function maybe affected for some users during that time.

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — the ultimate jazz music virtual community | MetalMusicArchives.com — the ultimate metal music virtual community


Server processing time: 0.20 seconds