MENU
Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography
Lemur Voice - Insights CD (album) cover

INSIGHTS

Lemur Voice

Progressive Metal


From Progarchives.com, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Bookmark and Share
4 stars Perfect Dream Theater cd with kevin moore's keyboard style. The songs are so [%*!#]ing complex and intense in pure prog metal. We have the sensation that there are many great musicians and they are so united.
Report this review (#4400)
Posted Saturday, June 19, 2004 | Review Permalink
2 stars When I got it I was young and I hated it...Now that I'm older I tried it again...I still hate it! If you like what (in my opinion) is music without any purpose, then you'll love this album.If you're looking for innovation, then try something else.
Report this review (#4402)
Posted Monday, May 16, 2005 | Review Permalink
Cesar Inca
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
4 stars Born in Holland and originally bearing the name Aura, the later re-baptized Lemur Voice was a creative quintet that made an excellent, renewing statement in the prog metal scene back in the mid 90s. "Insights" is the result of the fluid combination of rocking energy, cleverly articulated interplaying, exquisite keyboard orchestrations and genuine passion. One major influence in 1992-4 Dream Theater (as it happened with many other 90s prog metal acts), but LV goes beyond that and implements some other influences: neo-prog (fresh vibe and eerie keyboard layers), lots of jazz-rock elements in the rhythm duo's input, old fashioned symphonic melodic sensibility. While bearing such an amount of recognizable musical features, the final result ends up being sufficiently original as to show the band as a talented bunch of writers and not mere copycat of the bands they look up to. The lead vocalist's style and timber sound to me like Tate-meets-Hogarth, while the keyboardist, due to his well crafted harmonies and orchestrated layers, functions as the referential focus around which his instrumentalist companions revolve. The interaction between Coenen and Faber's leads is spectacular, and so is the precision that Tromp ven der Loo use when articulating the complex rhythm patterns in their jazz-tinged manner (as I mentioned before) - great performances for (generally) great compositions and inventive arrangements. The opener is catchy but a bit overlong, since the main motif is not as impressive as many others that will consecutively appear and the performances don't portray the level of energy these guys usually have. Track 2 is the first one to show a hint of the band's strong points: the instrumental 'Akasha Chronicles' is an amazing example of how a band can have its individual members interplay in a delicately integrated set of diverse musical ideas. Awesome. Also the sequence of tracks 3 and 4 is quire impressive to me. 'Celestial Haze' is a beautiful nocturne delivered on piano over eerie string synth layers and vocal adornments added near the end. 'Deep Inside' is a 9+ minute piece that shows LV building a bridge between neo and prog metal and making a statement of meditative introspectiveness from that position - somewhere in the last half a part of 'Celestial Haze' reappears in order to widen the melancholy vibration of the song. 'Alone' is another long track that is quite similar in spirit to 'Celestial Haze', albeit 'Alone' feels more dramatic since its mood and motif shifts feel more intense; besides, this time it is the dual acoustic guitars that take center stage for the softer parts. Among the not-so-long tracks, my personal fave is 'Prime of Passion': the polished ability that Tromp shows for his complex bass lines ands arpeggios is simply awesome, a major asset for this particular song's greatness. 'More of Nothing' and 'Memory Lane' are also great (especially the former, which continues to explore the band's reflective side), although they're not as stunning as 3-4 (I see them as a unit), 6 & 7. All in all, "Insights" is one of those 90s prog metal gems that, hopefully, will not get buried in the past despite the fact that the band broke up after the release of their second album.
Report this review (#4403)
Posted Wednesday, May 18, 2005 | Review Permalink
5 stars This is more than an essential album for me, it is truly among the top prog metal albums I own. Akasha Chronicles, Deep inside, More of nothing, Alone and Prime of Passion are songs that display an immense technicality, sense of rythme and great songwriting. Akasha Chronicles was the song that after a few listens totally rocked me with it's heavy groove. Deep Inside is very beautiful and touching with thought-provoking lyrics. Prime of Passion is just magic, one of a kind song structure and orchestration.

This is NOT a DT clone, they sound totally unique in my ears. Marcel Coenen is a extremely talented guitarist, and he uses his abilities to create not only awesome solos, but also groovy riffs and atmospheric, beautiful passages. The band is as tight as a band can be and shows exceptional synchronization. Gregor van der Loos clean, strong vocals fit very well with the music. This album is a true prog metal gem, I find it way better than Lemur Voice's second album Divided, or Marcel Coenen's Sun Caged album, and they're not bad at all.

For everyone who enjoys heavy guitars occasionally mixed with beautiful clean sections, and most importantly, who likes frequent time changes and well developed interplay between the instruments, this is my No.1 recommendation. This is prog metal as I love it.

Report this review (#52731)
Posted Saturday, October 22, 2005 | Review Permalink
4 stars Well, well how time flies!! I remember I got to hear this band 10 years ago, shortly after they released their debut album.And since Dream Theater already counted as a favourite band of mine I could not overhear Lemur Voice. Well actually I could have, if a local radio station's weekly rock show would not have broadcasted it. The song Intuition got met instantly, and it still is my favourite track from this album. I remember I had no other choice then to get in contact with the guy who was running this show to get the album. And I did get it, on a casette, with not a very good sound, but i got it. It was only years later when I got the real thing. But the lack of a perfect sound did not stop me to listen to this album over and over again. I was amazed both by the vocalist and the instrumentation. It is a varied album, which allows you no boring minutes and does not have unnecesary long parts, which is the case with some progressive acts. It was just the kinda metal I liked and even though they did not manage to outclass this performance with the next record ( their last so far) they still are always a welcomed act in my cd-player. If you have not heard it yet, give it a try...
Report this review (#80839)
Posted Saturday, June 10, 2006 | Review Permalink
5 stars I will go to such lengths and say that this band, especially this album, even outclasses DT. While you could certainly argue about the musicians abillities and the complexity of their arrangements, you can't look past the fact that Lemur Voice manages to create an unique atmosphere that is existent throughout the whole album. It's kind of an melodramatic key note which probably originates from the vocalist's sousing voice.

Let alone the opener "Intuition", even though it's only instrumental, should give you a good impression on what these musicians are capable of. And at the latest by hearing the guitar solo in the opening of the song "Prime Of Passion" you should be absolutely blown away.

I could go on and on and tell you about the ultimate precision the band members use their instruments or the variety of the compositions they created, but you have to listen to this for yourself in order to believe that this album is truly oustanding.

Although this is my first review here, I will label this album a masterpiece of progressive music since I really believe it is.

Report this review (#88548)
Posted Wednesday, August 30, 2006 | Review Permalink
3 stars A good album and a great listen. Lemur Voice is a band with a talent, and what they lack in emotion and power they replace with talent and complexity. The music is good but not great, and does have its moment to make it a great album that's pretty good. They have some great songs such as Intuition, Alaskan Chronicles, More of Nothing, Celestrial Haze. It's a curious listen and enjoyable in some places. It's a good addition to your collection, but not really essential. Give a listen if you want to, but it's something I don't obsess over.
Report this review (#91884)
Posted Sunday, September 24, 2006 | Review Permalink
The T
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
2 stars I've read the same comment so many times when it comes to speak about various prog- metal bands: "oh, this band is just a Dream Theater clone", "another one of the endless herd of DT clones", and as much as I tried, I never could find that one album that truly made me believe the same experiment that generated Dolly the Sheep was repeated with the New York band.

That is, of course, until I heard the voice of a lemur, disguised as a prog-metal band.

I have a serious problem with Lemur Voice: it sounds too much like DT, like AWAKE-era DT, to be precise. The cloning accusations really are on target this time, and I've begun some research to find out how someone got ahold of DT's ADN and used it to create this group.

The band Lemur Voice is no more, it has ceased to exist long ago. So there would be no point in me worrying about future releases. But, in case you're interested in buying this cd, I'll say a few words about the music.

This is really a copy/paste exercise. The musicians are very capable, and can surely play their instruments with skill and virtuosity. The problem is that the music itself is not that interesting. As I said before, it's very much reminiscent of AWAKE, but without the inspiration, the melodies, the energy, and, less than everything, without the originality of that legendary release. Even though the songs aren't that bad, there's nothing new to listen to here. It also lacks punch; it's like the musicians are playing trying to emulate their favorite band but without even leaving his heart on the floor for that, without breaking a sweat, they seem like they were playing by inertia. And the singer? Well, he's just not good. His voice sounds like if Fates Warning's Ray Alder had suddenly lost 10 years and also 10 pints of blood, as the delivery is bland, monotonous, bleak, lineal. Completely fuel-less.

About the songs, all sound about the same. The first track is the better one with vocals, and for sure the second one (the instrumental "Akasha Chronicles") is the best in the album. Actually, if they had recorded a purely instrumental album with more tracks like that one, it would have been a pleasant experience and worthy of maybe 3 or 4 stars. But, as it is, this tracks barely saves the album from 1 star status.

If you want prog-metal that has a little of Dream Theater but also a lot of originallity, try Redemption, try Vanden Plas.

Stay away from the Lemur.

Recommended for: Ultra-hardcore fans of DT that want ALL of their music to sound almost exactly like DT. Fans of prog-metal that don't mind the lack of originality.

Not recommended for: Those looking for a novel prog-metal experience; those looking for an entertaining album; but most of all...

...fans of DT. You should know there's only one DT. As there should be only ONE of each great band.

Report this review (#117504)
Posted Friday, April 6, 2007 | Review Permalink
apps79
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR
Honorary Collaborator
3 stars By mid 90's the progressive metal scene was becoming larger and larger, a new prog sound was on its way.LEMUR VOICE were another band that tried to earn some fame and space in the prog metal map.In 1996 the band from the Netherlands managed to released their debut album entitled ''Insights''.

Actually this is a really strong debut.It wouldn't be an excess if I called them a DREAM THEATER clone.But the musicianship is very decent,the atmosphere of the album is really in prog fields and the songs are well arranged.Unfortunately,lacking in originality,the band plays in a similar style like DREAM THEATER as we know them through albums like ''Awake'' or ''Images and words''.A more personal style would raise the musical price of this album really high.I also recognize some influences from Dutch fellows ELEGY in the power metal moments of the band.The epic track of this work ''Alone'' contains also hints from SIEGES EVEN or SOUL CAGES in the atmospheric breaks,nice addition.The vocals of Gregoor Van Der Loo are also decent without being something spectacular.

Don't expect something grounbreaking or oringinal by buying this album.However the musicianship is excellent and searching for this CD worths the cost.If you are looking for progressive metal of the DREAM THEATER school of prog,this one fits well in your desires.Recommended!

Report this review (#186810)
Posted Friday, October 24, 2008 | Review Permalink

LEMUR VOICE Insights ratings only


chronological order | showing rating only

Post a review of LEMUR VOICE Insights


You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.

MEMBERS LOGIN ZONE

As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: JazzMusicArchives.com — jazz music reviews and archives | MetalMusicArchives.com — metal music reviews and archives