Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Deep Purple


From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Deep Purple The Platinum Collection album cover
4.07 | 15 ratings | 4 reviews | 40% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 2005

Songs / Tracks Listing

CD1 (71:12)
1. Hush (4:26)
2. Mandrake Root (6:11)
3. Hey Joe (7:27)
4. Kentucky Woman (4:42)
5. Wring That Neck (5:12)
6. Shield (6:03)
7. Bird Has Flown (2:53)
8. Emmaretta (3:07)
9. Hallelujah (3:41)
10. Black Night (Single Version) (3:27)
11. Speed King (5:51)
12. Flight Of The Rat (7:52)
13. Child In Time (10:20)

Disc 2 (73:00)
1. Fireball (3:24)
2. Strange Kind Of Woman (3:51)
3. Demon's Eye (5:20)
4. No One Came (1996 Remix) (6:24)
5. Highway Star (1997 Remix) (6:29)
6. Smoke On The Water (5:41)
7. When A Blind Man Cries (1997 Remix) (3:30)
8. Space Truckin (1997 Remix) (4:56)
9. Lazy (Live) (10:33)
10. Never Before (Live) (3:57)
11. Woman From Tokyo (5:49)
12. Smooth Dancer (4:09)
13. Mary Long (4:24)
14. Burn" (Single Edit) (4:33)

Disc 3 (59:59)
1. Might Just Take Your Life (4:38)
2. Coronarias Redig (4:53)
3. Stormbringer (4:05)
4. Hold On (5:05)
5. Soldier Of Fortune (3:14)
6. Mistreated (Live) (11:35)
7. You Keep On Moving (5:18)
8. Love Child (3:05)
9. Drifter (4:00)
10. Perfect Strangers (Live) ( 6:23)
11. Ted The Mechanic (Live) (4:33)
12. Any Fule Kno That (4:28)
13. Bludsucker (4:27)
14. Sun Goes Down (4:15)

Total Time: 204:11

Line-up / Musicians

- Rod Evans, Ian Gillan & David Coverdale / lead vocals
- Ritchie Blackmore, Tommy Bolin & Steve Morse / guitars
- Jon Lord, Don Airey / keyboards
- Roger Glover / bass
- Nick Simper / bass, background vocals
- Glenn Huges / bass, lead vocals
- Ian Paice / drums

Releases information

CD EMI RECORDS 7243 873577 2 3 (2005)

Thanks to NELMOMEDELPROG for the addition
and to ProgLucky for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy DEEP PURPLE The Platinum Collection Music

More places to buy DEEP PURPLE music online

DEEP PURPLE The Platinum Collection ratings distribution

(15 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of rock music(40%)
Excellent addition to any rock music collection(47%)
Good, but non-essential (13%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

DEEP PURPLE The Platinum Collection reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by AtomicCrimsonRush
4 stars 200 wonderful minutes of Deep Purple, legends of proto metal and too good to be crammed onto just one CD. This collection is 3 CDs spanning the career of these giants of rock, and as such contains just about everything you could ever wish for as far as the greatest Deep Purple songs. Unedited and totally in tact one can sit back and immerse themselves into this incredible music with the likes of quintessential Hush, Black Night, Speed King, and Child In Time on CD1. This CD also features some classics from the vintage years such as the psychedelic era of the band with the likes of Mandrake Root, Hey Joe, and the cool rocker Wring That Neck. Shield, Bird Has Flown, Emmaretta and Hallelujah caps off the early years, that is a real insight into the roots of metal for those uninitiated.

CD 2 is where it all gets brilliant in the best era of the band as they belt out one classic after another, Fireball, Strange Kind Of Woman, and the riff blaster Smoke On The Water. There are some oddities on this that are given a new remix that may be a drawcard for the Purple fan who has everything, namely No One Came (1996 Remix), Highway Star (1997 Remix), When A Blind Man Cries (1997 Remix), and Space Truckin (1997 Remix). The live versions are a nice touch too with a 10:33 version of Lazy from "Made In Japan", and Never Before.

CD 3 is the more recent Purple, although not that recent these days and it is a decent collection of songs with highlights such as Might Just Take Your Life, a live Mistreated clocking 11:35, and live classic Perfect Strangers. I still miss Knocking at your Back Door that seems to go missing in action on many compilations though it is a treasure. The live Ted The Mechanic is a quirky addition and there are some weird choices with Bludsucker and Sun Goes Down. However it is great that the compilation features at least one song from all their studio albums that counted.

There are progressive tracks that could have been included such as April from "Deep Purple" (1969), The Mule from "Fireball" (1971), A 200 from "Burn" (1974) and This Time Around / Owed To 'G' from "Come Taste The Band" (1975). However the compilation fails to include these, as well as the absence of Knocking At Your Back Door, and this is unforgiveable for 3 CDs of Deep Purple. However with all the nitpicking in reality these albums are definitive purchases along with "Made in Japan" (1972) "In Rock" (1970) and "Machine Head" (1972). Grab all these albums mentioned and you really have the best of Deep Purple.

This is a great compilation though with 3 CDs of pure Deep Purple magic; it is perhaps as good as it gets outside of a box set or the actual studio albums. It comes at a cheap price too and is even included in the book club as one of the choices for an album which is where I spotted it. Worthwhile, but nothing replaces the studio albums.

Latest members reviews

4 stars A very good collection indeed. Platinum Collection covers a wide range of Deep Purple but there probably isn't a completely satisfying compilation in the world. In my case, I was left missing such songs as "One Man's Meat" and the Tommy Bolin/Glenn Hughes classics "Dealer" & personal favorite "G ... (read more)

Report this review (#133705) | Posted by Jimsey | Sunday, August 19, 2007 | Review Permanlink

3 stars Excellent sellection of the best DP from 1968 until 1998. The Box (3 CDs) shows tracks of almost the entire discography of the band. All the classics are present. However, almost nothing is really new. If I could include some "forgotten" tracks, perhaps most "progressive" ones, these will: "Ap ... (read more)

Report this review (#77369) | Posted by claudss | Sunday, May 7, 2006 | Review Permanlink

5 stars This collection includes at least one song from every Deep Purple studio album and includes all their hits like Smoke On The Water, Highway Star and Space Truckin'. Being a Deep Purple fan who only owned two previous Albums I was very impressed with the whole collection here. Every song is uni ... (read more)

Report this review (#69624) | Posted by | Thursday, February 16, 2006 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of DEEP PURPLE "The Platinum Collection"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.