Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Post Rock/Math rock

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Tortoise A Lazarus Taxon album cover
3.45 | 10 ratings | 2 reviews | 11% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 2006

Songs / Tracks Listing

CD1 - 71:08
1. Gamera (11:53)
2. The Source of Uncertainty (3:45)
3. Blackbird (5:01)
4. Sexual For Elizabeth (4:49)
5. To Day Retreival (3:58)
6. Whitewater (5:07)
7. Didjeridoo (4:33)
8. Autumn Sweater (7:07)
9. Wait (4:27)
10. A Grape Dope (4:12)
11. Restless Waters (3:41)
12. Vaus (5:01)
13. Blue Station (5:34)

CD2 - 73:20
14. Madison Area (3:28)
15. TNT (Takemura Remix) (10:04)
16. Why We Fight (4:23)
17. Elmerson, Lincoln, and Palmieri (2:39)
18. Peering (5:11)
19. Goiriri (6:40)
20. As You Said (4:21)
21. CTA (5:08)
22. Deltitnu (5:50)
23. Adverse Camber (6:00)
24. Cliff Dweller Society (15:23)
25. Waihopai (4:13)

CD3 - 37:07
26. Alcohall (4:03)
27. Your New Rod (4:18)
28. Cobwebbed (4:38)
29. The Match Incident (5:31)
30. Tin Can Puerto Rican Remix (4:24)
31. Not Quite East of Ryan (5:08)
32. Initial Gesture Protraction (4:47)
33. Cornprone Brunch Watt Remix (4:18)

Total Time: 181:35

Line-up / Musicians

- Will Oldham / vocals
- Dan Bitney / bass, guitar, percussion, vibes, marimba, keyboards, Baritone saxophone
- John McEntire / drums, modular synthesizer, ring modulator guitar, electric harpsichord, keyboards
- John Herndon / drums, vibes, keyboards, sequencing
- Jeff Parker / guitar, bass
- Doug McCombs / bass, bass 6, guitar, lap steel

Releases information

Enhanced Box Set/Compilation, Thrill Jockey(August 22, 2006)

A Lazarus Taxon "contains three CDs of rare, previously unreleased material and one DVD, which features most of Tortoise's music videos and extensive and rare live performance footage".

Thanks to Trickster F. for the addition
and to ProgLucky for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy TORTOISE A Lazarus Taxon Music

More places to buy TORTOISE music online

TORTOISE A Lazarus Taxon ratings distribution

(10 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(11%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(44%)
Good, but non-essential (44%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

TORTOISE A Lazarus Taxon reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Syzygy
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator
3 stars This handsome 3 CD plus DVD package gathers together assorted bonus tracks, b sides and one-offs from Tortoise's career to date. From the outset they have been open to the idea of remixing, and the majority of the three audio CDs consists of remodelled and reworked tracks from their first five albums.

A track by track review would be completely impractical, not to mention too tedious to wade through, but it's worth giving a quick overview. CDs one and two consist mainly of material from Millions Now Living... through to It's All Around You, starting with the remarkable Goriri, an 11 minute piece that morphs from fingerpicked acoustic guitar to a driving Neu! style piece of post rock Motorik and which is one of the best things they've ever released. It was a radical reworking of a track from their debut album and one of the last pieces to feature founder member Bundy K Brown. From here the chronology hops around madly but the tracks are sequenced beautifully - it's sometimes hard to believe that adjacent tracks were recorded almost a decade apart. The diverse influences are very much in evidence, with contributions to projects celebrating Joy Division and Duke Ellington and collaborations with the likes of Stereolab and Autechere cropping up along the way. Disc 3 is Rhythms, Resolutions and Clusters, a long since deleted series of remixes of their debut album reissued here complete with a track that, for technical reasons, was unable to be included on the original release. The DVD contains some videos shot for the most part in arty black and white, giving a highly effective visual counterpoint to the music, and there are also some (mostly) well recorded live performances.

As good as it is, A Lazarus Taxon is really one for the fans. It's not so much an introduction to Tortoise, or even an overview, as it is a glimpse behind the scenes; dub reggae, hip hop, electronica, new wave, krautrock and jazz all rear their heads at some point in the proceedings, giving an interesting insight into the influences that shaped Tortoise's music. If you're already a fan this box set is essential, otherwise start with Millions Now Living... or TNT.

Latest members reviews

4 stars this is a 3 cd set with a bonus dvd (which itself is genious) the first 2 discs includes all b sides and those bonus tracks only on the japanese version, and youll get the Tour Ep (Gently chipping the chump..something) which is incredible good. Disc 3 was orginally released in 1997, and are re ... (read more)

Report this review (#110326) | Posted by | Thursday, February 1, 2007 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of TORTOISE "A Lazarus Taxon"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.