Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Jazz Rock/Fusion

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Osibisa The Very Best Of Osibisa album cover
1.10 | 2 ratings | 1 reviews | 0% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 2001

Songs / Tracks Listing

Disc 1 (Welcome Home) - 40:41
1. Sunshine Day (5:00)
2. Welcome Home (4:18)
3. Densu (5:22)
4. Chooboi (Heave Ho) (5:08)
5. Do It (Like It Is) (4:24)
6. Right Now (3:11)
7. Seaside - Meditation (5:17)
8. Uhuru (3:27)
9. Kolomashie (4:34)

Disc 2 (Ojah Awake) - 40:32
1. Coffee Song (3:15)
2. Warrior (3:45)
3. Flying Bird (4:49)
4. Cherry Field (4:27)
5. Dance the Body Music (3:49)
6. Ojah Awake (4:56)
7. Keep on Trying (5:26)
8. Hamattan (6:06)
9. Sakabo (3:59)

Total 2 CD Time: 81:13

Line-up / Musicians

Disc 1 (Welcome Home)
- Jean-Karl Dikoto Mandengue / bass, guitar (bass)
- Mike Odumusu / bass, guitar (bass), vocals
- Teddy Osei / flute, percussion, saxopone (Soprano), saxophone (Tenor), African - drums, vocals
- Wendel Richardson / guitar (acoustic), vocals, guitar
- Mac Tontoh / percussion, flugelhorn, prensa, didjeridu, trumpet
- Ray Allen / vibraphone
- Sol Amarfio / percussion, drums, bells, conga, bongos
- Kofi Ayivor / percussion, conga
- Robert Bailey / vibraphone
- Paul Golly / guitar, guitar (rhythm)
- Kiki Gyan / organ, clavinet, keyboards, clarinet, piano
- Barbara Thompson / vibraphone

Disc 2 (Ojah Awake)
- Teddy Osei / fllute, percussion
- Wendel Richardson / guitar, drums, vocals
- Mac Tontoh / trumpet
- Sol Amarfio / drums
- Kofi Ayivor / congas, African drums
- Kiki Gyan / keyboards, vocals
- Mike Odrumusu / bass

Releases information

This release is the two 1976 albums "Welcome Home" and "Ojah Awake" packaged as a 2 CD "Very Best Of" compilation, and does not represent a cross-section of the work from Osibisa. Sadly the original album artwork is also not represented in any way; the accompanying "booklet" is a single leaf card with no album or band information.

Gemini Catalogue No. 220416-303 - P & C 2001 Musicline AG

Due to the lack of information provided with this release the line-up details are copied from the ProgArchives listings of the "Welcome Home" and "Ojah Awake" albums.

Thanks to t.rox for the addition
and to ProgLucky for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy OSIBISA The Very Best Of Osibisa Music

More places to buy OSIBISA music online

OSIBISA The Very Best Of Osibisa ratings distribution

(2 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(0%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(0%)
Good, but non-essential (50%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (50%)

OSIBISA The Very Best Of Osibisa reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by T.Rox
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator
1 stars Can I have my money back, please?

Yes, I should have researched this one a little better before I spent my hard earned money on it! This 2CD "Very Best Of" compilation is simply the two 1976 pop-oriented studio albums "Welcome Home" & "Ojah Awake" in one release, made at a time when Osibisa and Bronze records were searching for commercial success. The work is poorly repackaged by the Gemini label; there is no booklet to speak of (just a single leaf insert) - no sign of the original art work from the two original albums - not even a list of the musicians, let alone what part they contributed.

If you want to know about the music on this compilation of albums, read the reviews under the individual album references; If you want to own this music from Osibisa my suggestion would be to buy the original albums rather than this compilation . I am sure even the most die-hard of completionist would not want this offering. One star from me!

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of OSIBISA "The Very Best Of Osibisa"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.