Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Canterbury Scene

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Caravan The HTD Years album cover
3.00 | 2 ratings | 1 reviews | 0% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 2000

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Land of grey and pink (3:43)
2. If I could do it all over again I'd do it all over you (Single mix) (3:11)
3. Hoedown (4:09)
4. Here am I (live) (6:10)
5. Side by side (4:34)
6. I know why you're laughing (5:30)
7. Place of my own (4:06)
8. Send reinforcements (4:46)
9. Hello hello (3:34)
10. Cthlu Thlu (7:03)
11. L'auberge d'sanglier (Previously unreleased live 70's version) (8:24)
12. It's a sad sad affair (Previously unreleased Live Astoria) (3:44)
13. Travelling ways (Previously unreleased Live Astoria) (4:05)
14. Golf girl (Live) (6:58)

Total Time: 70:04

Line-up / Musicians

- Richard Coughlan / percussion, drums
- Dave Sinclair / organ, piano, keyboards, Mini Moog, harmony vocals
- Mike Wedgewood / bass (5 & 8)
- Jimmy Hastings / clarinet, flute, flute (alto), flute (bass), piccolo, saxophone (soprano), saxophone (tenor)
- Pye Hastings / accordion, guitar (electric), vocals, harmony vocals, guitar (Leslie)
- Jim Leverton / bass, vocals, harmony vocals (5 & 8)
- Geoffrey Richardson / guitar (acoustic), clarinet, mandolin, violin, accordion, guitar, flute, (electric), tambourine, viola, wind, kalimba, harmony vocals, shaker, amplifiers
- Doug Boyle / guitar, guitar (electric) (Astoria live tracks only)

Track 11 line up probably:
- Richard Coughlan / drums, percussion, timpani
- Pye Hastings / vocals, electric guitar
- John G. Perry / bass, vocals, percussion
- Geoff Richardson / viola
- David Sinclair / keyboards

Releases information

CD HTD records HTD CD114 (2000)

Thanks to easy livin for the addition
and to ProgLucky for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy CARAVAN The HTD Years Music

More places to buy CARAVAN music online

CARAVAN The HTD Years ratings distribution

(2 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(0%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(0%)
Good, but non-essential (100%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

CARAVAN The HTD Years reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Easy Livin
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator / Retired Admin
3 stars Doing it all over again

"The HTD years" is one of a number of budget priced compilations which glean their material from Caravan's time on that label. While with HTD, Caravan recorded several pop rock style albums, such as "All over you" and "Battle of Hastings". HTD also released the "lost" album "Cool water" which had lain unreleased for some years. The tracks have since been plundered for compilations on a regular basis. These albums were generally far lighter and more whimsical than the jazz influenced prog of Caravan's early Deram label releases. A number of the tracks, including re-workings of older songs such as "land of grey and pink" and "If I could do it all over again" which appeared on the "All over you" and "All over you too" albums, have been gathered here along with three unreleased live tracks from the 1997 Astoria concert.

The result is a pleasant, if sometimes lightweight collection which rarely ventures beyond straight forward pop rock, and simple but enjoyable melodies.

The main interest though is the unreleased live material. Two of these tracks, "Travelling ways" and "It's a sad, sad affair" are from the same gig which was released as the live album "Canterbury comes to London". These songs fit in well on the compilation, since they continue the light wispy nature of the music. The third, "L-auberge du sangliers" (originally from "For Girls Who Grow Plump in the Night") is an unreleased live recording from the early 70's. This superb piece is in reality pretty much the whole "A hunting we shall go" suite.

In summary, an enjoyable compilation of Caravan's later years, but light on the lengthy jazz prog of their early years. While the previously unreleased recordings are interesting, they do not render this set essential by any means.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of CARAVAN "The HTD Years"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.