Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Prog Folk

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Carmen Fandangos In Space/Dancing On A Cold Wind album cover
3.39 | 18 ratings | 2 reviews | 31% 5 stars

Write a review
Buy CARMEN Music
from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 2006

Songs / Tracks Listing

Disc 1: Fandangos In Space (45:59)

1. Bulerias (5:23)
2. Bullfight (4:17)
3. Stepping Stone (2:52)
4. Sailor Song (5:12)
5. Lonely House (4:06)
6. Poor Tarantos (1:44)
7. Looking Outside (My Window) (5:07)
8. Tales of Spain (8:58)
9. Retirando (0:43)
10. Fandagos in Space (6:36)
11. Reprise Finale (0:56)

Disc 2: Dancing On A Cold Wind (47:30)

1. Viva Mi Sevilla (6:03)
2. I've Been Crying (5:08)
3. Drifting Along (7:18)
4. She Flew Across the Room (1:31)
5. Purple Flowers (5:18)
6. Table Two for One (2:15)
7. She's Changed (2:57)
8. Gypsy Girl (Caravan) (1:38)
9. The City (3:12)
10. Time (She's no Lady) (1:24)
11. People Dressed in Black (4:05)
12. Dancing on a Cold Wind (2:11)
13. The Horseman (3:45)
14. She's Changed (2:12)

Total Time: 93:29

Bonus tracks on Disc 2 of Angel Air remaster (2006):
15. Quiriquitu (2:52)
16. Out on the Street (6:13)

Line-up / Musicians


- David Allen / vocal, guitar
- Roberto Amaral / vocal, vibraphone, footwork, castanets
- Angela Allen / vocal, mellotron, synth, footwork
- John Glascock / bass
- Paul Fenton / drums


- David Allen / guitar, vocals
- Roberto Amaral / keyboards, vocals
- David Katz / violin
- Paul Fenton / drums
- John Glascock / bass, vocals
- Mary Hopkin / vocals
- Chris Karan / percussion
- Tony Visconti / wind

Releases information

2CD Angel Air 229 (2006 remaster)

Thanks to The Whistler for the addition
and to SouthSideoftheSky for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy CARMEN Fandangos In Space/Dancing On A Cold Wind Music

More places to buy CARMEN music online Buy CARMEN & Prog Rock Digital Music online:

CARMEN Fandangos In Space/Dancing On A Cold Wind ratings distribution

(18 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(31%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(56%)
Good, but non-essential (12%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

CARMEN Fandangos In Space/Dancing On A Cold Wind reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Easy Livin
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator / Retired Admin
3 stars Let's get Bizet

Those wishing to explore the first two albums by Carmen have to go for this double CD compilation. The albums were remasteerd (sic) in 2006 offering the opportunity to hear the songs devoid of any production and presentation issues which may have dogged previous releases.

While only two bonus tracks are included, the albums offered good value in terms of their original content. It is however the unique nature of the music which makes this collection worthy of investigation. There is a wonderful blend here of traditional Spanish sounds and progressive rock. The band, who actually originate from the USA but relocated to the United Kingdom to record the albums, are centred around brother and sister David and Angela Allen. The two grew up in Los Angeles, but their parents had strong Hispanic ties which have a clear influence on their chosen style. Notable also for his presence in the line up is John Glascock later of Jethro Tull.

There are occasional glimpses of the music of Jethro Tull on songs such as "Drifting along", but these should not be overplayed. This is in many ways a band who defy description or comparison, their wonderful blend of traditional and contemporary sounds making for a truly unique experience.

The two bonus tracks were clearly orientated towards the singles market. They are nevertheless worth hearing for those with an interest in the band, and "Out in the street" does play out with an enjoyable spacey guitar run.

The presentation of this double CD set is excellent, with an informative booklet containing a brief biography plus archive photos.

Review by The Whistler
3 stars This repackage is just the first two albums in a single unit, so on one hand, you don't need it at all. On the other hand, this is pretty essential for the 21st Century Carmen Fan, since it's the most available way to access these albums. As for their reviews, just check my reviews you big dummy!

However, you do get the incentive of two bonus tracks, tacked onto the end of Dancing on a Cold Wind (when they were recorded, I guess). The better of the two, "Quiriquitu," is a delightful little flamenco number, very much in the vein of "I've Been Crying" from Dancing on a Cold Wind. In fact, the tune might be just as powerful, and it never drifts off anywhere, so it's probably a superior tune.

"Out on the Street" is a psychedelic number that maybe lasts a little too long, but maybe it doesn't. I don't know. Depends on your tolerance for Allen's guitar I guess. Oh well, I like Allen's guitar well enough, and the tune is still catchy enough to get by on its own.

So, as I said, if you love Carmen and you don't have either of these albums on CD yet, you might as well pick this up. Of course, if you love Carmen and don't have either of these albums, that would be an...interesting situation. I guess you're a diehard Tuller or Queen fan or whatever (I mean, if you're a diehard Tuller, then you obviously have good taste). So this is not too hard to find online, and you do get those two tracks. Which, in truth, isn't a lot of incentive, but neither one is bad by any means. Use your own judgment; I can't tell you everything.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of CARMEN "Fandangos In Space/Dancing On A Cold Wind"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives