Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography



Heavy Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Elonkorjuu Harvest Time album cover
3.19 | 31 ratings | 2 reviews | 3% 5 stars

Good, but non-essential

Write a review
from partners
Studio Album, released in 1972

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Unfeeling (3:23)
2. Swords (4:03)
3. Captain (3:41)
4. Praise to Our Basement (4:43)
5. Future (3:55)
6. Hey Hunter (3:40)
7. The Ocean Song (3:17)
8. Old Man's Dream (4:44)
9. Me and My Friend (4:01)
10. A Little Rocket Song (4:04)

Total Time 38:11

Line-up / Musicians

- Jukka Syrenius / guitar, vocals
- Veli-pekka Pessi / bass
- Heiki Lajunen / vocals
- Ecro Raniasila / rummui
- Ilkka Poijarvi / urui, guitar, flute

Releases information

EMI Finland, LP 1972, CD 2002

Thanks to Atavachron for the addition
and to aapatsos for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy ELONKORJUU Harvest Time Music

More places to buy ELONKORJUU music online Buy ELONKORJUU & Prog Rock Digital Music online:

ELONKORJUU Harvest Time ratings distribution

(31 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(3%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(27%)
Good, but non-essential (67%)
Collectors/fans only (3%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

ELONKORJUU Harvest Time reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Atavachron
SPECIAL COLLABORATOR Honorary Collaborator
3 stars Finnish quintet Elonkorjuu are one of the many little-known bands that did heavy blues/psych with strong prog elements, drawing initially from the schools of Cream, Sabbath and Colosseum but expanding on those influences with soulful church organ and cutting guitar from leader Jukka Syrenius. There are also warm jazz undertones and an earthy quality to the production, giving this group a vintage sound you can put on like a pair of ancient but dear shoes.

'Unfeeling' is self-sorry blues rock with almost evangelical vocals and Jukka Syrenius' hot licks, not a great opener but 'Swords' continues the disillusioned weeping and picks up with a good arrangement, understated organ and a bit of flute. The surprising 'Future' absolutely rocks and even foreshadows Fripp's use of atonal guitar lines, Syrenius showing sadly underappreciated talent. 'Old Man's Dream' is strange heavy psych with great changes and a beautiful dual guitar exchange, and 'A Little Rocket Song' is a Sabbatic rocker with Zeppelin's guitar/drum dynamics. No obvious pull here for the jaded progster but many little surprises hidden just beneath the surface, and Elonkorjuu is worth investigation if you have an ear for the shadowy and mysterious world of early heavy progressive rock.

Latest members reviews

3 stars Here here, something nice from my favourite homecountry. The album is still pretty rare here in Finland, as with the rest of the world too. That's really a shame. Elonkorjuu is a really nice rock band with the 70s atmosphere well alive in their music. They've got a lot of bluesy influences, also som ... (read more)

Report this review (#178285) | Posted by Passionist | Sunday, July 27, 2008 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of ELONKORJUU "Harvest Time"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives