Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


The Who


From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

The Who Then and Now album cover
3.27 | 15 ratings | 3 reviews | 27% 5 stars

Write a review

Buy THE WHO Music
from partners
Boxset/Compilation, released in 2004

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. "I Can't Explain" (2:06)
2. "My Generation" (3:18)
3. "The Kids Are Alright" (2:46)
4. "Substitute" (3:48)
5. "I'm a Boy" (2:37)
6. "Happy Jack" (2:11)
7. "I Can See for Miles" (4:07)
8. "Magic Bus" (3:20)
9. "Pinball Wizard" (3:02)
10. "See Me Feel Me" (3:24)
11. "Summertime Blues" (live) (3:24)
12. "Behind Blue Eyes" (3:41)
13. "Won't Get Fooled Again" (8:32)
14. "5:15" (4:52)
15. "Love, Reign O'er Me" (3:12)
16. "Squeeze Box" (2:42)
17. "Who Are You" (5:07)
18. "You Better You Bet" ( 5:37)
19. "Real Good Looking Boy" (5:42)
20. "Old Red Wine" (3:43)

Line-up / Musicians

- Pete Townshend / vocals, guitar
- John Entwistle / vocals, bass
- Roger Daltrey / vocals
- John "Rabbit" Bundrick / piano, Hammond B-3 organ
- Greg Lake / bass
- Pino Palladino / bass
- Keith Moon / drums
- Kenney Jones / drums
- Zak Starkey / drums

Releases information

Then and Now (2004) is a compilation album by The Who aimed to support their comeback singles, "Real Good Looking Boy" and "Old Red Wine". The set includes hit singles from the 60s, 70s, and 80s.
2007 re-release switches Baba O'Reilly with a live version of "Summertime Blues" and "It's Not Enough" replaces "Old Red Wine"
Japanese Bonus Tracks:
21 "Great Shakes"
22 "Magic Bus (Full Mono Version)"
23 "Eyesight to the Blind (Alternate Vocal)"
24 "Postcard (Unreleased EP Version)"
25 "I Don't Even Know Myself (EP Version)

Thanks to sean for the addition
and to ProgLucky for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy THE WHO Then and Now Music

More places to buy THE WHO music online

THE WHO Then and Now ratings distribution

(15 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of rock music(27%)
Excellent addition to any rock music collection(20%)
Good, but non-essential (33%)
Collectors/fans only (13%)
Poor. Only for completionists (7%)

THE WHO Then and Now reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by Epignosis
4 stars For any casual fan of The Who, Then and Now is perhaps the best thing out there. Many of the hits are here, particularly the music that has gotten a substantial amount of airplay over the years. There are no obscure gems included, and I'm pleased to say that the version of "Who Are You?" on this one is not the weak, radio-edit (which some stations forgo anyway in favor of the original). The title of the compilation is perhaps a bit misleading, since only two of the twenty songs are recent, but it is those last two songs that really make this collection worth having. Filling in for the late and revered John Entwistle on "Old Red Wine" and "Real Good Looking Boy" are Pino Palladino and Greg Lake, respectively. "Old Red Wine" is a nostalgic tribute to Entwistle, who loved the fruit of the vine. "Real Good Looking Boy" features mildly humorous lyrics and is also, in its way, a tribute to someone- this time, that someone is Elvis Presley. The band nods to "Can't Help Falling in Love," using it as a bridge. Both are exceptional songs; in fact, if I had to choose only five songs off this compilation, the new fare would be somewhere in that list.
Review by Conor Fynes
3 stars 'Then And Now' - The Who (Compilation)

Another one of the many compilations available for purchase from The Who, it is quite obviously difficult to recommend this best-of collection to anyone who is already a fan of the band. The hits and better known songs are here, and for the sake of a compilation, this does its job quite well. On top of that, this is a support of two tracks that The Who had more recently written as the vanguard to 'Endless Wire'; their big comeback album. Overall, this shows the progression of the band quite well, over the course of a whopping forty years. Personally, I enjoy The Who's early hits much more compared to their later stuff. The '60s were not the most consistent time for this band, but they certainly put out some great songs; most of which are featured here. The whole of the band's career is fairly well represented here, and while the new songs are not particularly excellent, it is great to hear this band back in action. Of course, the majority of the songs here have already been heard, but it is nice to hear a couple of new tracks. For anyone wanting a more fulfilling experience with this band though, anything of their first six albums should do the trick.

Latest members reviews

2 stars I'm a huge Who fan, but I really have to say that this greatest hits compilation is quite bad. There are several reasons leading me to this conclusion: the first is the unexplainable choice not to include a track like "Baba O' Reilly" , the second is the HORRID CRIME of cuttin' off some sections ... (read more)

Report this review (#283237) | Posted by Malve87 | Sunday, May 23, 2010 | Review Permanlink

Post a review of THE WHO "Then and Now"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.