Progarchives, the progressive rock ultimate discography


Flaming Bess

Symphonic Prog

From, the ultimate progressive rock music website

Flaming Bess Wächter Des Lichts album cover
3.19 | 13 ratings | 1 reviews | 8% 5 stars

Write a review

from partners
Studio Album, released in 2008

Songs / Tracks Listing

1. Prolog [narration] (0:49)
2. Wächter Des Lichts (5:28)
3. Aklabeth (4:50)
4. Die Hallen Der Diebe [narration] (1:57)
5. Der Dieb (4:32)
6. König Für Einen Tag (4:45)
7. Verrat [narration] (1:43)
8. Der Verhüllte (4:04)
9. Welt Der Lügen (4:53)
10. Ein Langer Weg (4:16)
11. Die Höhle Unter Dem Eis [narration] (2:44)
12. Sterbender Stern (5:11)
13. Flucht Und Verfolgung (5:18)
14. Stimmen (5:05)
15. Die Dämonenpforte [narration] (2:06)
16. Die Höhle Der Mara Morbis (5:08)
17. Erkenntnis (5:46)
18. Endloser Fall (5:33)
19. Sphärenmusik [narration] (3:40)

Total Time: 77:48

Line-up / Musicians

- Achim Wierschem / acoustic & electric guitars, keyboards, synth, drums, percussion, vocals
- Peter Figge / keyboards
- Dieter Joswig / keyboards, percussion, vocals, co-producer
- Claas Reimer / keyboards, synthesizer, drums, percussion, backing vocals, co-producer
- Hans Wende / bass

- Markus Wierschem / radio play, narration
- Katie Luzie Stüdemann / narration
- Sarah Joswig / vocals (3)
- Erika Naidenow / vocals (3,14)
- Jenny K. / vocals (6)
- Rene Lenting / vocals (8)
- Sara England / vocals (9)
- Mike Pearse / vocals (16)
- Anika Rademacher / vocals (18)
- Ned Selfe / pedal steel guitar (14)

Releases information

Artwork: Andreas Wende

CDr arkana multimedia ‎- ARK 57966 (2008, Germany)

Thanks to Rivertree for the addition
and to Quinino for the last updates
Edit this entry

Buy FLAMING BESS Wächter Des Lichts Music

More places to buy FLAMING BESS music online

FLAMING BESS Wächter Des Lichts ratings distribution

(13 ratings)
Essential: a masterpiece of progressive rock music(8%)
Excellent addition to any prog rock music collection(17%)
Good, but non-essential (75%)
Collectors/fans only (0%)
Poor. Only for completionists (0%)

FLAMING BESS Wächter Des Lichts reviews

Showing all collaborators reviews and last reviews preview | Show all reviews/ratings

Collaborators/Experts Reviews

Review by kenethlevine
3 stars After the frozen wasteland of "Finisterre Sonne", I didn't expect much from FLAMING BESS for the duration. They had all but abandoned their symphonic roots and acoustic underpinnings in favour of percussive tech savvy. Instead of a standalone album with a story, it played out like an audio book for which the narrator's channel had gone silent for the most part, and the accompaniment was anything but free standing let alone free living. One would have then expected "Wachter des Lichts" to be dead on arrival. The patient is, thankfully, no longer on life support!

This is actually a somewhat entertaining disk in much the manner of most other FLAMING BESS output, even if the acoustic dimension remains suppressed and the narratives seem even more overwrought. The vocal work of Erika Naidenow is particularly compelling in a NINA HAGEN sort of way, even if she only appears on 2 tracks. Achim Wierschem's lead guitars express authoritative allure throughout. The rhythms do not overpower. "Der Verhüllte" is a mesmerizing blend of conventional keys, sound effects, and vocal ambushes by Rene Lentin, and the raucous instrumental "Der Dieb" is just as persuasive . "Ein Langer Weg" approximates the early CAMEL-esque sound for long time fans. "Erkenntnis" seems influenced by Leipzig based DICE specially in the synthesizers.

Apart from the overly industrious and metallic "Die Höhle Unter Dem Eis" and the narrative bits in general, most of the material here is enjoyable for what it is, and the group is to be commended not only for taking steps to right the ship but for simultaneously sidestepping categorization. 2.5 stars rounded up.

Latest members reviews

No review or rating for the moment | Submit a review

Post a review of FLAMING BESS "Wächter Des Lichts"

You must be a forum member to post a review, please register here if you are not.


As a registered member (register here if not), you can post rating/reviews (& edit later), comments reviews and submit new albums.

You are not logged, please complete authentication before continuing (use forum credentials).

Forum user
Forum password

Copyright Prog Archives, All rights reserved. | Legal Notice | Privacy Policy | Advertise | RSS + syndications

Other sites in the MAC network: — jazz music reviews and archives | — metal music reviews and archives

Donate monthly and keep PA fast-loading and ad-free forever.